Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good little 3 star hotel!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Very reasonably priced - good location - excellent staff .
Cons: Decor , furnishings and bed linen were all very clean but a bit worn. Some new duvets would be good.
Location: Great location - nearby bus and tram stops . We walked everywhere - took about 30 - 40 mins into centre of Budapest ( Vorosmaty)
Easy check in - very helpful and friendly staff. Room was small but clean - and the shower was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Good location, reasonable price

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Location. Reception open 24/7. Prices.
Cons: The room didn't resemble the pictures.
This hotel is in a very good location, just in front of Kelety train station and a Metro Station. Good when you arrive late in the evening, or have to leave early in the morning. Almost all international trains use this station. The breakfast is adequate, considering the reasonable prices charged. The reception staff is helpful. I recommend this place, if you are looking for a decent place at an honest price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Hotel vis-à-vis KELETI Train station Budapest

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Hotel in conveniently located across the street from Keleti train station. Helpful personnel.
Cons: Old, outdated building.
Location: Budapest KELETI train station
Hotel BAROSS is conveniently located right across the street from KELETI train station in Budapest, Hungary. We’ve booked two different stays at Hotel BAROSS in June 2016 and every time the receptionists were helpful providing information on city’s tourist attractions and public transportation layout. Initially it was a little awkward to find the hotel entrance as the frontage has just a small wooden door leading to a inner court and the reception is on the 5th floor (you need to take the elevator) but the taxi driver (we booked the airport pick-up through the hotel, cheap and convenient) was very kind to help us find it. The rooms were cozy and quiet, away from the street noises, with windows opening onto the inner yard. On our second booking the room was really small, without a table and strangely the bathroom didn’t have a toilet paper holder…. Although the room didn’t had a kettle the hotel personnel was helpful providing hot water for a late night tea. A buffet breakfast was included with the stay and was served on a dining room adjacent to the reception. Again, we booked this hotel due to proximity to the eastern train station. The subway station is also in front of the train station but can be accessed through a staircase from Baross street. There are only four stops to “Kossuth Lajos” station on metro line M2, right at the Parliament buildings, on Danube’s river banks.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Good location, some problems

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: Receptionists were good. As requested, relatively quiet at our rooms.
Cons: Cleanness. Maintenance.
Checked in twice for two days in each stay. Air conditions in two rooms do not work properly. Cleanness: somewhat below expectations. Breakfast OK.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

A nice enough hotel, let down by some rude staff

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: It was clean, had all the basics, a great view to the main station and was close enough to the centre, a 20 minute walk.
Cons: The attitude to the cleaning and breakfast staff needs a complete change. We are paying guests and if you cannot be polite shut up and stay away
Location: We had the main station near by as well as some shops which looked a little dodgy so we did not go into them. The area felt safe enough to walk home
The hotel was clean, functional and close enough to the centre. A 20 minute walk away. Reception staff and main doorman were very friendly and helpful but the breakfast and cleaning staff went out of their way to be extra rude. Like it was a mission. Not a day went past when one of them was not pushing past us, banging our plates down, clearing our plates away while we were still eating or shouting at us. Not just us, most of the guests. Also please note the view from our window to the train station was amazing and the double glazing worked fantastically, unfortunately the internal walls were paper thin.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Clean and friendly hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2016
The hotel is positioned approximately half way between city park and the river, roughly 30 minutes walk to either (opposite the hotel is a metro and bus routes which are extremely easy to use). The hotel is positioned on the 5th floor off a court yard making you feel extremely secure. The room was large and the bathroom was clean with a hot, powerful shower. Definitely worth the cheap price
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Average Hotel for 3 star

Posted Oct 10, 2015
All around basically fast food provided&apart from the shopping Arena shopping mall(very nice)inside outside.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Idk

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Pros: The lovely staff.
Cons: Rooms definitely need to be renovated. Better cleaning of the hotel rooms.
Location: Keleti train & metro station.
When we got into our room it was really disappointing. The room had this strong smell of smoke and our room looked like it was a party room. There were stains on the carpet that were really visible and the room didn't look clean. I asked the front desk if we could get a different room and they put us in a slightly better one. The second room they put us in had darker carpet so if there were stains they weren't noticeable lol. The room was still disappointing, it didn't reflect the pictures I saw, but it is what it is. The staff was very nice and they made our stay pleasant. The main pros about this hotel is definitely its location and pleasant staff. We asked the front desk for any restaurant suggestions and the young man even made reservations for us because it was around 8:30 pm and the restaurant was going to close at 10. The restaurant (Huszar) was awesome and we were grateful for the suggestion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good place for money and service.

Posted Sep 11, 2015
Not so bad... Location of receiption on the 5th floor. Breakfast good and Internet also. Good option to keep your items safe if you done check out and still have all day before evening flight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from midlands

Great location

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: Central location Breakfast included. Air conditioning safe in room. Friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable room
Location: Near station, metro bus tram links, excellent base for visiting and exploring Budapest
Had an enjoyable stay in Budapest. Would stay here again