Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brussels

did not like it

Posted Oct 17, 2017
pros: close to train station cons: stuffy smell, no ventilation/only small window at the bathroom,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chile

Good location

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: cleaning
Location: Good location
The location of the hotel it was good, the breakfast also good and enough. The bathroom wasnt very clean and de staff didnt speak english well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newcastle. uk

Close to brussels midi

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Good budget hotel. Beds very comfortable. We didnt experience any of the issues in other reviews. Would have liked tea/ coffee in room but everything else was good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice hotel in a not so nice neighbourhood

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Good breakfast. Good, clean rooms. Nice reception staff. I picked this hotel due to its proximity to Gare Midi train station (a 5 min walk), thinking that it was the only one in town. This hotel is not in a good neighbourhood and there are 2 other stations in Bruxelles so if you want to stay next to a station, choose Gare Centrale downtown.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Smelly, "flee market" like furniture... old

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Cons: A lot but then again the price would change. I do wonder whether it'd still be classified as a hotel though..if so the drop-off from a 3 star is huge.
Ok maybe we got there while the hotel had a plumbing or sewage issue but there was a lingering smell from the moment we got to the front desk to the time we got to our room. Gotta say we paid a small amount and only needed a place to rest ou heads but I had to put on a brave face in front of my wife and wiggled my way out of a fight because I knew I had screwed up this time and we litterally slept in our travel clothes and just took a shower the next day right before leaving the room. PROS: cost, renovated wall (not walls, the back wall only)and cute lighting on THAT wall specifically.. and that's it CONS: lingering smell, no natural light ..our window opened to a sort of column of 4 walls that went up to the roof ... don't understand the purpose. A sliding door for a bathroom door which was basically a wooden curtain with no isolation, sound proofing or smell containment ...U see where I'm going with this. The furniture looked like sth you get a cheap flee market or recovered from a garage sale... To appreciate the TV U have to stand otherwise depending on the angle it becomes darker ... U would expect them to set it up in such a way that you would be able to enjoy it while laid down but nope. Oh the fan... dirty, covered in cob webs ... I could go on and on on what was a 10 to 15 sqft (not quite sure) ... but no need. U get what you pay for and these are just facts, no resentment, or animosity ... made da resa and the focus point was the price ... serves me well.
5 out of 5
by FOTIOS

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Windsor

You get what you pay for

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Room was adequate and staff were friendly. In a bad area, you don't feel safe (biggest issue); no amenities nearby (shops etc.); things in room were faulty (shower, window lock); VERY noisy
4 out of 5
by Seth

Pretty good.

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
Room was nicer than expected, however they are renovating, so now view and outside was all scaffolding.
3 out of 5
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 29, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Michael

Great value, clean and close to the city centre

Posted Jun 29, 2017 on Hotels
This is a small pleasant hotel very close to Brussels Zuid-Midi Railway Station and a short walk to the centre of Brussels. The hotel was clean, the Wi-Fi is free and the room was big enough to hold a double bed, sofa, desk. The en-suite bathroom was clean. I enjoyed my stay and was very happy with this budget hotel. This is not the Ritz and it doesn't have great views, but if you want a good nights sleep close to the centre of Brussels then Hotel de France is ideal for you. There isn't tea and coffee making facilities but there is a snack vending machine in reception and a small convienience store around the corner.