Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baldwin, NY

better than average in-town hotel with great views

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: location, riverfront views, friendly staff, plenty of parking, home-y feel, good water pressure in the shower and INSTANT super-hot water
Cons: carpets, decor, etc. look like they saw their best days 30 years ago, but nothing was shabby, everything worked and was clean
Location: McLeod's serves great food, save room for homemade dessert; walk 2 blocks to quaint movie theater; walk the 1mile scenic Riverwalk; local shops
some other reviewers said this place was average, passable. I'd call it slightly better than average. Patty at the front desk staff was very friendly. based on other reviews, we didn't bother with the breakfast, drove up the road to DD instead. room was clean, everything worked, I found the bed very comfortable and slept like a log, altho my husband would've preferred a more firm mattress, and there was plenty of parking. it's located right in the cute downtown Bucksport, with shops, restaurants, movie theater and the Riverwalk right behind it, with fantastic views of the 2 Penobscot River bridges and Fort Knox across the way. the suspension bridge and Fort Knox are lit up beautifully at night. such a great view to fall asleep to. and even tho it's on the main drag in town, our room on the river side was quiet, except for the occasional person jogging or walking their dog on the riverwalk path. it's only 25 mins N to Bangor and the airport, 25 minutes SE to Ellsworth, and only another 30 or so minutes beyond Ellsworth to Bar Harbor, Acadia, etc. I think you could find a much more luxe hotel closer to the coast for much more $, but you could do much worse than this little place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice view, simple, clean, quiet

Posted May 7, 2017
This hotel is right in the middle of downtown Bucksport and across the street from a very nice restaurant. The view of the water and the bridge and Fort Knox is great. The breakfast with the room was a bit lacking - just some packaged store bought pastries and cereal - which may be a reflection that we were visiting out of season. The room was clean and quiet and the staff friendly.
3 out of 5
by Jimmy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Meets basic needs

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Cons: Turn on the heat before guests arrive!
Location: Great location with a good restaurant across the street!
The lady at the front desk was helpful and friendly. The room was cold -- I wish someone had turned on some heat before I got there. Breakfast was minimal but the coffee was good!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is downtown Bucksport. The building & room furnishings were dated. Good value for overnight stay while travelling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Breakfast a little small
Location: great restaurant across the street
Wonderful view of Fort Knox and the bridge. Good bed
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston MA

On the water location; dated condition

Posted Oct 17, 2016
The inn is about 15 miles south of Bangor via Route 15 and is located right on the Penobscott across from Fort Knox. The rates are reasonable and the location is great. However, the rooms are quite dated and the place needs an overhaul. They do provide a continental breakfast but I opted for a heartier breakfast down the street and was not disappointed. The Inn is across the street from the best restaurant in town (Macleod's) and just down from the cinema.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
Nice and quiet despite no vacancy. Great bed, great shower, lovely night time views. Nice walking path behind hotel. Definitely a jewel