Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to avoid downtown madness, but...

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Pros: Parking, peaceful location
Cons: Breakfast?
Location: Danube is very near
We chose this place on the way back from Prague in order to avoid downtown Budapest madness. If you are looking for the place to crash for the night in peaceful environment and park the car in front of the hotel, this is the place. The room was pretty much okay and after a long trip we did not care the beds were separate. The panorama elevator overlooking the building and Danube is an interesting addition to the building. However, do not expect anything lavish at breakfast. Spartans would cry in frustration over the lack of options to eat there and the only people who were happy to be there were some business people, obviously gathering for some out-of-work experience. All of them were slim people, so the breakfast was probably looking good to them. We ended up eating nothing at breakfast and just sped up back home. If you come to the hotel in the evening, beware of the serious lack of eating options around 10 pm. Yes, there are places nearby the river and the restaurant in the hotel, but almost all of them close their kitchen around that time. There is a small Greek place nearby, fast food type, and another one of the similar kind with regular meat offer, and that's about it concerning food. We were on the fourth floor and one or two floors below were some teenagers who obviously had something funny to tell each other all the way to midnight. So, when people talk loudly down one or two floors, you will hear it clearly in your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Good for the money

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: The staff are phenomenal; friendly and very knowledgeable about the area and Budapest attractions. They were very helpful during my stay.
Cons: The hotel was cold. Not sure if there was a problem with the heating system or if it's always this way. They did bring a heater up to my room.
Location: The hotel is about 30-40 mins by Metro from the downtown area & about 10 mins from the nearest attraction, the Aquincum.
I stayed over NYE, traveling alone. The staff was SO helpful and dead on about their recommendations and suggestions of where to go and what to see. Tickets for the Metro, various tours, and attractions can be purchased at the front desk. Hotel is on the river, but about 35 mins outside of the downtown area. Very easy access to the city center via Metro. I had no issues getting around by myself, without knowing a word of Hungarian. The complimentary breakfast was good;mostly a European spread but there were scrambled eggs and sausage as well each day. I had dinner in the restaurant only 1 night, and it was fine. Also, the desk clerk provided a pot of hot water/tea upon request each evening. There is a fridge in the room with a limited but expensive mini-bar; no microwave or coffee maker in room though. The hotel is older, although it has been updated, but my room was clean and comfortable EXCEPT...it was very cold in the hotel, including the rooms. They brought a heater up right away, but I don't think I would go back in the winter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jake from Krakow, Poland

If you don't mind the distance from the city center - that's the best choice!

Posted Aug 4, 2010
They allowed me to check in at 8AM without extra charge. Good big breakfast, free parking, not easy to find though - it's better to have some kind of GPS device. Far away from the city center but the bus stop is in front of the hotel. Take number 34 and the at the end of the route switch to subway. It takes about 40-45 minutes to get to the city center and you can buy tickets from the reception.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ILMAR

Great staff, were sooo helpful,

Posted Jul 21, 2010 on HotelClub
Great staff, were sooo helpful, we really enjoyed our stay, a little off the beaten track, Dunube is 25 yards away, city center 15/20 mins by car, however, a good peaceful location and great food. Big rooms.
3 out of 5
by William from Washington, DC

All right

Posted Jun 17, 2009
The room was small and somewhat dark with communist-era decor. It was not at all like the photo, and therefore did not correspond to expectations. Dinner and breakfast were very good. Train service to the center was frequent and fast, but the station was 30 minutes away by foot.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tyler, TX

Very pleased with Alfa Art

Posted Jun 15, 2009
We selected the Alfa Art Hotel for several reasons, some of the most important being its location away from the center, free parking, convenient to public transportation and overall value. It was an excellent choice. The staff spoke English and were very friendly and helpful; our room was comfortable and had A/C and a minibar; all the public areas were attractive and spotlessly clean; the buffet breakfast was one of the best in our month tour of Central Europe; nice restaurant with many choices; a lovely outdoor terrace just by the path along the river; many other amenities. Will definietly stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good service

Posted Oct 20, 2008
Good service, basic hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Great hotel but too far from town.

Posted Sep 20, 2008 on Hotels
Hotel and staff very nice and helpful. Great breakfast and dining area. Sad parts were the hotel is very far from downtown and the shuttle they claim to have to take you there does not exist. You will pay at leats 30 US dollars by taxi to get you to town. Also taxi drivers show their anquish while driving because of the traffic. Too bad for such a nice place. My next trip to Budapest will find me downtown for sure. Pay the extra for a closer hotel and you will certainly save in the long run.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Very nice but far away

Posted Sep 18, 2008 on Hotels
I was very pleased with this hotel and its staff for my 2 night stay in Sep 2008. Clean, great free breakfast and super service. You must first do your homework though on how far you would like to be from downtown or historic area. It took me an hour and a half by airport bus with no other stops from the airport. The traffic is really bad most of the day. You will spend lots of money with a taxi getting to and from anywhere. The downtown courtesy shuttle does not exist like they say. The night receptionist said check in the morning to see because he really did not know of this. In the morning I was told maybe a week or so in advance they may be able to accomodate a ride for you downtown. You will also see much frustration from taxi drivers when they are stuck in this incredible traffic as they feel they are losing time and money, and they expect more of a tip for their anguish. not pleasant.. approx 25 US dollars to get you downtown and maybe more getting back. So spend the extra money and stay downtown. I will promise it will be cheaper for you overall. I certainly wish this was closer to town because of the unique atmosphere of this little hotel.