Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
for Everyoneby A verified traveler from Hong Kong
warm family stayPosted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Convenient, lovely family style , nothing to complaint.
Cons: Parking space need a little bit skill. But the owner can assist if you have difficulty.
Location: Look like peaceful residential area, close to police station.
Warm, safe, owner is very helpful. Not fast from city center if you have car.
for Everyoneby A verified traveler from D
Fantastic overall experience.Posted Oct 24, 2016
If you're looking for a quiet retreat away from the hustle and bustle of the city center, this hotel is for you! It's run by a husband and wife who are unbelievable hosts and caretakers, they'll take care of any questions or problems you may have in a heartbeat. The hotel is easily accessible by bus and you are given a complete rundown on exactly how, when, and where to access the public transport to access the city. The rooms were spacious and impeccably clean, did not have a single complaint with my stay and neither will you!
for Everyoneby A verified traveler from NJ, usa
Lovely inn on the outskirts of the Buda hillsPosted Aug 28, 2016
Sylvie and her husband work very hard to ensure you have a pleasant stay. The inn is peaceful and has a lovely garden in the back. Public transportation is nearby and parking is easy. The inn is kept very clean. Overall a wonderful place to stay.
for Everyoneby A verified traveler
Very friendly staffPosted Jul 7, 2016 on Wotif
We arrived quite late with no notice of eta and the staff were still very friendly and polite to us. Was a very quick stay as we left early the next day but was very pleasant
by Helge Andre from Norway
Excellent, good value for moneyPosted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
Good communication to city center, wonderful and very helpful staff, quiet and nice location, free and safe parking
by A verified traveler
Value for MoneyPosted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
Clean room, but not so convenient location. Staff was nice and helpful.
for Everyoneby A verified traveler from Orange County, CA
Excellent ManagerPosted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: After being in hotels mostly in Europe it was nice to have the personal attention of a very helpful hostess.
Location: Very convenient to a bus station that takes you directly into town. Quiet neighborhood. We were looking for something close(ish) to the airport.
We arrived earlier than planned and were able to get in our room right away. I can't say enough about the manager (owner?). She spoke great English and was very helpful and thorough with directions on how to get around town and where to pick up a tour. We were able to get the Hop On/Hop Off Tour Bus package through her, which was the best deal in Europe!! The room was comfortable and clean.
by A verified traveler from CZ
Far from the city, additional cost of tourist tax!Posted Dec 25, 2014
Pros: The owner of the hotel is well informated about transportation, could be sometimes wrong in an information what one may do during his stay!
Cons: Definitely ventilation in the bathroom, the smell was really terrible. Especially during the winter!!!!
Location: Center about 30 minutes away as I said, no interesting things in a walking distance.
I was actually expecting what I saw on the pictures, which means really nice comfy rooms, with a nice bathroom but actuallly I would say it's the opposite. The rooms are equipated from oldies, old curtains and also a wood floor without any carpet. The television is as small as a common screen from the laptop and the bathroom was really smelly. The bathroom has got no ventilation, only a small window which is impossible to open during a winter. The shower is very small. Wi-fi is not reaching all the rooms and I have to point that our room was located in only the 2nd floor so I cannot really imagine other floors. To the wifi can maximally connect one cell phone per room which is not so comfortable, and not always. The breakfast includes all the ingredients of a common breakfast that one can take at home (ham, butter, cheese, vegetables, orange juice, jam, honey, coffee, tee, yoghurt, milk, fruits, hazelnut sweet cream). What I really disliked though that the breakfast room doesn't exist, there is only a space in front of the reception with a huge table where are supposed to sit all the guests. The owner of the hotel is receiving calls time to time so there's not privacy at all. To visit this hotel I wouldn't recommend to take with you a huge luggage, because the aisle in the stairs is really small so you may not fit there. The hotel is located in Buda site, with not sightseeings at all. The travelling with metro and bus takes about 30 mins!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2015 by Szilvia Aradi, Hotel Management
