Ratings based on 549 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Kings Hotel

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Good breakfast, clean rooms
Cons: Decor
Location: Not far from the Danube and Jewish quarter
Central Hotel in Budapest's Jewish Quarter. Hotel staff are helpful and there's free parking in the streets at weekends.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Filthy no electricity lost money hotel room

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
It was the most disgusting hotel room I have ever stepped in. I lost my money because I could not stay in the filthy conditions offered.I checked out right away and went to another hotel. The carpet looked like it had been vomited and urinated on. the bed looked bumpy and dirty like one would get bed bugs from it. The elevator ride seemed like you could die in there - If you are cluster phobic do not go. The room looked nothing as advertised. When I asked why I had been given such a terrible room, I was told it is what I paid for. I pointed out that I paid for what I was shown on the booking website which was miles away from what I was being offered. They tried to move me to another room which looked like what I had paid for but this begged the question of why they did not offer this room to begin with. Why had I been given the filthiest hotel room ever at check in? (This was from the manager who came out, looked at me and phoned front desk to tell them what room to place me) Worst experience ever. hotels.com should verify what hotels they decide to work with if we as travelers are to trust their judgement. That room I was given, is an embarrassment to King hotel, and anyone who tries to sell/rent that. It is an embarrassment to call that a hotel room, false advertisement on very many levels. I have never been so disappointed in my tourist life.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Great location, a few minute walk to some attractions, near kosher restaurants. Staff was very nice. The room was very hot at night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Good location overall, breakfast ok

Posted Oct 4, 2016
A so-so hotel, ok for the price, nothing spectacular
3 out of 5
by Cristian from Brasov

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
They charged extra for paying with credit card.(the exchange rate is higher than average).
3 out of 5
by Adam from London

Good location, bad service

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
Generally a good hotel in a great location. However, breakfast is terrible. Sugared water with flavouring instead of fruit juice and the coffee machine did not work. When I complained I was told I could pay for a nice cup of coffee from the other machine. My argument that I had already paid for coffee by paying for breakfast fell on deaf ears. Very poor service. In addition the reception staff pretended not to know about the free shuttle bus to the Hungoraring for the Grand Prix and tried to get us to book a very expensive taxi with them. We found our own way to the bus without their help. Again very poor service. There are many similar hotels in this area of Budapest so I will not be staying at Kings again. Shame, as it is a nice hotel.
4 out of 5
by Steven from New York City

Budget Hotel in Great Location

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect location for sightseeing and conveniences. Four beds fit nicely in small space. The breakfast buffet is great, with many options. Staff are friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

If you dont mind rudeness

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: It was close to where i needed to be for business.
Cons: Fire the staff and remodel the entire hotel.
Location: I had some meetings so i wasnt looking for much.
If you don't mind rude staff and bad room amenities you stay here. Otherwise, look for something better. The room was very tight and simple, which was expected. The Hungarian soccer team was playing both times when i stayed, we heard the noise from the people in the street drinking when they were winning and then the night they were losing.
3 out of 5
by Cherryl from Lancashire

Cheap hotel good location but

Posted Jun 3, 2016 on Hotels
Needs major refurbishment not 3 star and a toaster
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Perfect hotel for the perfect price

Posted Apr 9, 2016
I was actually reserved down the street at Grandio party hostel and realized what a mistake the place was. Booked Kings and was checking in two minutes later. Very welcoming place and perfect for a three night stay!