Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb location

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, great location for riverbank walk, good food.
Cons: The bar could serve draught beer.
Location: Location is a beautiful spot in a lovely looking town. And it took under 40 minutes to get to Heathrow even at 8 am in morning rush hour.
We had a great stay for the last night of our visit to England. Location by the river and in Marlow is great. Restaurant food was complex and well presented, but pricey. Checkout was marred by the hotel trying to charge us again for the prepaid room, but this was quickly corrected when I pointed it out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes

Great hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Great hotel and staff. Given an upgrade to a suite that overlooked the river. Perfect stay with a good breakfast in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

By the Thames

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Beautiful location, beautiful hotel. Clean comfortable,friendly staff- Charlotte in reception was excellent.
1 out of 5
by thomas from Reading

Don't stay there

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
Room was not ready at 15:00 No water in the bathroom on Monday evening, quality if food less than acceptable
4 out of 5
by Sharon from Gloucester

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely fantastic. Definitely be staying here again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Don't book a room if there is a wedding function!

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: The proximity to the high street and the bathroom accessories
Cons: Hospitality of the staff, not over-pricing a room that is not fit to house guests when there is a wedding on!
Location: 5 mins walk from the high street with a few restaurants nearby
No one at reception when we got there and had to notify a barman to get someone to check us in. Room was pleasant though- quite large with lovely Molton Brown bathroom accessories. We were told when checking in that a wedding will be on so we will be able to hear some music - which wasn't too much of a big deal- until it started. It was so loud, the floor was vibrating and I could hear people singing along to songs, it was like i was in the room next door to the hall. I was stunned as to why we were even given this room (and why the guests at that wedding weren't given it). This lasted till 12.30am. I called asking to move rooms but they were full, which is fine but the next morning when I spoke to the manager, he was very rude. I also told him about our breakfast, which was burnt and he just started laughing. So disappointed in his rude manner and the whole experience of staying there. Such a waste of money. The only saving grace was that they gave me SOME money back on the room rate (a minimal amount), but even then, I felt totally ripped off - the hotel isn't even that nice to warrant such a high price. Will never ever be going back there again as it ruined our weekend getaway.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent apart from the service for lunch . 3 restaurant staff, although the Hotel had a busy weekend the restaurant was not busy so 10 mins for a glass of wine and a 50 min wait for lunch spoilt our experience. We were under some time pressure as attending a wedding and although we were not charged for the food, the moment was gone and our impression of the hotel tainted.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting...for a wedding

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: Setting, classic hotel
Cons: Bathroom cleanliness (shower / tub door and shade) wifi, noise from wedding
Location: Great restaurants, cruising on the Thames, fishing (you need your own gear)
Had we known this is a wedding destination, we would not have stayed here on a weekend. We were given a room far in the back upstairs (62), but we could still hear the DJ both at 10:30 when we got back from an excellent dinner at The Coach and at midnight after we had a drink in the bar (hoping the noise would be over soon). Plus, since we were in the back, we heard all the bottles being thrown out into the bins. The wifi didn't work in the evening (it did earlier) so we gave up on making further travel plans. On the plus side, the room was a decent size and tastefully decorated with sitting chairs, and the bed was very comfortable. There was an espresso machine too. We didn't get conditioner or lotion in the room but the cleaning person was happy to provide them as well as help us get ice since our phone line wasn't working. I gave all this feedback to the person who checked us out.
5 out of 5
by jp

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels