Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel. Don't eat the food!

Posted Dec 31, 2016
We felt really lucky to find the crown. The family room was a great size for two adults and two children. Room was simple but nicely done. Very clean. Staff are super friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included and was ok, but our evening meal was appalling. Every last bite.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mixed thoughts

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Stylish decor & clean room Nice complimentary snacks & wine in room Flexible - OK with late check out But: King size bed, for which you pay extra, is in reality a double Food was below average pub food and service not very good One disappointing bar area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire

Stylish relaxing hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Location: Amersham is lovely, lots of nice pubs and restaurants nearby.
Stayed in a deluxe main inn room. First room we were allocated was on the ground floor and too noisy for us (traffic and the sound of creaking floorboards from above). However we were moved to a new room upstairs without quibble, which was much quieter. Rooms are very stylish and well thought out. Complimentary wine and snacks a nice touch. Staff helpful and polite. We ate in the restaurant which was ok but service was quite slow and tables very close together- no private conversations to be had!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A lovely night

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Lively staff, great decor and the food was really good too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GB

Only positive thing is its location

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Very dated hotel. Relying on age and not appearance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lutterworth

Pleasant surprise in Amersham.

Posted Dec 26, 2015
Pros: We wanted for nothing. Parking in Amersham itself may be at a premium, but there was adequate space available at the rear of our hotel.
Cons: Will definitely require a return visit in order to complete this section.
Location: Again, such things as the museum, the view overlooking Amersham (through the small park walkway and up the hill opposite) described by Jo, yet to see.
The Crown hotel Amersham, was booked by my daughter Jo, so I could only hope for the best. And got it! Both the facilities and staff were well above par. Our room # 110, although not palatial, was cosy with all that one required to give it that "home comfort" feeling. Having had a table pre-booked at a nearby restaurant, we did not, on this occasion, avail ourselves of the Crowns' culinary delights. This to be savoured on our next return visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcestershire

Good quality hotel in lively Amersham

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Character hotel with friendly and efficient staff who were keen to provide great service. Superior room was clean and bed very comfortable but king size bed took a lot of the room space. Food was excellent but very restricted menu on Sunday evenings, and restaurant fully booked on Saturday evening. We were very happy to eat in the bar on Saturday but if you wish to use the restaurant I recommend you book before your arrival.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A night in Amersham

Posted Jul 30, 2015
The hotel was lovely, ideally located with bundles of character. On booking there was some confusion with dates which the receptionist was more than helpful to resolve. All staff were very friendly and accommodating to both ourselves and our 2 chocolate labradors :-) Only one complaint was that there was only 1 vegetarian dish, that was sold out ( both vegetarians) however the staff were again very accommodating and suggested we went to the sister hotel which was equally as nice and only a stones throw away :-) Had a lovely time :-) Thankyou
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poole

The Crown, Amersham

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Good position in centre of old town
Cons: Décor looking a bit tired in places
We were staying for just one night and were in a ground floor room facing the road. It was a little disconcerting that passing people could see in with the light on. Not sure how much they could see through the bathroom window.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

A Quick Stopover

Posted May 25, 2015
Stayed over on a Friday night. Had some nice lunch/snacks in the bar, a wander around the town and then an evening meal in the restaurant. Food was good and staff we're pleasant and helpful and no issues with the room.