Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Wes from Camdenton

Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
Staff was wonderful. Room was very clean and comfortable. Enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
by Stephanie from Maine

Clean and convenient!

Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
Clean, no frills. River view rooms have great scenery. Nearby restaurants and stores
5 out of 5
by kurt from Massachusetts

A nice room with a GREAT VIEW!

Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Hotels
The Hotel was clean and room was in excellent shape and nicely furnished. Almost all the rooms overlook the Penobscot River and the spectacular Penobscot River Narrows Bridge and the historic Fort Knox. We enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Susan from Newark Delaware

There IS gold near Fort Knox!

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel was everything that was promised and then some. The view of the fort and the bridge as seen from the room was absolutely lovely. Our room was clean and had everything we needed. The bathroom was a bit small but very clean and functional. The staff, particularly Patty, was friendly and helpful. McLeod's Restaurant just across the street was a wonderful place to eat. The location was convenient to many of Maine's coastal treasures without the traffic and congestion of some of the other towns. We would highly recommend this hotel when visiting coastal Maine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from f

Ok hotel with nice staff

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Tired hotel - very old furniture - breakfast was embarrassing in its simplicity and basic offering - lovely, friendly staff though. If you do stay here - and it's ok for a night - eat at mcLeods which offered a very well prepared and decent night's food.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Traveler from Auburn

Great trip with Grandkids

Posted Aug 6, 2015 on Orbitz
When we were looking for a place to stay this hotel had 2 stars, but a review said they had a cat and breakfast so my Granddaughter picked this hotel. When we left her comment was I don't know why this hotel only had 2 stars it's definitely a 5 star hotel! and we need to do a review so people know! We had a blast and it was a perfect location with a beautiful view of the bridge and fort.
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth from Litchfield County, CT

Nice stay in town.

Posted Aug 5, 2015 on Hotels
Because we were visiting family in the area, we did not live in the hotel room. The room itself was clean, bright, and comfortable. Bathroom was a toilet and shower/tub with the sink, mirror, and hairdryer outside the "bathroom". They have coffee and light breakfast (toast/english muffins, cereal, bagged sweet muffins). We stayed on the ocean side so the view was quite nice at night looking at the lighted bridge.
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth from New York, NY

Posted Aug 5, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is very conveniently located near the various attractions in the area. Although it has no pretentious to charm or luxury, it is very clean and the staff is friendly and responsive. Rates were very reasonable for this area and time of year (summer tourist season). In short, it served our puposes admirably - we would use it again if we return to the area. We had a room on the 3rd floor, which turned out to be on the street/parking lot level. If we had know that, we would have asked for a room on the 4th floor. If you can, get a room with a view of the Penobscot River and the Narrows Bridge. The view from our friend's room across the hall was spectacular, especially at dusk and as it got dark and the lighting on the bridge came on. Also ask for a room with microwave/fridge if you need them - not all rooms come with them. WiFi connection was more than decent.