Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Really nice hotel, good location

Posted Nov 30, 2016
We loved the Ambra. Was an easy journey on public transport from the airport and then walkable to everything in beautiful Budapest! I would definitely come back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Good location

Posted Aug 15, 2016
The hotel is situated in a good location; close to the opera house and St Stephen's Cathedrial. The hotel staff is great. They are very friendly and are eager to please.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Breakfast is great!

Posted May 6, 2016
The localism good, close to metro station. But the best western hotel sign is hard to look for.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Bed was hard, bathroom water had no medium only scalding hot or ice cold.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex.

Good but Bad

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Pros: The Breakfast
Cons: The rooms at the front of the hotel need to be sound proofed ASAP
Location: Good for food and getting about.
Rooms at the back of the hotel are fine, the rooms at the front of the hotel are very very noisy from midnight till 5am in the morning
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good location very central

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Cold and hot drink was available at the hotel in the afternoon .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our Enjoyable Stay in Budapest

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: The hotel had the best en suite layout that we have found, the shower and toilet were excellent.
Cons: Maybe the breakfast.
Location: Located in a rather run down area but in close proximity to many places of interest including the Opera House, many Embassy's & Heroes Square.
We were lucky with the weather that, on the whole, was dry and mainly sunny. We found the Jewish Synagogue by accident where, on our second day, we attended an excellent concert after discovering places of interest in Pest. The next day was spent walking over the Chain Bridge to the Buda side where we walked up a zig zag path to the castle visiting The National Gallery and a folk market as well as taking in the great views from the castle and nearby church.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eastbourne

Great location, great staff, great nights sleep!

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Room was clean and basic, bed was particularly comfortable for a hotel. Bathroom was good size too with all mod-cons. Staff we're very friendly and helpful, breakfast was tasty, lots of choice including hot options too. Location couldn't really have been any better - Bang in the middle of central Pest, it's only a short 5 min walk to the central square. There's a well equipped Spa shop opposite the hotel and a bakery that's open until midnight! Crazy! Lots of nice bars and restaurants nearby, you really don't need to leave the vicinity. Would recommend and would visit again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2015
the hotel itself was fine. the hotel staff, however, was incredibly rude and unhelpful. at check in i mentioned to the receptionist that i had friends who were catching a very late/early bus and would be dropping off bags to put in our room. when i returned at 8pm that evening, i was told that this was not allowed and that we would need to find something else as no one could be in my room but the registered guests. if this is the rule, that is completely fine, but to not inform people from the outset is ridiculous and ended up costing me more money and time as i had to help my friends find another place to sit. we ended up needing to find space at a nearby hostel so that my friends would have a place to sit and keep their belongings as they waited for their 2am bus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: Comfortable, friendly, clean and mostly quiet.
Cons: The shower head adjuster was broken.Shower doors didn't close well, a lot of water went on the floor. A bath mat and larger towels would be welcome.
Location: Conveniently positioned for most things as long as you don't mind a bit of walking.
We had a good week in Budapest and went to a variety of musical evenings. The tour buses were useful and good value. You can take your pick as to which one suits what you require. Good selection of eating houses, we particularly favoured an "Eat all you want for a set price" which was convenient to our hotel and some of the evening activities we enjoyed.