Ratings based on 226 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice clean hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Very clean and friendly
Cons: The spa could be improved, i.e. Someone knowing how to turn the heat up in the jacuzzi as it was freezing on the 2nd day we used it.
Location: Unfortunately the hotel was in the middle of nowhere so we had to walk 20 minutes to and from the metro.
We had the best time in Budapest celebrating my husbands birthday
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: Set pretty close to city center, just make sure to have an english speaking driver to take you around places.
Although this hotel is a bit away from the street, the cab service on call and modernity of the building makes up for it. I really liked this place
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nightmare

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
Very Unsafe and horrible reaction and response from front desk. Was assaulted in the room and the hotel management did nothing to throw out the unruly guest. Stay at your own risk
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very unsafe and the hite management does not help

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
Horrible management, very unsafe
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Has potential but...

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
One of our travel party was assaulted by another guest when he barged into her room and threatened to hit her and her 12 year old son. The Hotel was not willing to do anything and tried to charge our friend when they moved her to another room. She was told by the Manager that it was probably her fault for talking on the phone too loud. There's NO EXCUSE for physical or mental assault. As for the rest of the hotel; initial check-in seemed fine until we realized that our room keys kept resetting so we kept having to have them re-programmed. Bathroom was very nice with modern amenities however the shower head was loose and kept falling on our heads which was sore so we had to tape it in place. The breakfast had a good selection and the dinner was good although the menu is limited and the service is very unfriendly. There is a sky bar which is very nice however again the service lets it down with unfriendly bar staff. Location is further from the city center, and the area is run down. Parking lot is in disrepair with no marked spots so everyone parks randomly. Our vehicle was boxed in by carelessly parked tour buses and we were told to drive through the adjacent park over the grass etc. in order to vacate. Overall the Expo Congress Hotel has good amenities however all of the staff let it down. The staff are frequently rude and do not seem to want to help. The restaurant staff were a better by the end of the trip when they saw us frequently.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Favilities

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent hotel, restaurant, breakfast hot and cold. Good service, the only concern I he'd was distance from city center.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not quite sold on 4* but it was okay.

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
This was a pretty nice looking hotel. We stayed on the 8th floor (of 12) with a nice spacious room, which can also be adjoined with another if going as a bigger party. The cleaning service was a little lacklustre as toiletries weren't fully replaced, the same for toilet rolls. The soap dispenser in our room was broken. It looked like the casing was lightly placed only for it to fall off when we used it. The radiator/towel rail didn't work. There is a nice, decent selection for breakfast.w with lovely pastries. However, one day was quite meat-heavy and that was a bit much. I understand most of Budapest is like that, but the hotel should have mixed it up a little. The location was a bit away from the city, but we knew about that before staying. The 100 bus outside the hotel can take you to the nearest Metro (Pillango Utca) but it's an hourly service! Overall, it was an okay stay. If you're happy to catch a taxi back from central or walk 15-20min from the Metro then go ahead as it was pretty nice to be at that hotel. Maybe we got a bad room with a few off days.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianola, IA

Close to airport

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
This was just used as a place to stay at the end of a two week vacation after returning the rental car that was close to the airport. It is nothing fancy it is about 0.75 miles to a subway station which we walked to. It is about 20 minutes from the Budapest airport.
3 out of 5
by maurice

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was great!

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Breakfast, room, location, food, and beer.
Cons: Could use a shower curtain to prevent water from coming out of the stall.
Location: Burger King is 15 minutes away with some other eateries and the metro that comes every 3 minutes that can get you most other places.
15 minute walk from the Metro and bus stop right outside hotel. Breakfast every morning was great and could be crowed sometimes. Mac/ATM right outside Hotel. Hotel's location seems to be in a safe area and has good views from upper floors of historic sites at night.