Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very dated

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The hotel itself and the grounds are particularly beautiful and almost make up for the poor rooms.
Cons: Rooms need to be renovated.
Location: Lots of beautiful walks/hikes to do in this area.
The hotel is classical style which is nice in itself, but it is very very dated. I personally find classical style pleasant if it's incredibly well kept, which isn't the case here. The rooms are in desperate need of renovation. Room 307 which is supposed to be a courtyard view room has two sets of windows, both of which basically look directly onto a wall less than a meter away. No view whatsoever. Felt horrible. Very poor value for money...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London and New York

A BIRTHDAY TREAT

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: The atmosphere. The elegance. The grounds. The position. The ratio of staff to guests. The topiary.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The location is stunning, perched above the Thames. We visited Cliveden, Hambleden and the enchanting Bekonscot Model Village.
Danesfield House has style. The architecture and grounds have an air of timeless elegance and the Hudson Suite, overlooking the gardens, is quite simply beautiful. This sense of style is enhanced by the skill of the staff. They manage to be both accommodating and discreet at the same time. I wish we had discovered individual names because the lady who welcomed us gave exactly the right impression for the establishment, the man who helped with our cases was superbly efficient and the maitre d at breakfast had a marvellous touch of correct authority. Attention to detail is paramount. Highlights of our stay were a picnic in the grounds at an inspirational spot overlooking the Thames and our visit to the quite excellently-appointed spa. Danesfield House is an experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Luxury place to unwind

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Everything. The staff were really helpful without getting in the way. Everything was clean and bright, without losing the luxury of days gone by.
Cons: The dinner menu was not as good as it was 8-10 years ago when we visited, but still very good
Location: You really do not need anything outside the hotel grounds, but Marlow and Henley are nearby if you want to shop.
We had a great luxury 2 night break. The building was gorgeous, luxurious and full of history with all the modern comforts you could want. There were large beautiful gardens to roam in full of hidden grottoes and lovely plants. The Spa was all you could ask for with a beautiful pool and well equipped gym. Our room was spacious and lovely and the breakfasts delicious. We asked for no feathers as we are both very allergic to them and this was sorted for us before we arrived.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016
I have nothing but praise for this hotel and its staff. My only irritation was the below standard of choice and quality of breakfast. It just didn't Match anything else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Relaxing stay

Posted May 2, 2016
Enjoyed a quiet and relaxing 4night stay here while visiting local family and friends. Service excellent and the newly refurbished bedroom was luxurious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Fantastic hotel, expensive but worth it

Posted Mar 11, 2016
Fantastic service for whole visit, Good breakfast & room service. Expensive bar but well stocked. The grounds and views are stunning. Spa facilities included and top notch. Would love to stay again. Only a tiny minus and that was that our matress was pretty hard to sleep on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely country house hotel with lovely grounds

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: Lovely building; wonderful spa, beautiful great hall-style sitting room with log fire and tapestries.
Cons: I can't think of anything.
Location: Set above a bend in the River Thames, it is near Henley-on-Thames which we visited the next day.
A lovely stay. Great afternoon tea and excellent restaurant. Very friendly and efficient staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Manor House

Posted Dec 27, 2015
We found Danesfield a very relaxing and comfortable setting; staying here with its historical significance was a unique opportunity. And the raspberry sorbet in the restaurant was out of this world!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Perfect Wedding Night Hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2015
We stayed here for our wedding night and it was absolutely perfect. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. The room itself, the Skirmett, was beautiful, clean and comfortable with a great view of the grounds. The room service breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed a walk through the gardens and grounds of the hotel afterwards. It was the perfect end to our perfect wedding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Great Service in beautiful English countryside

Posted Aug 16, 2015
We stayed for one night in a suite and used the spa facilities. The pool was a good size and I was able to swim lengths for fitness. The changing rooms were very clean and towels and robe were provided. The room was well decorated and the bed was large, and although the mattress was a little hard for my preference I still slept fine. the drinks making facilities were adequate and I was very pleased to see fresh milk provided in the fridge. The breakfast was well appointed with attention to detail in the buffet. We had hot food cooked to order and a selection from the buffet. The staff were courteous and attentive and helpful. We asked for additional help with baggage, ironing, etc and all requests were well fulfilled as expected. The setting of the hotel was stunning and we thoroughly enjoyed walking through the grounds and looking at the scenery. We had the privilege of a beautiful, sunny summer's day and the white hotel building shone out amidst the verdant greenery. We left feeling we'd like to return for another visit in the future.