Dear Lydie and Roland, Thank you for your comment! We are sorry, that you did not have a pleasant stay in our pension. We had a long, private discussion about your problems before, so now I only would like to clarify a few things. You have been informed twice (once by me and once by Expedia) before your arrival about the tourist tax, what all of our guests need to pay, so it's clearly visible on Expedia.com's site and which other guests never had any problem with before. You tried to point out in your private e-mail, that I made you pay something, which is not correct or logical in your opinion. The 11th district Council of Budapest, where our pension is located, takes 400HUF (around 1.6 EUR)/person/night city tax, what we have to transfer to them every month, so I can not change this amount, as it's compulsory by the law, and our invoice shows it as well, what you received from us. It does not matter, if I include it in our prices or show it separately, you would have payed the same, bargain price at your departure day and we still have to transfer this tax to the Council in the end. You have been informed also about the problem we had with the draining system in your room on your arrival day, you were very understanding, as these things can always happen in places, where many people are at the same time. It is very strange to me, that you still experienced bad smell in the bathroom, as the mechanic professionally cleaned the system to solve the problem and we also made sure, that everything is all right before your arrival. We clean the draining system in the house in a regular basis, so it's a pity that you did not mention this at all during your stay, we could have checked it again, as we control cleaning with great attention. We are also sorry, that you had a problem with our WI-FI, unfortunately this is a common problem of many hotels/pensions with higher floors. We bought the system 6 months ago, however for some reason new modems can require restarting from time to time. As we know, that this problem can happen sometimes, we are giving this service for free of charge to our guests. Our pictures does not show our recent renovation, which include the painting of the whole house, what we also need to do regulary and changing the carpets to wooden floor in all of our rooms. I am sorry, that you did not see this prior to your arrival on Expedia's site, but apart from that, all of our rooms and bathrooms have the same size, same blackout curtains, what we carefully chose against the light. In your room we bought a new flat screen television, what you could not see on the pictures either, but it has the same size, as the previous one on the picture you saw. We are sorry, that our style did not meet your expectations. We also made a decision before the renovation to have wooden floors everywhere, as carpet gives more comfort to a room, but we are a pension, not a home, we need to think about hygene first. As it's a family pension, we do not wish to keep the distance from our guests, especially in the breakfast area, as we would like to make sure, that if something is missing from the buffet table, we can fill it up straight away, so we must be there, if a guest needs something.This is also a common problem in many hotels, so we wish to avoid that.The breakfast is until 10 a.m every day, you almost had it at the last minute on your last day, so there were no other guests around, I'm sure. I had to handle a few phone calls as well, as after 10 a.m we need to deal with other people's reservations too. I would like to clarify also, that we have three big tables in the area, not one, so I will make sure, that we will upload the pictures of it as soon as possible. At your arrival I informed you, when you can have breakfast in the mornings,so much later when you asked me again about it, I got confused a bit and suddenly thought, that the bargain price you had, did not include the breakfast. When I realized, that you had a 3 nights stay, I corrected myself, as the discounted price includes the meal after 3 nights. If this meant to you, that I don't know, what type of deal each guests have, I am really sorry, I just did not remember how many nights you booked straight away, as we deal with many people each day. Finally, I would like to make sure, that other guests understand the difference between a greenbelt, quiet neighbourhood and the city center. We wish to continue our work in a quiet area, as we believe, that sacrificing 25-30 minutes time for travelling, is not that much, if you would like to have a quiet night in return. We have a bus stop about 3 minutes walking distance from our pension and the bus runs very often, why many of our guests think, it's an easy access to reach.The nearest metro station is about 10 minutes with the same bus, but travelling with a metro is even faster. We made sure, that Expedia.com clearly shows our location on Buda side, which is the oldest, historical side of the city, so "no sightseeings" on Buda side, is simply not true. The Castle complex of Buda can be reached within 25-30 minutes, which is part of the world Heritage by Unesco. Guests with huge luggages are also welcome, as there is always someone to help them, if needed. We apologize again for any inconvenience we caused you, we really hope, you will return to our city and find the place and conditions you desire. Kindest regards, Szilvia Aradi General Manager
by A verified traveler
Very HelpfulPosted Dec 16, 2014 on Hotels
Very helpful staff and really cute little place. Easy access to the centre with bus and/or metro.
for Everyoneby A verified traveler from Belgrade, Serbia
Great accomodation close to Budapest city centerPosted Nov 12, 2014
I had a great time in Budapest, and this accomodation was a huge part of the trip. The hosts were wonderful, room was very clean and it was definitely a great deal.