Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting...for a wedding

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: Setting, classic hotel
Cons: Bathroom cleanliness (shower / tub door and shade) wifi, noise from wedding
Location: Great restaurants, cruising on the Thames, fishing (you need your own gear)
Had we known this is a wedding destination, we would not have stayed here on a weekend. We were given a room far in the back upstairs (62), but we could still hear the DJ both at 10:30 when we got back from an excellent dinner at The Coach and at midnight after we had a drink in the bar (hoping the noise would be over soon). Plus, since we were in the back, we heard all the bottles being thrown out into the bins. The wifi didn't work in the evening (it did earlier) so we gave up on making further travel plans. On the plus side, the room was a decent size and tastefully decorated with sitting chairs, and the bed was very comfortable. There was an espresso machine too. We didn't get conditioner or lotion in the room but the cleaning person was happy to provide them as well as help us get ice since our phone line wasn't working. I gave all this feedback to the person who checked us out.
4 out of 5
by Jane from Middlesbrough

Great hotel in beautiful Marlow

Posted Feb 21, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in an amazing location we had a wonderful view of the water. The room had everything we needed it was spacious and had all the comforts you require for a few nights away. There were multiple sets of stairs so ensure you ask for a room on a low floor if you aren't good with stairs. We ate in Sindhu which was excellent but other than that we didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the restaurant.
5 out of 5
by Linda from Wokingham

A great place to celebrate!

Posted Jan 19, 2016 on Hotels
It was for my husband's 50th birthday and attend by close family who all stayed in the hotel.
3 out of 5
by Laura from Gloucestershire

Over priced and rooms not amazing but lovely staff

Posted Jan 13, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is in a lovely location but th classic double we booked was hugely over priced in my opinion. Only one double socket for charging phones etc away from the bed, oilet didn't flush properly, sink drained really really slowly and I found the bed fairly uncomfortable (though that is probably personal preference). We had a view of the car park with s balcony but I can't imagine sitting out on a balcony to look stnpeople getting in and out of cars. The hotel staff were really lovely and service was great. Somehow a £200 restaurant tab had been accidentally added to our room, luckily I spotted that this was not ours before they charged us and there were no quibbles about removing it. Breakfast was good and again service great but I was surprised that fir such an expensive place you have to pay extra for smoked salmon. I did relay all of my issues with staff as a left and they seemed interested but I dont think they really cared too much as I'd already paid!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sussex, UK

Fab location

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Great location, very pretty and plenty of parking. Appeals to the mature person who may like jazz style lounge music. Friendly, helpful professional staff. Really welcoming. Lovely food and cocktails and wonderful breakfast served in a very nice room overlooking the river.
4 out of 5
by Neil S.

Lovely location

Posted Jan 1, 2016 on Ebookers
Great location , comfortable rooms in the hotel, staff varied service levels from Average to very good. Restaurant service was a little slow and on two occasions we had to prompt the waiter for delay or error correction. Very nice food albeit very high on price. Will definitely come back but on this occasion it gets a 7/10
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Netherlands

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Fantastic setting, fantastic location, fantastic hotel!! Just one word ... yep you guessed it ... FANTASTIC!!!
1 out of 5
by Luc from Lyon

Disappointed

Posted Dec 12, 2015 on Hotels
Unpleasant and arrogant staff at arrival and bar. Noisy room because of the doors Labyrinth to get in the room wit no lift and a lot of of stair. Only the staff at departure was kind Would recommend the crown plaza
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2015 on Hotels
We booked in for my partners birthday. The hotel staff were very accommodating as we arrived early due to a lunch reservation at a nearby restaurant but our room was ready. They did fail to inform us however there would be a wedding on that evening and there would be disruption. Following our lunch we arrived back at the hotel to change about 7pm. Our room was shaking and the wall vibrating from the DJ below testing his music. On enquiry with reception we were advised about the wedding but if there were any problems later on to come back but the music would be turned down at 11pm. We arrived back in our room at 10.30pm and the music was louder than before. We waited until 11.15 but the noise and vibration through the walls and floor was unbearable making it impossible to watch tv let alone try and sleep. The staff apologised and moved our room which was much quieter. On check out the reception staff were aware we had changed rooms but didn't offer any apology and were not interested if our new room was ok, we were out of the door in less than 5 minutes. Although I had only paid for a classic room with no breakfast it was not a cheap night away and certainly not relaxing. It's a shame as the hotel was very nice and the room we were moved to was lovely but the rooms at 11.30pm completely spoilt our night away and took the shine off of a birthday weekend away.
5 out of 5
by Rosemary from Chelmsford

Wonderful location, great hotel.

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
We only stayed for one night but hope to go back again. The location is fabulous. Our room was lovely, very clean, fluffy bathrobes and smashing Molton Brown products. The coffee machine is a lovely touch. The staff are very friendly and attentive without being over the top, brilliant job by all. The breakfast was super with a great choice.