Ratings based on 377 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North East England

Couldn't have picked a better hotel!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Central location, clean, helpful, friendly staff.
Cons: The heat! - it was far too hot for us.
Location: Fabulous location right near St Stephen's Basilica, numerous restaurants, gift shops
This is a lovely hotel right in the middle of the Pest side of Budapest. We were directly opposite St Stephen's Central Basilica and the centre square which is handy for all the local restaurants and a few souvenir gift shops. The hotel itself is not luxurious - which we didn't expect, but it is clean and we had everything we needed, plus a nice walk-in shower. The only problem we had with the hotel was the heat! It was boiling! We asked in reception about the air conditioning and were told that it was October so they don't have air conditioning - only heating. We just opened the windows (24 hours a day - it was that hot!). If you like the heat you'll be fine. The hotel staff were lovely and couldn't have been more helpful. Despite being given directions, we still got lost and went back to ask the same member of staff if he could direct us again - which he did - so helpful! Breakfast was included in the price of the hotel and there was plenty of it - cereals, fruit, yoghurt, bread rolls, and even a little cooked breakfast. The only problem was the heat in the breakfast room - so we didn't hang around in there for too long. I have given the Room Comfort a 3, but that is only because of the heat. If you want a nice, clean hotel with friendly staff, right in the centre of things, then this is the hotel for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Loved it

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: Everything is close by or an easy metro ride
Loved this hotel. Excerlint location, and super helpful staff. Well go back there to stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Good value, clean, quiet, great location

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Location: Location couldn't be better for transport and sights. NB if you are over 65 and an EU citizen, you can travel free on all Budapest public transport
Location is fantastic - right next to basilica but in a quiet pedestrian street. Main sights and public transport all very near. Friendly staff, helpful with information and restaurant bookings etc. Breakfast perfectly ok. Room clean and reasonably spacious. We would certainly stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston TX

Only way to visit Budapest

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Excellent location. Will become my home while in Budapest! And the staff, the best and helpful to a fault.
Cons: N.A. Nothing, nothing nothing! I liked it all. Nothing more to say on this topic.
Location: The Basilica and the evening concerts are my highlights! The Chain Bridge and walking through the lobby of the Four a Seasons Hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston TX

Location, location

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Great staff, extremely helpful when airline lost my bag!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Location was out of a postcard !

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: The staff was helpful with tours and ticket purchases there ...the view ..and so clean and safe feeling ...the shower had power !!f
Cons: The beds could be softer
Location: It was central to tours starting there and easy to get bus or whatever boats it was all close to just everything ...perfect !!
Loved the location very safe and clean area with the shops and food and oh yeah the Basillica we were so happy with this hotel ..the free walking tour is right there on the Basillca steps do it it was fun ...everything seems to happen in this area its easy to navigate from...loved the staff they got us tickets to tours and events and we got upgraded to a room with view of the church ..wi fi was great no trouble at all ..its not luxury its location and clean and friendly ...would stay here again ..ice cream next door is a must try too...it was a perfect Anniversary trip for us !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, quiet room, helpful staff

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: location, staff, room.
Cons: breakfast
Stayed in double bedroom family room for 1 week. location is fantastic. right in the center of the city. despite the fact that it is in the touristic area, there was not much noise in the room. staff at the reception is very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend this hotel!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Room had no window, only a skylight. Very old and stuffy and smelly. Terrible shower ...hardly any water. Breakfast was very basic. I couldn't wait to leave. The worst room that I have ever stayed in. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. Expedia should take this hotel off their list. Luckily I was only stating one night. Worst experience!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Received a windowless room.

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Location is wonderful!
Cons: Do not put older people (our age) in a room with NO windows & the only exit being via a ladder to climb up through the roof!!!
Location: Everything is nearby. Nice central location, but I would not settle for the hotel again.
Very disappointed with hotel. Received a top floor room with no windows (ceiling escape via a ladder)! Room was so hot upon arrival that we could not cool it down enough to sleep the first night. Breakfasts were good with a nice selection, but this hotel just doesn't make the grade for us. Hallways are pitch black until you walk about 5 feet into them & the "motion detectors" finally turn the (dim) lights on. If I were traveling alone, this, in itself, would cause me to look elsewhere. The beds in our room were essentially two mattresses on a wooden frame. Pillows were about 1" thick. I had to ask for two more to even be able to sleep. One "plus" for the hotel is the EXCELLENT location. Too bad the accommodations couldn't be a little more 'excellent'...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and staff

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Comfortable small hotel with great location and staff. Excellent value for price, with good breakfast buffet included.