Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colchester

Good location

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Close to good restaurants and short walk to metro.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Bosnia

Nice place at a reasonable price

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: I would stay here again. Location, price, cleanliness
I loved the location of the hotel. It's located probably only 300 meters from the Danube and the access to Margeret Island by foot. There are several places to eat nearby and access to public transportation. The sauna/spa in the hotel is a nice touch but the sauna was very hot. Too hot for several of the other guests to use. Front desk personnel were very friendly and made me feel welcome. My room was fairly large for European standards and I had a great view and a window that opened.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good central hotel for Budapest sights

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Good position, modern, clean and comfortable hotel:
Cons: Wardrobe part of the room is a bit dark: Doesn't have a swimming pool.
Location: Located about 15 mins walk from the Chain Bridge and bus stops 3 mins away.
Everything you need for a comfortable stay in Budapest. Rooms are clean and have all the necessary: Bar fridge: tea / coffee making facilities: Lovely big beds: good pillows: good choice of breakfast foods: Good hairdryer and magnifying mirror in the bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Comfortable hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Hotel was nice. Central location. AC was a plus. The only issue I had was with the noise coming from the downstairs bar. Because they built all the rooms to overlook the center of the lobby - the sound from crowds drinking echoed through the entire building. Very poor planning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Excellent hotel close to everything

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Everything
Location: Museums, restaurants, bridges,etc...
This is my second stay at NH Budapest City and again they did an amazing job. The room was clean, the air worked and the staff was more than helpful. This hotel is off Svent Istvan utca and there is a tram that runs down it so easily accessible to many things. The Margaret bridge is couple blocks down, which gives amazing views of the Danube and Buda. The museums, train station and restaurants are within a walking distance. The only issue I have is I had the do not disturb sign on my door for the three days and everyday my room was cleaned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Couldn't fault it.

Posted Jul 5, 2016
The hotel was clean and had everything we needed. Good location too. Stayed at the NH hotel before in Berlin and was happy with our stay there so thought we would try the Budapest one and we enjoyed this one just as much. One thing that was slightly off putting was ocassionaly there were homeless people hanging about on the benches in the courtyard outside who would approach us and had I been staying alone I would have felt very uncomfortable. No criticisms of the hotel itself though!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hungary

Nice hotel in Budapest Downtown

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Rooms
Location: It's close to some very good restaurants and city highlights.
I spent one night here on a business trip. The staff was extremely helpful. The hotel is really nice and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby, UK

Excellent location, loved the hotel!

Posted Dec 14, 2015
Brilliant location - you can get anywhere within ten minutes. The hotel in itself was very good. One little disappointment though, I misjudged the size of the blacony - It was barely enough for one person. Apart from this, everything was perfect. The room service was superb and the food was delicious. Will definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Not 4 star

Posted Sep 20, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: breakfast, old rooms, cleaning, toiletries
Pros. THe hotel staff were lovely. Aside from the breakfast older male staff member who snickered when I asked him to take a photograph (and he took 1 fuzzy one at that!). The location is pretty good. The pillows are comfortable Cons. The airconditioning is noisy and not cold enough The bed smells funny. The toiletries are not great. There is no conditioner, no shaving kit, no shower cap, toothbrush etc etc. There is no complimentary water The toiletries are stocked not daily. I found a cockroach in my bathroom, after calling front desk I was told that they would come upstairs to check the room. 20minutes of waiting later I called again. THe lady said she was "too busy" to check and apologized. After flying for 16 hours I was pretty disappointed overall with NH.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very close to parliament

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Nice spot
Poor wifi, I had to print some tickets, reception couldn't help me. Fitness room with just few weights, one treadmill and one bike.