Ratings based on 1,728 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Very nice hotel centrally located

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Great location with lots of dining, sight seeing and shopping options close by
Friendly efficient staff, hotel is well kept. Easily walkable area and lots of public transit options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Gian

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Everythng. Recommend you request a river view room.
Cons: Nothing. Quite lovely.
Our room has the most spectacular view ever. We overlook the Danube and, on the other side, is the castle area. We can also see the famous us Chain Brdge. Stunning. As for our room, it is comfortable and quite spacious for a European hotel. It is clean and has all the amenities we need. While breakfast is rather pricy, it is extensive and very good. The loccation is excellent. One can easily walk across the bridge to the Buda side (hotel is on the Pest side). It is also an easy ten minute walk to the magnificent Parliament. I recommend you book a tour through Parlament well before you leave home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Update rooms... Outlets replace rooom carpet
Pleasant stay. Good breakfast Good location............
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cluj Napoca

excellent hotel, close to everything

Posted Apr 11, 2017
We booked a Club room with a river view and ot was totally worth it. Best views of the castle especially at night. The staff was really really welcoming and nice, we received champagne, coffee and cakes in the Sofitel Club upon checking in. The room was cleaned 2 times a day and it was spotless. And the bed was the most confortable bed I ever slept in. Also the breakfast had a rich variety so plenty of dishes to chose from. One thing that was not so great was the AC, even when set on 0 it was still running, so the room was a bit cold. Besides that I could say that our 3 day stay was amazing. I would definitely book this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Japan

Nice hotel and convenient

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Good facilities and friendly staff. Great view of Buda castle from our room.
Cons: Breakfast could be priced at a more moderate level
We had a very good time both at the hotel and sightseeing in Budapest. We also enjoyed a wondeful dinner at Gundel restaurant which is first class. We will always have fond memories of our stay in Budapest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Beautiful Danube Views - centrally located

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Location Comfort Staff Facilities - my husband enjoyed the sauna in the spa
Location: Central location, on the river, very close to the Chain Bridge. We walked everywhere!
My husband and I had two nights at the Sofitel during a recent visit. It was perfectly located, very central and we could easily walk to all the sights we wanted to see. The staff were more than helpful, polite and friendly. the rooms were spacious and clean, with very comfortable beds and down pillows. We chose the luxury room with the danube view and it was well worth the money. We had access to the executive club and enjoyed cocktails, breakfast and snacks there. We would go back in a heartbeat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Exceptional staff; genuinely friendly and attentive.
Great experience with exceptionally pleasant and competent staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Really good hotel, perfect location

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Cons: Management of the breakfast service, better organisation required. Food/drink on offer very good
Really good hotel, spa a good way to end a day of walking around and sightseeing. Only had breakfast at the hotel, food itself was good just needed a better management of service/organisation. Staff always attentive and concierge always around to answer any questions. Room had a view overlooking Danube, Chain Bridge and Castle. Can't recommend this enough!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

I had room with river view, breakfast included

Posted Mar 29, 2017
I had the most wonderful experience, never new such a beautiful city existed and hotel was in the right spot for sight seeing!! Excellent!! Had a great time and would recommend to all the hotel, staff, the whole Expedia trip, was brilliant with my transfers too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

In a prime location contemporary style.

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Extremely clean, attentive staff and good food.
Cons: Room temperature control due to the position of the room facing south and no air conditioning.
Location: Excellent location close to all main attractions.
Due to the time of year the hotel did not have their air conditioning working. Therefore it made the room a little uncomfortable due to the unseasonable warm weather.