Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nottinghamshire

Check the bill

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Lovely room with beautiful gardens
Location: Great for Waddesdon Manor
Tried to charge me for a £40 bottle of wine instead of a £4 glass. When I corrected the glass versus bottle, the next error was an attempt to charge me for an £8 glass!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Friendly staff, excellent rooms and breakfast. Good value for money for a single.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Stop over near attractions

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: Good location - country village but near things. The restaurant & its wine list. The staff.
Cons: Very little - maybe for the rooms that are reported to be a bit tired, they revamp them, because for a short stay hotel, I think it is a gem.
Location: Waddesdon Manor, Oxford, Bicester Outlet, Aylesbury, and Woburn ( 45 min drive)
We only checked in at 8pm and checked out next morning, but for the quaint location, compact facilities - reception, bar, restaurants - it was excellent. Very sweet English garden, which we even managed to sit in despite the typical summer weather. The room was a junior suite in the adjacent building across the courtyard - some reports said rooms were tired, but this was clean, stylish and had everything you could need plus a little character with the mansard style roof. We can rave about the dinner in the main restaurant as this was really excellent and the staff were all relaxed, friendly and professional - it was nice to know that some of the staff had also been there a long time and I think clearly were proud of the establishment.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing stay for a first wedding anniversary

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
We booked the Five Arrows for our first wedding anniversary. The service & dinner at the hotel were good. Waddesdon Manor itself is exceptional. However, despite initial good impressions of the hotel room we had a sleepless night - an electric humming noise was going on & off every few minutes. After investigating with a security guard at 1am we discovered our room was directly above a kitchen housing a commercial fridge. The external ventilation fan for the fridge was located below our bedroom window & was audible the window closed. Security could not switch off the fridge. It was not possible to move rooms together so as I was driving & needed the sleep I moved to a single room ... certainly NOT what we were expecting when celebrating our anniversary! We were very disappointed with our stay because of this. The manager did refund the room cost but was keen to tell us that no one else had ever complained! We still paid for dinner & breakfast, & apart from suggesting that he hoped we might return again (highly unlikely!), no compensation was offered. Anyone booking: avoid room 15 in the annexe & ensure you ask for a room away from noisy extractor fans (there was also another v. noisy fan on the back of the main hotel building that was going on & off throughout the night). These noise issues are certainly not what you expect of a 4* hotel. There is quite a lot of traffic noise from the main road at the front of the hotel however it was quiet from around 11pm.
3 out of 5
by Ian from Worle

Good place to stay

Posted May 19, 2016 on Hotels
my biggest issue is breakfast isn't served until 7:30 as a business customer I would like the option from 6:30.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Rothschild Five Arrows - Five Stars

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: Proximity to Waddesdon Manor Wine selection at dinner Proximity to Topcats Racing
Location: Waddesdon Manor Topcats Racing
I lived in England most of my life and never even knew this place existed. Researching some National Trust properties to visit discovered this hotel associated with Waddesdon Manor. What a gem of a find! We only stayed one night but could, and should, have stayed longer. The location is excellent and a short easy walk just across the fields to Waddesdon Manor which is a must visit in my view. The rooms are comfortable, staff were excellent, friendly and efficient, and I completely recommend staying for dinner in the restaurant. The food was excellent and the advice of the Sommelier quite excellent in pairing a Rothschild family wine with the meal at a price which I thought was extremely reasonable.
5 out of 5
by Fiona

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel, food a bit pricey for a midweek business trip, would be perfect if had a bar menu to get a starter/main for £20 budget.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Had been driving past this Hotel on the way to visit relatives for nearly 20 years and we decided to have a night away and stay here. I cannot explain my disappointment at being put in a very modern room in the 'coach house'. The bed was comfortable but the room small and not what I had imagined when driving past such a lovely old building. The food was tasty and Waddesdon Manor well worth a visit. I wanted old world charm though not a modern box.
5 out of 5
by Michelle from Worsley

A great find with an Amazing Restaurant -

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
From arrival to departure I was made to feel very welcome and secure as a single female business traveller! This hotel is a real gem, newly converted rooms with character and modern furnishings! Amazing restaurant with both a superb dinner and breakfast offering! I would definitely stay again next time I am in the area?
5 out of 5
by Jodie

Perfect stay

Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
Glorious stay, would recommend to anyone. In fact I already have a few of my friends. Lovely staff and great breakfast