Ratings based on 1,067 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Savannah, GA

Convenient location, easy check in!

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Cons: Hot breakfast items could be hotter.
Location: Great convenient location close to i85, GA 400 and short drive to Lenox and Phipps malls.
Check in was a breeze! Breakfast was better than I expected, but the hot items could have been hotter. Room was quiet and comfortable, and hotel was located very close to the heart of Buckhead!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and staff.

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Was able to check in early with a fee. Was given a huge room off the pool. Great experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2017 by Noelle, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, and had a great experience while with us. We look forward to seeing you back again, the next time you're in the Atlanta/Buckhead area. Sincerely, Noelle T. Front Office Manager Quality Suites-Buckhead Village
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus

Nice hotel close to everything.

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Close to everything.
Cons: The stairwell needs to be painted.
Front desk clerk was very friendly during check-in. Hotel was nice and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2017 by Noelle, Hotel Management
Dear Alice, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that our staff was friendly and that you found our hotel and rooms to be comfortable and accommodating. We hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time you visit Atlanta, and have a great day! Sincerely, Noelle T. Front Office Manager Quality Suites-Buckhead Village
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Suites in Buckhead for a Great Price

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Checked in very quickly and staff was super friendly. Suite was spacious, clean, and comfortable!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2017 by Billy, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel with a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a VALUED CUSTOMER, your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Needs renovation. Old, musty. Needs refresh. Spend a bit more and stay at a newer property.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Needs deep cleaning

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Had to change three rooms before finding a decently cleaned one.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

Dishonest Hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Booked for three nights but my Wife didn't feel comfortable so checked out early the next morning. Front Desk told us then that Expedia would have to refund since it was prepaid (not true). Called Expedia that same day who called the Hotel and after a lot of runaround was the Manager was busy and would take care of it the next day. Are now saying they were not notified we checked out early and refuse our refund due per their policy. Have opened a dispute with my CC company.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by Noelle, Hotel Management
Dear Jr, We do apologize for the confusion as it pertains to your stay. After researching your reservation and speaking with housekeeping, it was confirmed that the room was only utilized for one night. We have refunded the additional two nights, and apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We hope that you'll reconsider and stay with us again in the future, so we are able to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Noelle Taylor Front Office Manager Quality Suites-Buckhead Village
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Just an average experience

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast menu, attitude of front desk staff and not have guest stay on 3rd floor with no elevator.
Location: Not a lot of options
Hotel staff was not friendly, elevator was broke and overall just was a below average experience compared to other hotels I have stayed at.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by Noelle, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, On behalf of the hotel, I apologize that your stay was not as pleasant as you would have liked. Please know it is our goal to make sure each guest has a superior stay while with us, and I apologize that this didn't occur while you were with us. We are currently in the process of installing our guest elevator, due to the property never having one. I'm sorry this was not yet in service while you were with us, but hope you'll stay again once it is. Thank you for your review, and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Noelle Taylor Front Office Manager Quality Suites-Buckhead Village
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bermuda

Ok nothing to complain about.

Posted Nov 15, 2017
I was only in Atlanta for 2 night and 3 days and I made the best of it we were only passing through.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2017 by Noelle, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay. We hope you enjoyed your stay, and will be a returning guest the next time you're in the Atlanta area. We are currently undergoing property and room upgrades and renovations, that we hope you are able to enjoy the next time you're in town. Thank you for your business, and we hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Noelle Taylor Front Office Manager Quality Suites-Buckhead Village
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

U get what u pay for

Posted Nov 11, 2017
I rented this little suite for someplace to sleep while my husband had surgery. There were some good points and some bad. Here they are: Good Extremely courteous staff Clean Less expensive than other area hotels Decent scrambled eggs Not good Hard bed No blackout curtains on either window Shower lukewarm at it's hottest No elevator (someone stomped up and down the nearby stairs from 4 am to 6 am) Security (someone tried 3 times to physically force into my room at 1:30 am) Worst coffee anywhere Poor breakfast selection Only One tiny waste can in a suite A/C not working well enough In short, if sleep/ comfort are not on top of your needs list, the rooms are cute as heck at a price reasonable for the area. If you want sleep go somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2017 by Noelle, Hotel Management
Dear Donna, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Noelle Taylor Front Office Manager Quality Suites-Buckhead Village