Ratings based on 1,058 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chico, CA

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2017
It's was a nice stay, however I was on the third floor and it was above/next to the roof top, so for the length of my stay, all I could hear was the A.C. and the fans turn on and off, regardless if the bedroom window was closed or open. Besides that, the staff was friendly and quick to help.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Punitive Cancellation / Change Policy of the hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Location is good
Cons: Revise the punitive cancellation / change policy
Location: Nearby the Santa Ana Freeway
Punitive Cancellation / Change Policy of the hotel The punitive cancellation / change policy of the hotel causes me never to stay again or refer others to this property. The hotel punished me a night's stay for a minor error of an overbooking extra night. I overbooked an extra night for four (4) nights instead of three (3) nights. I overbooked on Expedia and learned about the extra fourth night during check-in. I booked an Expedia "refundable" rate that's higher than the "non-refundable" rate and agreed to the cancellation / change policy stating that "review of this hotel is due to and only found out the error property charges such fees in accordance with its own policies, the cost will be passed on to you. Holiday Inn La Mirada charges the following cancellation and change fees. Cancellations or changes made after 6:00pm (Pacific Daylight Time (US & Canada); Tijuana) on Oct 3: During check-in I asked the hotel to change from four (4) to three (3) nights and heard it wasn't possible because a 3rd party (Expedia) booking was made. I called Expedia the next day and the agent spoke to hotel staff member "Joshua" who stated the hotel policy didn't allow a change to the booking. The punitive cancellation / change policy of the hotel along with the "different story" between Expedia and hotel causes me never to stay again or refer others to this property.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent Hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Cons: The fixtures and room amenities. Everything seemed very dated and worn
Location: Some shopping and eating nearby. Most of the popular attractions were 30-45 minute drive away
Location was a bit out of the way, but they price comapred to other hotels in the areas wee wanted to stay was relatively lower. Overall staff was pleasant and friendly while the room was decent. Like most reviews i saw previsouly to booking the room was the overall feel. The room was older and was in need of a face lift so to speak. It was clean, just felt dated adn old. The chair and ottoman we had showed obvious signs of wear and the light fixtures needed to be replaced because tge switches you had to fiddle with in order for them to stay on. Also, the thermostat in the room did not control anything.... you had to use the switches on the unit under the windo to make it work. Overall decent stay, just need some updating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield, CA

Perfect distance to my work and Disneyland!

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Cons: Their breakfast was not very good. Overcook potatoes, biscuits and watery gravy! Yuck.
The hotel employees were extraordinary friendly and willing to help me with any of my needs throughout my stay. Their shuttle, at no extra cost, provided me transportation to Downtown Disney after work and picked me up. It was clean and I especially loved the flavored water they always had in the lobby.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very dirty, unfriendly staff

Posted Sep 29, 2017
The man at the front desk was unwelcoming. The hotel room is very dated, the shower is old and chipping, there was no fan in the bathroom. The tub floor was dirty and there was a hair in it. The shower head was rusted and was dirty. We had to ask for a microwave and fridge, which when they brought us was very dirty and old. The lighting in the room was very dingy. The wifi was terrible it would randomly stop working or slow down. All in all I am very disappointed in this Holiday Inn, and would not recommend to anyone I know.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Cons: Cleaning staff
Your cleaning staff left food and trash in room and did not restock the room with coffee.Dirty fork sat there for three days in front of TV. Other wise the beds are comfortable and restaurants had good food on dinner menu.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay in room 803!

Posted Sep 25, 2017
We go often. Upon checkin I was told " oh u booked outside of us correct ?" I said yes Expedia and she said oh ok. But I instantly thought " is that a bad thing? We always do!" So she processed me like usual and off to our room we went. Old, ran down, non maintained, just a funky place to stay for a few nights. Every other time is has been great. Felt like we got that room because we used Expedia to book and the motel was not full. Parking lot was actually less full the usual so we knew that room was given to us specifically. Avoid room 803!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Decent hotel right off freeway

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Overall the hotel was fine. There are just a few things that were misleading when I booked through Expedia. First, when I was selecting a hotel, I always look at the amenities. One of the amenities listed was breakfast. I assumed that meant free breakfast. The next morning when we went to go eat, they said breakfast was not free. They said we could have purchased a meal package, but our deal through Expedia didn't include breakfast. I am not sure if Expedia or Holiday Inn is to blame for that. So we went to their restaurant and purchased the breakfast buffet. It was $12.95 and a disappointment. The scrambled eggs tasted as if they were a powdered mix or microwave kind. I didn't expect that from an actual restaurant. The potatoes were overlooked. They kept running out of things and were slow to replenish them. The service was very slow. There was also some construction going on that was not mentioned at the time of booking. Finally, the pool was a little dirty
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Weekend getaway

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Easy check in. Love the bar in the lobby. Left something in the room and called back 3 days later and they still had it. Very honest housekeepers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary

The staff was great. Hotel was ok.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
The staff was great ,from reception to the house keepers.The room was ok .The air condition was to noise never stopped running but you get used to it. There was no exhaust fan on the bathroom.Two nights we had people knocking our door after 12:00 am.Overall stay was ok.