Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MA

Great Location

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Down home hospitality, our favorite hotel when we are in the area.
Location: Very close to Castine , a lovely maritime town, about 40 miles to Bar Harbor and Arcadia State Park.
We always book our room with a water view. The view is beautiful, the bridge, Fort Knox, the marina.
4 out of 5
by Richard from Coventry, RI

Nice Little Hotel and Fit the Need.

Posted Feb 10, 2016 on Hotels
not bad of a hotel that locate in small town and middle of no where. The hotel has everything we needed. Nothing fancy but very comfortable and cozy. No problem to stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 22, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and cozy with a nice view

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: The room was cleaner than most hotels I've visited. The room was comfortable and you can't get a better view there than the waterside.
Cons: The only thing wrong with the room was the shower produced hot water on cold setting and cold on hot. But that took about 15 seconds to figure out.
Location: It's right in the middle of everything in downtown Bucksport, with easy access to the bridge out to the island and the fort.
Stayed here while visiting family. Once the room warmed up to the Maine winter, it was as comfortable as any good room I've stayed at in the world, and cleaner than most. The window looked out across the water to captured both fort and new bridge. Staff was friendly, helpful and not overbearing. The front desk was helpful when I had questions but otherwise let me enjoy my visit in peace. When I need to stay in the area again, this will my choice.
5 out of 5
by Stanley from Princeton, NJ

Now On My Favorites List!!

Posted Nov 21, 2015 on Hotels
It is quite obvious that both the owner and staff want your stay at their hotel to be the best! It's not a brand new chain hotel skyscraper, but the rooms are absolutely clean and well kept. I stayed 3 nights and each day every little detail was cared for by the cleaning staff. I will stay at this hotel whenever I'm in the area. It was a great find!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just a one day stop going up the Maine coast.

Posted Oct 30, 2015
Pros: Location, view, parking.
Location: Bridge observatory and fort.
Enjoyed Fort Knox and the bridge observatory. Relaxed in the room a good deal. Great view of the river, bridge and fort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great place to stay

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was very nice. Large room with a nice bathroom. The view is particularly delightful.
4 out of 5
by Leonard C.

New England Odyssey

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Orbitz
One night stay on our way to Bar Harbor. Nice location and though a little small it was an adequate room with a nice view and a good value for the money.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chesapeake, VA

Beautiful view

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Pros: The view from the room, the location, nice staff
Cons: Due to age of the building, I doubt that much could be done to alleviate the noise problem.
Very nice property. It was conveniently located, clean and a good value. The only disadvantage was the noise. I could easily hear conversations from the room next door and noise in the hallway at night made sleeping conditions difficult.
3 out of 5
by Caroline from West Coast

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is adequate. At $150 per night, it is way overpriced. It's like a comfortable motel. Their "breakfast" is a bit of a joke. Some breads for toasting, cold cereal and coffee are laid out on a buffet. Nowhere really to sit so I guess you take it back to your room. We had a better breakfast buffet at a $50 motel earlier in the week.