Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from annandale,virginia

Nice and comfortable no

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Very nice and friendly atmosphere at this hotel. Staff was very helpful to me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Good hotel in a good location

Posted Oct 31, 2015
Clean and comfortable hotel with good breakfast and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Value for money

Posted Sep 11, 2015
Pros: Price and central location
Cons: Climate control system in the rooms.
Location: This is the city center, short walking distance from Oktagon undeground station. There are plenty of restaurants and cafe nearby.
The weather was very hot during our visit to Budapest. A conditioner or climate control system would be very useful in the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wicklow, Ireland

Well located city centre hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Hotel is very well located on a quiet street just off main street that crosses north south through the Oktogen on Andrassy Avenue. It was within easy
Cons: Coffee at breakfast was a little weak but that is a personal preference.
Location: We were able to walk within 25 minutes to the Parliament, St Stephen's Basilica, Heroes Square, Spa Baths, and many fine restaurants.
Staff were courteous on arrival late at night and continued so over the course of the week we stayed there. The rooms were large with the advantage of the kitchen area so we were able to boil a kettle and make coffee whenever we liked and if we had wanted we could have cooked in the microwave oven and used the well stocked cutlery and crockery. TV channels were a good range with movie channels in English. We were also able to watch the Germany V Ireland soccer match in the room. Breakfast selection was very good with a good range of cheese/ham/cucumber/tomato with a variety of breads. Fresh fruit was also good at breakfast. Time of breakfast between 7 and 10 was generous so we could plan our day easily.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jude from Manchester, UK

Beware of the summer heat

Posted Aug 1, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: No air conditioning in the bedroom!
Location: Near to many restaurants and bars. Less than 10 mins walk to the metro.
This hotel was convenient and good value for money. The major down-side was that there was no air conditioning in the bedroom. Given that the temperature was around 35C, this made it uncomfortable in the evening. There is however, air conditioning on the ground floor in the restaurant. I wasn't made aware that the bedroom wouldn't be air conditioned before I arrived. Other than that though, I had no complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elizabeth from Australia

City Hotel Budapest

Posted Jul 28, 2013
Pros: Pleasant staff who found no request difficult, they have a beautiful private courtyard
Cons: Only one pillow per guest in room
Location: Very central to shops, eating places and transport yet in a quiet spot
I have stayed at this hotel in 2009 as well as now and on each occasion it has been great. From its location to staff and rooms there is little you could fault. Because of our prior visit we did not consider any other hotel in Budapest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good all round

Posted Jan 2, 2013
Pros: breakfast
Handy location, very clean and tidy, good breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Miyanji from Orlando, FL, USA

Great Hotel for a Short Trip

Posted Nov 19, 2012
Pros: Size of Room and Comfort
Location: In the City Center
Wow, I was really impressed with the quality and the price in the heart of the Budapest, Just next door to a Hotel which charges Euro 170.00 a night. Very clean and in the city center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Doug from Australia

A great base for walking Budapest

Posted Oct 5, 2012
We arrived late at night; the bus being 2 hours behind schedule, to find a warm welcome and a very quick, efficient check-in. The staff were eager to assist and spoke good English - a great help as we spoke no Hungarian. Breakfast was plentiful and well presented. The small kitchen facilities were adequate for simple meals. For those liking to walk, as we do, the location is excellent for visiting the main highlights of Budapest, but you definitely need a taxi from the Bus Terminal. The hotel is also close to a variety of restaurants and small supermarkets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from West Midlands, UK

value for money

Posted Jan 5, 2012
Great location! Right in the middle of the city centre, can walk to most sights with shops and restaurants nearby. The family suite has two rooms as well as a kitchen/dinning area which is very roomy. Facilities are well kept and clean, except the sofabed is terriblly uncomfortable. Staff are helpful. Overall, we had a very nice break.