Ratings based on 328 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Central Location

Posted Mar 25, 2017
The hotel is conveniently located slightly to the west of the city centre. The facilities are up to date and the decor is modern. Due to the hotels location it's possible you may hear traffic noise at peak times.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from rural Massachusetts

Central Hotel Bucharest -- never book on faith

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: There was not much to like, and a great deal to dislike.
Cons: The entire guest experience was badly flawed. I stayed in hostels as a teen, more than fifty years ago, where the service was more responsive.
Location: The hotel is well situated, a ten minute walk from the National Theater, the University, the Atheneum, the Old City and the Shopping area.
Initially, although I had received a confirmation for a double bed, I was put into a room with a cot and no working air conditioning, when it was warmer than 90° outside and even hotter indoors. The second night, after expressing my displeasure several times, I was changed to a room with a double bed and air conditioning. When I complained about the cockroaches in the bathroom of the second room, trapping two of them and presenting them to the management, the manager on duty said, "They're everywhere in Bucharest. I even have them at home." I asked for an insect exterminator, and there was no response from management during the week of my stay. The breakfast room was chaotic and loud. In the evening, when there was no internet service, the staff said they could not reset it, because they didn't know where the server was. I suspect that the four stars, of which the hotel boasts, were given to prior ownership, because they are certainly inappropriate for the hotel today! When I paid for my incidentals with cash upon leaving, the staff had to take up a collection to make the change, and a clerk left the building with my money to get change, because there is not even a cash drawer at the front desk! The hotel is next door to a McDonalds, and there is an overflow which simply loiters on the street in front of the hotel. I would advise anyone and everyone to STAY AWAY from the Central Hotel, Bucharest. There were also other issues, but they were minor.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good area of Bucharest

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: Area
Cons: A little dark and gloomy. Street Noise, Street Noise.
Not a bad inexpensive hotel. Very noisy, if your room faces Elizebeta Street.
3 out of 5
by Lynda from California

You can do better

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
The location is definitely central, but of course that means there's some street noise until late in the night. Overall the hotel was OK, it was clean and comfortable with lots of hot water. I would not stay there again because of the staff. I was not made to feel valued by anyone. The man at the front desk couldnt find my reservation when I went to check in and even with a print-out of my confirmation from Hotels.com he argued with me. Maybe the hotel wasnt as bad as my review suggests, but it was a very disappointing start to the stay and I was glad to only be staying one night. I would not go back, there are too many other hotels to choose from.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but in need of tlc

Posted Mar 16, 2016
The hotel was in a good location, walking distance of most sights although the area was a little run down and shady. The staff were lovely and spoke very good English. The room itself needed a bit of love, the air con didnt work and the radiator wouldnt turn down. This ment sleeping with the window open which was ok but the road outside is very loud. The bathroom shower cubicle was mouldy, it would do to be re-grouted, neither of the bedside lights worked and the safe was also broken. For the little time we spent in the room this was all ok, had i planned a longer stay i wouldnt of been happy.
5 out of 5
by Allen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well located for local color

Posted Jan 21, 2016
Easy to find. Located near outstanding restaurant Wish I could have stayed longer
4 out of 5
by Lauren from Cincinnati, USA

Nice hotel in a good location

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
Our hotel room was pretty comfortable, just wish it had better temperature control. The room was heated very well with no way to turn off the heat, and we didn't want to try to open the window because of the busy street noise outside. The room was clean and the bathroom was nice, it had decent wifi, good location, unfortunately did not get to try the breakfast.