Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Fantastic place

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Pros: #1: Super friendly and helpful staff. The location is fantastic - on a quiet pedestrian street near lots of action. Nice breakfasts.
Cons: The WiFi is a bit spotty. Upgraded routers would be nice.
Location: Many jazz venues. Raday utca has lots of nice restaurants. Central Market Hall is close.
The Butterfly Home was perfect! Super comfortable and a great location. Best of all was the staff, all of them. Really helpful and kind. Got a great general orientation to the city on arrival and great help all through the stay, including help with transportation, reservations, and especially recommendations. Although everyone was fantastic, I want to especially single out Roland. I'm a big jazz fan and Roland provided excellent insights into the jazz scene. There is a lot of jazz to feast on in the area, and Roland's advice really helped me make the most of it. I realize this review is filled with superlatives, but that's how I felt about the hotel. When I return to Budapest, I will juggle my schedule if necessary to make sure I can stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Linda from Bloomington IN, USA

Classy, quiet, and homey

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
I like small lodgings on small side streets to get away from the crowds when I go "home", and this was perfect. I picked the location for being close to the Balna, where I'd be attending a conference each day, but it turned out to also be comfortable walking distance to many of the city's sights. 5 minute walk to the Market Hall, where public transportation and the Hop On Hop Off bus can be used. The restaurant downstairs on the corner is top notch, with many other good ones close by. My room was HUGE, with tall ceilings and giant windows. But best of all is the host, Andras, who was always cheerful and a wealth of information about the city to answer my questions: restaurant recommendations, things to see, how to tip, what to buy to take home, and access to reputable taxi cabs! (BEWARE OF TAXIS IN BUDAPEST!) Everyone on the staff was friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable, and fluent in English. And breakfast was great, made to order. I would stay here again if I return to Budapest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fife, Scotland

Quirky B&B In Great Location

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Pros: The B&B was a little quirky but it was clean, spacious and the staff were superb. The breakfast was good too so all round it was not bad at all.
Location: The B&B was within reasonable walking distance of all the major attractions. The Citadel and Castle District a must do just for the views alone.
My wife and I spent a couple of days in Budapest for the first time and were blown away by what a great place it was. Architecturally stunning in places and set on the Danube it didn't disappoint. We will be back and next time it will be for longer. For us the slight downside was eating out can be a little expensive but there is plenty of choices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

Nice Location

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Location: Walking distance from lots of the cultural and historic sites, shops, restaurants, etc.
The Butterfly Home is a nice hotel in a nice section of the city. Fantastic breakfast included with our stay. Staff and owner were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately I can't give a complete review as there was a reservation mix-up and they put us up in a studio apartment next door. For what it is worth, the apartment was very nice. Lots of modern amenities including Internet, TV, large bathroom, kitchen, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by GUANXIONG from 中国

方便、舒适的酒店

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
前台很热情,服务很周到。酒店条件很好,离地铁站超近,特别方便。老板还免费为我们升级了客房,非常舒适。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mitchell from Western Mass

Hidden Gem

Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
This is a hidden gem. Located close to the Metro and the trolley it allowed us to explore the city yet still tucked away from the noise of the city. The accommodations were very adequate for a couple and were clean and modern. The service was great. Andrus gave us great tips on places to explore. Breakfast was great with made to order omelettes. There is no elevator but the stairs were just fine for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great stay!

Posted Sep 17, 2015
Location: Close to metro.
They have options for pick up and drop off at the train station or airport. Best breakfast of any of my other hotels/pensions in Europe. Huge room, close to metro, and a mascot dog!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Bra läge och utmärkt frukost

Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
Enormt trevligt ägare. Förträfflig frukost.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Susan Kathleen from New York

Hidden gem in great neighborhood

Posted Aug 7, 2015 on Hotels
My room was huge and well-appointed, with coffee/tea and a modern bathroom. The windows stretched up to the ceiling and looked out on a charming side street. Breakfast was phenomenal, with cappuccino and omelets made to order, in addition to a lovely buffet layout. The proprietor was very service-oriented, pointing out the best jazz clubs and non-touristy restaurants. The Butterfly Home is right in the heart of restaurants, museums and shopping. If you want to venture farther, public transportation is nearby, and taxis are easy to find. I will definitely stay there the next time I am in Budapest, the Pearl of the Danube.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nicola from Istanbul

Posted Aug 2, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed a week at the Butterfly Home, Andras and Roland were both very helpful, answering our questions and giving information about the city. The location was ideal just 200 metres from the metro station and 1km from the Gellert Hill, and most of the other sites of interest were within walking distance. The hotel itself was very clean and we had a lounge attached to our room, breakfast was in the restaurant next door, where Andras' father in law cooked up some yummy omelets. If we return to Budapest we would certainly stay there again