Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great nightlife and simple but perfect rooms

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was very helpful once we got through a hiccup or two with communication around the online booking. I hope that that can be resolved in the future because it seems like the hotel must have to do a lot of negotiation just to cover deals made from antiquated websites. The actual deal and hotel is wonderful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unreliable

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Not a good experience. Ended up needing to book another hotel (at 10pm the night of checkin). Thought it seemed strange that so many reviews mentioned a change of address after booking. Sure enough, location was changed via email to someplace a few blocks away in what was apparently a large apartment building. I showed up at 10pm and no own answered the buzzer or the phone. I even sent an email and a half hour later I got an email response saying I was required to notify them if I arrived after 9pm...something they'd neglected to mention in their earlier email. It obviously wasn't worth their effort to answer the phone or to come let me in. The hotel around the corner was very helpful and even tried to phone them for me. Thankfully was able to book a room at that hotel instead, rather than spending the winter night on the street.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Centrally Located Room with a Great View

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
A great room centrally located with an amazing view of the Green Bridge.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Butterfly Home--better than hoped for!

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
When our original lodging reservation was cancelled just a few days prior to our arrival, the proprietors of The Butterfly Home found us new accommodations in a larger room in a newer property, with an elevator, and in a more convenient location than we had previously. They arranged for transfers from/to the train station/airport, as well as making reservations for us at restaurants and for concerts. Ernie, who checked us in, was very friendly and wanted to make sure our stay in Budapest was perfect. He made sure we had breakfast foods we liked, steered us toward restaurants and attractions that we thoroughly enjoyed, and even walked me to an ATM one night to make sure I was safe and didn't have any problems with either the language or the machine itself. We loved the location--just across from The Great Market Hall. The streets were always full of people, making us feel safe at all hours. (This also meant that there was some street noise...it didn't bother us, but if you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs.) We have absolutely no complaints. We love good customer service and The Butterfly Home did not disappoint!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Charming small hotel in ideal location

Posted Sep 4, 2016
We could not have received friendlier and more personalized treatment. The Butterfly Home is ideally situated, in the heart of the inner city. The building is old, as it should be, but the rooms modern.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2016 by Andras, Hotel Management
Hi David, Thanx for your lovely review! We hope to see you again sometime. I really like chatting with you guys, you are grrat company! BRGDS,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Pied a Terre in (Buda)Pest

Posted Jul 24, 2016
This lovely place is somewhere between a B&B and hotel...great staff to make sure you are comfortable and provide tips about local restaurants and must-do activities with the feel of a cozy traditional B&B, complete with great breakfasts and an adorable lobby dog. The location is ideal for exploring Pest and Buda and is a short walk from the Jewish Quarter in case you need to stumble home from one of many ruin bars in the early hours after night of fun.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2016 by András and Timea, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review and perfect score. It means a lot to us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Amazing Staff and great location

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Best things about this B&B are location near metro in city center on pedestrian street, so little noise! Also, the owner speaks perfect English (he lived in Canada for a number of years) and he knows everything worth knowing about Budapest.I arrived well before check in time and was treated to a cup of coffee and expert advise on what to see. When I returned in the evening, my luggage was already in my room. Room air conditioner was powerful enough to combat the 90 degree heat outside. Only warning is this is an older building and charm means you have to be prepared to climb some stairs.
4 out of 5
by john

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by John from Lara

Budapest 2016

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
Great area to stay close to most things, helpful staff.