Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice and easy stay

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: The bed
Cons: internet connection, breakfast, hospitality...
I've checked in late and the bartender shared that the kitchen was closed (21.50) but that the bar was still open. The room was spacious and good enough for just one night. Unfortunately, the internet was down for some reason and/or not working good enough so that was a shame. The next morning I took my breakfast at 8.45 but apparently they stop at 9am. So it felt they rushed me to have breakfast...the full english breakfast was a bit cold so I was finished in 5 min...coffee was cold too....when I got, I was asked when I would leave the room. Official check out time was 10am so I said 10am. At 9.55am the cleaner knocked on my door, asking me if I was ready...I wasn't as I still had to dry up from the shower and get my clothes on. Overall, its a good place to stay for the night but it didn't feel like they were happy with my company...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Old World charm

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Location: The pub is in the centre of Old Amersham, with an easy walk to the shops,cafe,museum and 15 minutes walk to Amersham
We stayed for one night to see our Grand daughters nativity,this was our second stay here.The pub is charming,we arrived too late to eat but the e bed pub was full with customers eating,our breakfast was really good. The room we stayed in was quirky with its own corridor,it was cosy and the bed very comfortable.We will stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible. Terrible. Terrible!

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
I booked a room for the night and when my pregnant wife and I turned up to the property we were told that there wasn't any availability - and it was a booking mistake (we had confirmation from this site!). So at 6pm in the evening we had to try and find another room in the area which was very difficult, costly and stressful. Despite frequent following up we have STILL NOT been issued a refund and the customer service at Saracen's is LYING to our faces. Horrible experience and we are still out of pocket!! AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!! Obviously they do not care about their customers.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Traditional Inn. Lovely location.

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
lovely old inn off the main street...comfortable room and friendly service...cooked breakfast served in the bar lovely...no wi in the room...otherwise a grand spot...for a couple of days..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Albans

Poor value for money

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff and nice breakfast, but very disappointed with the bedroom. This is an old building and therefore the creaking floorboards were to be expected, but the sliding door to the en suite bathroom had no inside handle and the macerated toilet made horrific loud noises if you stepped anywhere near it! The soap dish fell off the shower wall and the bathroom mirror was propped up over the loo. Overall poor value for money at over £90 per night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Stinks of cigarette smoke, noisy, and dingy rooms

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Staff were friendly and breakfast was fair.
Cons: As mentioned in experience section.
Location: Market town location.
The rooms are adjacent to the smoking area and beer garden/courtyard. Everything in the room stank of cigarette smoke (bedding, towels, clothes etc), as smokers from the bar area use the courtyard as the smoking area. There is little privacy as the rooms adjoin the courtyard, and curtains were required to be pulled over, hence darkened poorly lit room with energy efficient lamps and to few of them. If you wanted fresh air, you couldn't open windows as your room would become smoked out from smokers in the courtyard who were there throughout the day and night, usually very late, very loud and often using very colourful language. The extractor fan in the bathroom couldn't be used as this drew in more smoke from the courtyard. The rooms are pretty small and very basic and could do with some TLC, they are vastly over priced as they are. Basically this is a public house with bedrooms, it is primarily a pub and little consideration is given to the guests staying in the bedrooms. If you have no sense of smell, are deaf and don't mind confined spaces this could be the hotel for you. Because of the nature of my work I am away from home quite a lot. I try to stay away from the: Premier Inn, Travelodge accommodation as much as possible and use/support small hotels and guest houses. It is experiences like this that make err back to using these chains, as some small hotels are very poor value, as experienced here. With hotel chains there is a set standard.
4 out of 5
by john from whitstable

Friendly staff

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly and helpful staff - especially Christian. Room a little small but this is a very old building. Bed very comfy and breakfast and main meals excellent.
5 out of 5
by Pamela from South Milford North Yorks

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
Just an overnight stay visiting relatives. Excellent place to stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing and didn't get what we ordered.

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
We were welcomed by a nice young man and generally the staff were friendly until we challenged the Manager/Owner about the room. We had booked a double with sofa and fridge but received a twin, no sofa and no fridge. He blamed Hotel.com and said they had not had fridges for years. No apology or promise to change the information in the future. Room 2 was spacious with lots of character but spoilt by poor maintenance. The shower was large and powerful but the grouting was horrific with gaps and some ingrained dirt. The steel waste bin was dirty with a broken lid. It still had a sticky label with the price on from possibly years ago, £7.99. Surely this would have been removed if it had been cleaned on the outside. The old wardrobe doors no longer had catches on them. A real struggle to try to open. The room had a lovely garden with nice furniture one side and a courtyard the other. Unfortunately there was a ventilator in the courtyard which switches on and off all night. The first night this unbearable noise was compounded by people having a heated discussion until 12.30. A very disappointing experience. Such a shame as the room itself had great potential and would cost very little to put these faults right. The breakfast was fine with fresh fruit, and a cooked meal.