Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Vipool

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxon

Strange experience .

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Hopefully my experience isn't everyones experience. After arriving late from a course I.was hungry but the restaurant was closed because of a party. But I was told the bar was open instead and food would be served there from the main menu. I was told the menu was in my room. When I got to the room no menu and no towels either so back to reception to get a towel and a menu. Once we had trudged around the hotel to find a towel. I went to find that the bar was now full and no where to sit for dinner. So I had to go find somewhere to eat. On returning much later than I had anticipated. The disco was in full swing and continued until well in to the night the drum and base was banging except it was right under my room. I suppose I could call this a massage service as the bed was moving with the beat. Breakfast was good but as I found out when I booked not included in the booking fee so I had to pay up for that I would have eaten more given the price. Overall I'm sure its a lovely place to stay in the week functional and to the point but not at the weekend if your just trying to get something to eat and wanting to actually get some sleep before 2am.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
Food in Pub was very good
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good experience

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
I stopped here on my way to Heathrow as the usual hotel I use was fully booked. Not great and I won't be back. No water in the evening to clean my teeth with, they did eventually bring some bottled water. Then in the morning no water in the shower. The explanation of well the pressure isn't very good was frankly inadequate and had an air of what are you complaining about. The room had not been dusted the radiator towel rail was filthy as were corners of the bathroom and bedroom. Breakfast was very mediocre with lacklustre service. Overall very disappointing.
5 out of 5
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Quick business trip to Oxford and London

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Stokenchurch is the perfect halfway house between Oxford and London. I am from the UK so I am familiar with the area. Hotel staff was excellent, "Spooner" in the restaurant deserved a special shout out for his excellent service. Hotel has everything you'd expect from a renovated pub. It's classically old yet not outdated. Restaurant was great, although a little too fancy for my taste. Only reason I'm not giving top marks is because two of our three room didn't have air conditioning. That was an issue for my two American friends, but I found the breeze and a fan good enough.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Impressed

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
Didn't spend a huge amount of time in the hotel but from what I saw it was very nice. The room was small but clean, free wi-fi was fast, lots of parking, bar looked nice with an outside area and the service was great. Would definitely stay again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

In the Heart of Stokenchurch

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Great Restaurent -
Cons: The windows are rotten throughout - it needs sorting. Lovely canopy area at the front - but stunk off overflowing ashtrays -
Location: Village feel location - we were there for a party; and didn't do any sightseeing -
This was our 1st Wedding Anniversary and we were going to a family party down the road - the hotel is in a great position just off the M40; literally 2 mins drive. The hotel is lovely in entry - lovely lobby and the bar/restaurant is gorgeous with lovely food - but it lets itself down with the most rotten windows and the tiny little room that we stayed in was really disappointing. The bed was 4ft 6 and we have a huge 6ft bed at home - needless to say we were shocked at the size of the bed and the room size - Room 117. That aside the room was clean and the bathroom too - although there was a earth wire showing and a very dangerous metal bracket sticking out of the bottom of the radiator - this could have been nasty if some stood back on it -
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2016 on Hotels
Worst nights sleep I have had for a long time, there were people drinking until 2am and despite 2 calls to reception, it did not quieten down. I stayed to save driving up in the morning and to get a good nights sleep, will never stay there again. Complete waste of time and money.
4 out of 5
by Peter

Nice Hotel Room very small

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel , food & Service superb The room I had was a tad on the small side but this is common in Wycombe