Ratings based on 665 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Oren

Convenient, Clean and friendly

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
Weather was decent lots of fog! The city was amazing very pretty, great looking area that's very clean and well looked after unlike some other European capitals. Lots to do stayed for 6 days and didn't get bored! Also not too hard to go for a quick day trip to Vienna!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great location!

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Orbitz
Great location. Near public transportation, restaurants, shops, -and easy walking distance to some sights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa ON Canada

Nice quiet hotel in central Budapest

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: I liked the location but especially the personnel - they went out of their way to ensure that we found the right bus to get to the train station.
Cons: An elevator would be great!
Location: Close to shopping, restaurants and subway stations. On a "pedestrian street" cars cannot park directly in front of the building.
I was travelling with a companion, mostly by train, and transit.The hotel was an easy subway ride from the main Budapest train station. The personnel was very friendly and cheerful and helpful. The room was basic but clean.Getting the luggage up and down the spiral staircase was a bit of a challenge, as the hotel has no elevator.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Very unpleasant experience

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The staff was nice and gave us some tips as to what to see and where.
Cons: Over all cleanliness of the place, could use a bit of a renovation or at least new carpets. Make extra key sets so you can keep it during you stay.
Location: The location was good. We could walk around a pedestrian area but not the prettiest area around Budapest.
There was mold around the shower on numerous places, the tile in the bathroom looked as if it had just been moped with water if at all since there was filth around the tiles and the toilet was very old and wasn't very clean. The room smelled a bit of mold, was dusty and the rug was very old, worn out in places and a bit dirty. Also, the bed linen had small spots on it of questionable nature and the mattress was too wobbly. The only good thing about the room was that it had AC and it didn't even work all that well but it did hide some of the smell in the room. The staff were pleasant but not overtly friendly, although they did get us a good taxi that wouldn't rip us off for the ride back to the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Central hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Hotel staff were friendly and breakfast was reasonable, although if you go down after 9.00 most of the hot buffet has gone and they don't put more out. The best thing about this hotel is how central it is, literally a walk up the street takes you to the river where there is plenty of restaurants and bars! Across the street there's a little supermarket. Turn right out the hotel and you can find the bus stops for the hop on hop off services which takes you to all the popular sights! Downside to this hotel is the cleanliness, there was a fair bit of dust and hairs in the shower. Also this isn't a 24 hour hotel, we had an early flight home and had to practically break out the hotel to leave due to no member of staff being available.
4 out of 5
by david from Australia

Good for location, no good if your a light sleeper

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
Overall this was a good place to stay. Location was good but Rooms at front of hotel were noisy. Also rooms needs maintaince. Faulty switch for bathroom, shower head broken We asked to be moved to another room and was quoted but similar items needing maintaince.
5 out of 5
by In Deok

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Mark from Iowa

Old but comfortable

Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is in an excellent location on a very quiet street, yet just a short walk from the main pedestrian mall in central Budapest. It's very clean, but dated. There is no elevator, so beware if steps are a problem for you. Also, the wi-fi was terrible. But breakfast was great, and we slept very well in a quiet, comfortable (old) room.
4 out of 5
by Kenneth from Malta

Great Value for Money

Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was clean and receptionists very helpful. Good breakfast and excellent location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Some fundamental Services Absent

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Close proximity to public transport. Centre of City
Cons: Service....TV reception....bed....security for baggage
Location: Irish pub...transport...shops ( from HV clothes, souveniers, restaurants, money changers.... walking distance to sites
Booked the room several months in advance. Arrived with back pack and large bag. No lifts , so I was required to carry both bags up two flights of stairs. There was no offer of help with at least one bag. Allotted room was the furtherest from the stairs.Room was situated above the entry/exit door for Jack Doyles Irish Pub. So Thursday/Friday nights a lot of commotion around 1-3 am. The hotel had only a few occupants but I did not complain because the management would have known the circumstances around the room and , perhaps, priced the room accordingly. To my mind there wasn't anything special in the pricing. Room was clean but run down ( 1 shower door off runner, shower tap missing H/C identifier, curtains did not close fully- letting in outside lighting). TV channels were the normal ones... there was no extended coverage for sport/news/documentaries/history channels etc. Bed was basic "army" style...wooden frame, single mattress, bed that squeaked In the dark..hallways were lit by movement sensor.Unfortunately, the light "thrown" didn't extend to the lock on my door. Therefore whenever leaving or arriving I had to search for the "key hole" in the dark. "Cleaning " lady was thorough and thoughtful. I was allowed to leave my baggage, after exiting room, until I picked it up. However, it is stored in the open without any security but perhaps a watchful eye.