Ratings based on 929 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Who used the shower curtain to cut hair?

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Pros: Very pleasant hotel representative at check in.
Cons: Actually clean.
We noticed some clipped hair on the edge of the tub. When we pulled the shower curtain around to take a shower more hair came falling out of the curtain as if someone used it to cut hair. There is no way the housekeeping crew should have missed any of this. Also, the our corner of the tub was crusted up along the wall and the tub. Didn't feel like we were in clean/cleaned facilities. We did like the area of Bryson City though. We had previously stayed at the Microtel Inn in Dillsboro, NC which is just a short distance away. That was a pleasant experience. I would recommend the Dillsboro location over the one in Bryson City.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, TN

Nice place to stay for Great Smoky Mtns Railroad

Posted Feb 13, 2018
Hotel seemed quite new. Everything was clean, and the staff was very courteous. Quick check in. Rooms are small as you would expect with a Microtel, but we just needed a place to sleep for the night. Very convenient for Bryson City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grovetown, GA

Housekeeping requires tips

Posted Feb 12, 2018
There was ink spots on our sheets, hair in the bathtub. Room was ok for comfort, but housekeeping placed a envelope by the bed for tips. I have stayed in much better hotels and never saw this reqiurement displyed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

About 15 minutes from Harrah’s Cherokee

Posted Feb 4, 2018
Drove up from Atlanta, GA on a overnight trip just for the casino. Perfect location from the casino with a very affordable price. Harrahs for the night was $513 and Microtel was $55- the choice was mindless! :-) The hotel check in went smooth the hotel rep who checked us in was so pleasant and helpful with directions! The room was very clean and that’s the MOST important part to me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to casino

Posted Feb 4, 2018
Very nice clean hotel. Pet friendly And free breakfast. Nice staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

First Microtel Stay

Posted Jan 29, 2018
Pros: Price was reasonable, room pretty clean and decently appointed.
Cons: Clean the bathroom vents. Buy new pillows. Check the bed size, swear my Queen was not quite that
Location: Minutes to downtown Bryson City for fly fishing/dining/shopping. Convenient to Cherokee/Gatlinburg, but quieter area to relax afterward.
Have seen much worse for more money. Microtel is obviously not a big frills outfit but puts together a decent place to stay at a reasonable price, in this instance at least. Could use a tad more attention to detail, but overall at the charged rate, probably as good as it is going to get with any chain.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from York SC

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Room wasn’t as clean as it should have been. Dusty around fridge and table. Found long hairs on bed spread. Wasn’t enough towels in bath.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Weekend Getaway

Posted Jan 14, 2018
The hotel clerk during check in was very nice. She gave us a list of places to eat and warned us that things close early during the winter season. Our room was clean and spacious (2 person trip). We noticed an old dirty spot on the sofa but we didn't use it during our stay. The breakfast was free but they didn't provide fruits for people who can't eat bread products. They did provide yogurt. The view from the parking lot was beautiful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Convenient, Cheap, Cold

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Close to the casino, very clean. When I checked in the room was 53 degrees (in January). Also disappointing that they broke down the comp breakfast at 9:30 on a Sunday??
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rome ga

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Quick and easy check in. Awesome staff that gave us a map of the area and places to go.