Ratings based on 1,654 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from budapest

Good location,overpriced and needs a revamp!!!

Posted Feb 7, 2017
This hotel is in an amazing location but is over priced and in desperate need of a revamp!! The rooms are very small. The shower water soaks the entire bathroom, the bed sheets were stained and only one pillow per bed (very uncomfortable) rooms are also cold and have no sound proofing. The hallways stink of smoke.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by h6565-am@accor.com, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at the Mercure Budapest City Center. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. Please be assured that we are working on the improvement of our product. We are very delighted because our hotel will be completely redesigned in the near future. This project’s goal is to modernize the atmosphere and the design of the hotel as well as offering our guests a new and comfortable environment. We appreciate that you have shared your concerns. We sincerely hope that you will give us one more chance to prove our real high quality of our services. Kind regards, Mercure Budapest City Center Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Only good thing is that the hotel is Close to city center and had a great breakfast. They are renovating so rooms are not as they appear in the pics. The rooms are actually really old, saw some cracks and ants in my room. Bed was not comfortable at all. Bathroom was so small I had to close the door to sit down! Glad they are renovating, but until then would rec somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by Mercure Budapest City Center Management , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Although this is not the type of review we enjoy receiving, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback concerning your stay. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that we are working on the improvement of our product. This project’s goal is to modernize the atmosphere and the design of the hotel as well as offering our guests a new and comfortable environment. We look forward to showing you these upgrades and to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Mercure Budapest City Center Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose,CA

Good location at City Center

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Location at city center makes travel around the city easy and convenient.
Location: Plenty of eateries nearby
Had a pretty good stay at this place through the new year. The room is a little small, but otherwise acceptable. Check in/out was quick and the staff was efficient. Because of the location near city center and close to the Xmas Fare park, we found it easy to move around town and visit the places of interests using the Metro and the trams. And the firework display at new years eve at the Xmas park was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Mercure Budapest City Center Management , Hotel Management
Dear Peter, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your very positive review. We are glad to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. We do agree with you, the location of our hotel is just more than excellent to explore the beauty of this magical city. We are glad that you were satisfied with the impeccable service provided by our staff, especially at the reception! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Mercure Budapest City Center Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rishon Le Zion Israel

Budapest visit

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Great location -this is the main advantage. The hotel is not a new one but is worth every cent. The stuff is very friendly. If you are looking a not expensive hotel in the very center of Budapest close to most attractions and with excellent breakfast - this is the recommended hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Mercure Budapest City Center Management, Hotel Management
Dear Martin, Thank you for taking the time to tell about your experience at Mercure Budapest City Center and sharing your positive remarks with us. We are very happy to hear that you were very satisfied with our central location and our helpful staff as well. We do hope you will visit us again in the near future. Kind regards, Mercure Budapest City Center Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sho

Great location

Posted Dec 28, 2016
The hotel is in a great location and can go around the city very easily even with walking distance. The hotel is very nice for the price. Breakfast is decent too. Staff were very nice even in the breakfast area. I had one issue which was in the bathroom found some ants walking around but the staff member at the desk changed my room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Mercure Budapest City Center Management, Hotel Management
Dear sho, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very glad to read that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel. We would like to apologize for the experienced inconvenience in your room. Please let us assure you that we do our best to avoid similar cases in the future. We do hope you will give us the opportunity to host you again in the near future. Kind regards, Mercure Budapest City Center Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the centre of Budapest

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Very close to the centre location and sightseeings including Christmasmarket. Hotel staff was very helpful finding the parking garage of the hotel over the phone. I know they are planning the renovation. Please change the pillow after the renovation. Pillows are very uncomfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Mercure Budapest City Center Management, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive review on Expedia. We are very happy to read that you could benefit from our central location. It is even a pleasure to read that you found our staff helpful. Please let us assure you that we will change the bedding during the refurbishment. We look forward to showing you these upgrades and to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Mercure Budapest City Center Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel in an excellent location

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: The bar, the breakfast and the location
Cons: The housekeeping facilities
Location: I loved the local shopping and the many restaurants. We were spoils for choice!
Good hotel with pleasant staff. Lovely bar area and good breakfast room with a good choice of breakfast to start your day. Bit disappointed with our room. Both bedroom and toilet/shower room were tiny and the bed was very low to the floor (almost like a Japanese futon), which was not ideal for someone with limited mobility like myself. The hotel is in the middle of Vaci Utca which is a very exciting shopping street, and a very short walk (maybe about 200 yards) from a fantastic Christmas Market. All other locations and landmarks are very easily accessible from this hotel. Also right next to the Danube and the beautiful Chain Bridge.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Budapest

Great Hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Ideally situated in the heart of Budapest. Great room especially as we upgraded. Only two things were spoilt. First they are doing the rooms up so being woken up to drilling not great. Second the bar area needs to be moved as very cold everytime the main doors opened which was almost constant. Overall will go back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not relaxing

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Stayed here for a few days. It is such a great location but the hotel itself was a let down. We were woken up at 7am on a Sunday morning by hammering and drilling outside our bedroom. When we called down to reception to complain we simply were told "what do you expect me to do about it" I understand they have a refurb happening and I'm sure it will look lovely once done but I just don't think it is at all appropriate for works to take place that early on a Sunday morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Fantastic location in Vaci Street

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Location and cleanliness
Cons: Rooms to be upgraded which will benefit the hotel
Location: Location great - on Vaci Street so near the christmas markets - plenty of restaurants off Vaci Street - walk over to Buda over Elizabeth Bridge
We had a really good stay at the Mercure - the only downside is that we had a room for 3 and it was a bit small and in need of upgrading to better beds etc. Need more drawer space as well within the room. However, the room was extremely clean, the staff excellent and we all had a good night's sleep. The hotel is due to be renovated soon. Overall fantastic location on Vaci Street and very enjoyable stay.