Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leicestershire

Just a great place to stay

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: The staff were great
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great just close enough to Bicester village
Just great wonderful staff beautiful room ( number 9) great food ......just needed to take my wife away for a break and this place was perfect thanks to all of the staff..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel very close to Waddesdon Manor

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Excellent stay, good food and plaisant staff. Definitely a hotel to recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night stay

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Food and friendly staff.
Location: This hotel is a short drive to the Bicester Village if you ask at reception they will give you a VIP discount voucher
Lovely hotel, just a bit disappointed as we stayed the suite No 10 there was no dressingowns or shower cap provided. Lovely white company soap hand cream etc. There was lovely high celing beams, unfortunately they need a good dusting there were full of cob webs! Overall we enjoyed a delicious evening meal and a lovely freshly cooked breakfast. All the staff were very friendly, I would recommend the Five Arrows to family and friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Location: Wassesdon manor house
The main hotel can be noisy with the road but stayed in a rear out building lovely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottinghamshire

Check the bill

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Lovely room with beautiful gardens
Location: Great for Waddesdon Manor
Tried to charge me for a £40 bottle of wine instead of a £4 glass. When I corrected the glass versus bottle, the next error was an attempt to charge me for an £8 glass!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Friendly staff, excellent rooms and breakfast. Good value for money for a single.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Stop over near attractions

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: Good location - country village but near things. The restaurant & its wine list. The staff.
Cons: Very little - maybe for the rooms that are reported to be a bit tired, they revamp them, because for a short stay hotel, I think it is a gem.
Location: Waddesdon Manor, Oxford, Bicester Outlet, Aylesbury, and Woburn ( 45 min drive)
We only checked in at 8pm and checked out next morning, but for the quaint location, compact facilities - reception, bar, restaurants - it was excellent. Very sweet English garden, which we even managed to sit in despite the typical summer weather. The room was a junior suite in the adjacent building across the courtyard - some reports said rooms were tired, but this was clean, stylish and had everything you could need plus a little character with the mansard style roof. We can rave about the dinner in the main restaurant as this was really excellent and the staff were all relaxed, friendly and professional - it was nice to know that some of the staff had also been there a long time and I think clearly were proud of the establishment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York

Rothschild Five Arrows - Five Stars

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: Proximity to Waddesdon Manor Wine selection at dinner Proximity to Topcats Racing
Location: Waddesdon Manor Topcats Racing
I lived in England most of my life and never even knew this place existed. Researching some National Trust properties to visit discovered this hotel associated with Waddesdon Manor. What a gem of a find! We only stayed one night but could, and should, have stayed longer. The location is excellent and a short easy walk just across the fields to Waddesdon Manor which is a must visit in my view. The rooms are comfortable, staff were excellent, friendly and efficient, and I completely recommend staying for dinner in the restaurant. The food was excellent and the advice of the Sommelier quite excellent in pairing a Rothschild family wine with the meal at a price which I thought was extremely reasonable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York, England

Hotel staff surprised to see a black guest!

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Pros: The room and facilities and breakfast
Cons: Hotel staff training to ethnic minorities
Location: N/A I was there for a a meeting
The overall experience was OK, however I didn't like the fact that the hotel receptionist wasn't welcoming and was surprised that as a black man I am a guest at their hotel. It made feel uneasy and undeserving to be at their hotel. After this I avoided the hotel staff as my room was in a different building so I don't have to go past the reception!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w

Great for Waddesdon Manor

Posted Nov 21, 2015
A quaint old building that has been updated. Clean and comfortable with the facilities you would expect. The room was clean and comfortable although if staying for a while the room (17) has limited hanging and cupboard space. Usual facilities such as in room tea and coffee, iron, hairdryer etc. Shower room in the modern style although for wet shavers the absence of a.mirror over the sunk may be an issue. Breakfast was much like others but the use of good local produce does make it a great start to the day. Full recommend the full English . The restaurant also serves a la carte evening meals and us a delight. The fod arrives well cooked and very much Modern British in style. Again locally sourced produce contributes to the taste of the food and the local economy..increasingly a plus for my money. Staff have the now eclectic mix of nationalities but all were pleasant and polite and willing to have a word or two. I would go back again without a shadow of a doubt. For me the only downside is the closeness of the A41 where the noise can be intrusive but this is not something the hotel can do anything about.