Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by gary from Brentwood

Dec 14

Posted Dec 13, 2014 on Hotels
Room not good, outside of main building, badly in need of decorating, mould marks on ceiling and wall, anything placed on work surface stuck! Bed was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

We had a 1 night stay

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: The restaurant, bar and room were very good.
Cons: Perhaps the outer doors on the room could be either repaired or replaced as they didn't fit very well and I imagine would be very cold in winter.
Location: We were playing in a badminton competition all the next day, which was approx 6 mile away so unfortunately didn't get chance to see any other areas.
As we only stayed overnight we did not make full use of the amenities. We had an evening meal in the restaurant which was very good and not over expensive and a drink in the very pleasant bar.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Okish hotel but value for money.

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Enjoyed the stay, rather a unique style of hotel. Would recommend the hotel because its cheap and cheerful!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Curate's Egg

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Country house style and size. Breakfast buffet very good.
Cons: The small Coach House car park - the nearest to the main hotel - should be reserved for 5 or 6 blue badge holders only.
Location: Lovely Childtens countryside but little on show to advertise the attractions in the area [e.g. several National Trust houses and gardens.
Both good and disappointing. Annex room OK but barely 3 star standard - e.g. why no second bedside light? Breakfast buffet excellent and lounge bar comfortable. But one major problem is car parking for disabled guests - only one blue badge space not good enough for any hotel and conference centre. Large car park is probably too far from the Reception and bedrooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Robert from Crawley

A night in Widmer End at De Vere Venues Uplands

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels
Just a one night stay for a reunion with colleagues from a previous employer. Nice hotel location with good views. The reception seemed in a very odd location, well inside the hotel. It did not seem logical. Comfortable dual aspect bedroom but the en-suite could do with more space / shelving. Good breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels
Room was generally ok. Clean enough but the windows didn't have proper curtain so quite light at night. Also the noise from room above was loud. It is more noticeable if the person above decides to have a shower at 00:40 then is back up stomping around at 6:20!!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels
Very noisy with the bedrooms being close to the main walk way to the reception With suitcases on wheels clattering along – and the fire alarm going off each day I was there First one was 3am - But staff was very nice..