Ratings based on 319 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from rural Massachusetts

Central Hotel Bucharest -- never book on faith

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: There was not much to like, and a great deal to dislike.
Cons: The entire guest experience was badly flawed. I stayed in hostels as a teen, more than fifty years ago, where the service was more responsive.
Location: The hotel is well situated, a ten minute walk from the National Theater, the University, the Atheneum, the Old City and the Shopping area.
Initially, although I had received a confirmation for a double bed, I was put into a room with a cot and no working air conditioning, when it was warmer than 90° outside and even hotter indoors. The second night, after expressing my displeasure several times, I was changed to a room with a double bed and air conditioning. When I complained about the cockroaches in the bathroom of the second room, trapping two of them and presenting them to the management, the manager on duty said, "They're everywhere in Bucharest. I even have them at home." I asked for an insect exterminator, and there was no response from management during the week of my stay. The breakfast room was chaotic and loud. In the evening, when there was no internet service, the staff said they could not reset it, because they didn't know where the server was. I suspect that the four stars, of which the hotel boasts, were given to prior ownership, because they are certainly inappropriate for the hotel today! When I paid for my incidentals with cash upon leaving, the staff had to take up a collection to make the change, and a clerk left the building with my money to get change, because there is not even a cash drawer at the front desk! The hotel is next door to a McDonalds, and there is an overflow which simply loiters on the street in front of the hotel. I would advise anyone and everyone to STAY AWAY from the Central Hotel, Bucharest. There were also other issues, but they were minor.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Zentrales Hotel mit gutem Preisleistungsverhältnis

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Die Sauberkeit und das hervorragende Preisleistungsverhältnis sind
Cons: Das Hotel ist etwas überheizt.
Location: Aufgrund der zentralen Lage ist insbesondere die Innenstadt und die Füßgängerzone gut zu erreichen. Der nahe Park Cismigiu ist auch einen Besuch wert.
Ich habe im Central Hotel 8 Nächte im Rahmen einer Dienstreise übernachtet, die ich am Wochenende mit einem Städetrip kombinert habe. Das Hotel ist mir dabei bereits von meinem Kontakt vor Ort empfohlen worden. Es ist sehr sauber. Das Personal ist zudem freundlich. Aber auch privat hätte ich dieses Hotel gebucht, da das Preisleistungsverhältnis stimmt und das Hotel sehr gut gelegen ist. Die Metrostation der Universität ist nur wenige Gehminuten entfernt. In wenigen Minuten ist man ebenfalls in der Innenstadt. Auch der gegenüber gelegene Park Cismigiu ist für einen Abstecher zu empfehlen.
3 out of 5
by Concetta from siracusa

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
Camera con finestra su tugurio, personale non affidabile
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sentral beliggenhet

Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Hotels
Service har tapt seg siden mitt forrige besøk, internett i lobbyen var fjernet. Godt renhold på rommet, enkel og grei frokost. Sentral beliggenhet meg gangavstand til gamlebyen.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Greit 3 stjerners hotell

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
God beliggenhet. Fortjener ikke 4 stjerner. Et helt greit 3 stjerners hotell, men 4 stjerners hotell er det absolutt ikke.
4 out of 5
by Peter from Malmö

Good central hotel

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
Great room, silent, great bathroom, really good wifi
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good area of Bucharest

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: Area
Cons: A little dark and gloomy. Street Noise, Street Noise.
Not a bad inexpensive hotel. Very noisy, if your room faces Elizebeta Street.
3 out of 5
by Lynda from California

You can do better

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
The location is definitely central, but of course that means there's some street noise until late in the night. Overall the hotel was OK, it was clean and comfortable with lots of hot water. I would not stay there again because of the staff. I was not made to feel valued by anyone. The man at the front desk couldnt find my reservation when I went to check in and even with a print-out of my confirmation from Hotels.com he argued with me. Maybe the hotel wasnt as bad as my review suggests, but it was a very disappointing start to the stay and I was glad to only be staying one night. I would not go back, there are too many other hotels to choose from.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Venezia

Hotel near by the old center

Posted Mar 20, 2016
This hotel has got a very good location. Near to the old center, close to nice park. Very nice the people at reception.