Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great option for a no-frills stay

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Pros: Front desk staff are pleasant and speak English. It's clean and easy to get to.
Location: About 2km south is the Savoya Park mall (Auchan department store and small restaurants).
The Luna is near a tram line, so getting around the city is not difficult. Breakfast is available and you can buy beverages in the lobby. There's also a grocery store a pleasant-3-block-walk away that's open til 9pm. Rooms are clean, but no frills, and like most European hotels, are less roomy than US-standard. There are air conditioners in the rooms, but you have to ask at the front desk for the remote to operate it. The hotel's parking lot and a grassy area are separated from the street by a tall wooden fence, which gives guests the feeling of privacy.
1 out of 5
by Hilmar from Houston, Texas

very unpeasant place

Posted Aug 4, 2015 on Hotels
this was the worst experience in a hotel in a long time. We wanted a hotel with safe parking place. Thats what we got, but nothing else. The room had two very small beds with a hard cover, no real matress, one chair for two people, barely space for two suitcases. The toilette bowl was not clened for three days. The carped was old and not well clened. Breakfast was below average, and if you did not arrive during the first hours, supplies were not replenished, and the staff wasrude and ignorant
3 out of 5
by Marko from Slovenia

Posted Jun 21, 2013 on Hotels
Ingeresting small hotel a bit far from the city, but with good connection by tram 47. Friendly staff, proper breakfast, clean rooms. Parking has o be paid additionally and that is the only minus.Good deal for the money.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Germany

LUNA Hotel Budapest - very good but cheap

Posted Aug 7, 2011 on Hotels
We stayed with 3 people for 3nights and had a special offer, so the price was very cheap. Room and Bathroom (ensuite) very clean. The staff very helpful with different information. Buffet breakfast good and variety of choices. Its location is not in the city center but there is a tram line with direct connection to the inner city. Overall, we had a perfect stay in Budapest and in the LUNA Hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 13, 2011 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cork Ire

Hotel Luna in Budapest - affordable base for city

Posted Apr 6, 2011 on Hotels
Hotel is located some way from city centre- though tram stop is a short walk away - about 25 min journey by tram; cost ~e1.50. Car parking on hotel grounds included. Breakfast was a mix of cereal, cold meats, scrambled eggs, plus bread, Jam, Yogurt; again included in price. Room was basic but clean- no tea/ coffee making, shower only/ no bath- linen & towels were clean. Furnishings were basic & worn. Bed was not to my liking but after a day's walking in the city I had no problem sleeping. Didn't notice any AC but I was there in April so did not need it. TV was satellite but maybe one english channel. Free wireless internet included. Reception & breakfast area was clean & tidy. Staff were quiet; but helpful. It works as a base for seeing the city, if you don't mind using public transport, or driving & parking in city centre. I would return. Really good value.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 18, 2011 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Romania

Nice clean cheap hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2010
VERY VERY VERY nice and helpfull staff. I even lost my car key, but they found it and kept it for me. Very clean hotel. A little too far from the action, and i imagine it would be difficult to get around if you don't go there by car, but if you arrive with one, it's all good. Very good food also, for the morning buffet. Not a ton of options, but pretty wide sprea range of thing you can eat.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

Hotel Luna - Budapest

Posted Oct 7, 2010 on Hotels
Ample car parking. modern style hotel, rooms acceptable although becoming a little dated. Breakfast buffet was fine. No internet / wifi, apparently issues with it, which was disappointing. Hotel is away from the city centre, but knew that before booking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Not impressed, but maybe good for budget travelers, remote location is the biggest problem

Posted Sep 15, 2010
It is a decent, clean hotel. Good value for the money but located too far from the city center to be convenient for most travelers without a car. Rooms are clean but very small, beds are not comfortable, old televisions do not work properly, phone in the rooms do not work for outside callers. On the bright side there is free internet and decent breakfast, service is also polite and willing to help with information and public transportation. Overall it is recommended for budget travelers who do not mind a 20 minute to half hour commute to the city every day.