Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Whitehouse Ohio

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: The location to where we had the reunion
Cons: Communication
Location: Near downtown
We were booked and locked in to Rm 24 and we got a confirmation. Upon arrival rm. 24 was occupied. So the clerk put us in rm 22. But that room was also occupied. We then were told to go to rm 15....also occupied! Then to rm 12...again occupied. Each time the clerk opened the rooms!! Finally we were put in rm 2. However this room was very small and the carpet was despicable!! We said this was not acceptable and they found a rm 4. Cleaned personally by the manager. We spent the night and were told we would be moved to rm24 the next day but we told them not to displace the people that were already there and we stayed in rm.4. After we got to talk with the management they were very accommodating and made the weekend worthwhile. However the clerk Roz was very nice but not very competent and this could have been avoided if Roz had been more competent on the computer.
4 out of 5
by Thomas

Quaint little mom and pop place.

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
We were looking for a place to spend one night on our way to NY. All the hotels along the toll road are easily $100 plus, even the dumpy ones. We read the reviews on this place and decided to try it. Quiet, little mom and pop, old school motel. Our room was in the newer addition on the back side of the property. It had two queens. We prefer a king, but understand why they are in limited supply in the little places. The office bell was answered eventually. We had booked through hotels.com and all was in order. They didn't even take a swipe of my credit card. The room was large and clean. The bed was comfortable. There was no road noise since this place is 10 miles from the toll road and on the edge of town. Nothing special, but the rate was good. We got a good nights sleep. WiFi worked. TV was a new LG with plenty of channels. We didn't partake of the breakfast offerings . I did see a loaf of bread on top of a small fridge in the office and a couple of coffee pots in the morning when I turned my key card in. There were also some bananas in a bowel. Other than get gas, we didn't spend any time exploring the town but there's a Walmart close by and plenty of local restaurants along main street. Would we stay here again, probably. Unless we got a great deal from one of the nicer chain hotels along the toll road. Not likely in the middle of June on short notice. Although we don't have a pet, I did notice that the Plaza was also "pet friendly."
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
Room was bad...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Midnight stay

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
I didn't arrive until after 11PM. The office was closed, and had to wait a few minutes. The office had an unpleasant odor, like a damp basement, but the rooms were more than satisfactory.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Painesville

Bryan, Ohio motel

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Door front parking, bed fairly comfortable
Cons: Cleanliness sorely lacking.
I needed a place to stay in Bryan for a wellness clinic I was doing the next day. I had read very favorable reviews on the Plaza motel.Check in staff was very pleasant and helpful. The room was spacious and the bed pretty comfortable. However... I noticed a coffee maker, but no cups of any kind. No big deal,ran down to dollar store and got plastic ones. I did a little looking around town, then returned to the motel. As I turned the lights on by the bathroom, I saw the two sinks had hair,stains, and what looked like someone had recently brushed their teeth! I then went by the bed to plug in my laptop and discovered some brown crusty substance on the wall near the floor. After walking on the carpet for a while, I noticed the soles of my white socks were black. Looking around a bit more,saw crumbs and particles on the carpet. Being that it was late and I had to be up early next morning, I didn't call the desk about it. Also I knew from the clerk that the place was booked up, so no chance of another room.Felt stuck and decided to make the best of it. Next morning I told the desk clerk, who was very apologetic, and asked if there was anything they could do so I would come back.Unfortunately I don't think anything they would do could make me want to stay again.Too bad. I really was expecting a nice little motel!
1 out of 5
by Beverly

Never Again

Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Hotels
New owners bought a "real mess" in November (excuses galore?) and instituted a policy of "not touching the beds." Sheets were not changed from previous guest and bed not even made up during our two night stay. It may be a "green policy" to provide the guests with an option to reuse towels/sheets but not a direct decision for the owner to make!!! Detailed report will be submitted to OH Dept of Health as it was really idiotic to provide such an excuse to a senior public health adviser for the CDC. Fortunately, we had a black light and know what to look for as far as bed bugs and infectious issues. That said, we've lived in the third world for several years (sub-Saharan Africa) and commuted there on one-two month long temp duty tours for the past five - we've not encountered this there, much less expected it in rural northwestern Ohio. Just a word to the wise - if business or pleasure takes you to Bryan, book up at the Holiday Inn Express in Holiday City (10 miles north on SR 15) or in Defiance (17 miles - intersection of US 24 and SR 66) and plan on a short commute. This was so sad for my husband, a former resident until 1970, to see the demise of so many formerly successful businesses. Thank goodness the parks still look good and there are a couple non-franchised eating establishments which retain good standards.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Kenneth L.

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Marion

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels