Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel great company

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
The whole entire staff are great people to be around and very helpful. We lost our luggage they traced it for us
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Disappointing - not recommended

Posted Oct 27, 2016
The hotel is under new management, but has a lot of work to do to justify the prices charged. Facilities are old and need an upgrade. However, our real problem was the unresponsive management - lots of cheerful bonhomie in response to requests, but slow or no follow-up on each. The sea is tidal, and the tide retreated great distances each day, leaving only a rather sub-par swimming pool as the alternative. The hotel charges a lo for hotels to and from Stone Town. Not recommended.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

clean

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
breakfast - very good dinner - quite expensive at $45 shower did not work - was not fixed
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
Good place near attractions
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great privacy

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Every thing was perfect but the beach is not very clean and private
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed Guest

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Hotels
Don't stay at this hotel if you are wanting a beach holiday. There is virtually no beach except when the tide is out then it's mud and rocks. The drinks and food are expensive. There is not much to do and excursions booked through the agent at the hotel are double and sometimes tripple what others charge. The bed was as hard as a rock. We did not sleep at all and ended up sleeping on the sofa. We also only had 1 pillow each which was as flat as a pancake. The wifi is weak and only kind of works in the restaurant area. On the plus side, the owners, management and staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Our bungalow was clean and spacious, but the bed was a joke. The photos on the Internet are very deceiving, it's not quite as picturesque as it looks.
5 out of 5
by Jaroslaw from Abu Dhabi

Warm welcome to Zanzibar!

Posted Mar 26, 2015 on Hotels
everything is great about the hotel. views, food , hosts, facilities. I would rate it 5 definitely! the effort to make your stay good was incredible! the hotel has a lot of terraces, private beach and lets you completely relax! on arrival we got an upgrade which was nice. the only thing that could be better was the air-conditioning not working like it should and the bed was a bit hard. the hotel is located slightly out of town which attracts quite a few wild creatures that will try and crawl on you whenever! overall I really recommend the hotel!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phoenix

Just OK

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: The room was large, well appointed, quiet & cool. The hibiscus drink is delicious! The grounds were lovely & the masseuse, one of the best ever.
Cons: Pool needs a good cleaning, sides of the pool were greasy and dirty. A mini orientation to familiarize guests with the grounds, dining options, etc.
Location: The location is good if you want to go to stone town.
When we got to the hotel they couldn't find our reservation which we had made & paid for 6 months earlier. Once we got that straightened out we were given a Welcome (virgin) hibiscus drink which was absolutely fantastic. We felt like some sort of mini orientation to the hotel and how things work would've been a good addition to the check-in process. There is a set dinner each night at a fixed cost but neither is explained to you at check-in. There's also confusion about the Internet usage & the cell phone provided for local calls. We also knew nothing about the option to do snorkeling activities through the hotel (until Fritz mentioned it on our last day) that was unfortunate because we would have taken advantage of that option if we had known. Most disappointing was the fact that there was no beach to speak of. There is a beach but it's not a beach that you would swim from. Coupled with the fact that most of the staff was unattentive and aloof with the exception of Fritz who was always cheerful & friendly. The breakfast is supposed to start at 8 AM but by 8:30 AM the buffet portion isn't set up so if you have plans for the day you just have to order what comes from the kitchen directly and miss out on the delicious, homemad breads, etc that are offered on the buffet. This stay came at the end of a ten-day Safari as well as three days in Istanbul. We rated all of our stays outside of Hakuna Mtata as exceptional.