Ratings based on 1,400 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night only

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Fine to rest your head. Friendly and helpful front desk
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by Richard, Hotel Management
Dear Guest; Thank you! It was great to hear you had a good stay and we hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from beuna park ca

Posted Jan 3, 2018
The checking was good . The staff at the front desk was very cordial
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by Richard, Hotel Management
Dear Guest; Thank you for the AMAZING star rating, hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from French Polynesia

Hotel close to everything

Posted Dec 29, 2017
Pros: Hotel close to everything.
Cons: Room service must be done a little earlier not at 4pm
Location: Close to Knotts Berry farm, Target store, Dennys, freeway
Very nice hotel but it is showing its oldness. Like many California motel, rooms on bottom floor are sometimes very noisy because of guests walking on the upper floor.(heavy footsteps). The free breakfeast is a little light.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2017 by Richard, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Howard Johnson Buena Park, CA. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment about location and its very nice of you to detail the area. However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the room cleaning times and breakfast experience. We will address these concern. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. Sincerely, Richard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DE

Very close to Disney

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Good hotel for a very great price. Had a good stay. Very close to disney.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by Richard, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel, we hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarasota FL

Good value for the money.

Posted Dec 21, 2017
Pros: Price
Cons: Continental breakfast - add fresh fruit
Location: Knottsberry Farm, Disney and LA all near by
We stay here on our yearly visit to Buena Park to visit family. The price is right for our needs. We are only there to sleep and shower. Never had an issue. Rooms appeared to be somewhat updated since our visit last year. Basically if your looking for a place to put your head down, leave yourself money for your visit this is the place to stay. Bed, shower and light continental breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by Richard, Hotel Management
Dear Patty, Thank you for your AMAZING review. We are really proud to hear that we were able to accommodate your travel needs and service was as you expected, and it is also very kind of you to detail your stay so others reading our reviews can really get a feel for our hotel. Thank you for choosing The Buena Park Howard Johnson for your travel destination and we are looking forward to welcome you and your family back soon! Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Dec 20, 2017
Pros: Convenient to were we were visiting.
I was disappointed because I was not allowed to change the credit card I booked the stay with to another that I found was more advantageous to me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from riverside ca

Hotel was close to the Pirates dinner adventure

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Very friendly staff. She helped us with early check in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Richard, Hotel Management
We are thrilled to hear you were impressed with your accommodations and that the location was perfect. We appreciate your valuable feedback and look forward to sharing your review with our team. We hope you will join us again in the near future. Regards, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Don't stay here, it's so dirty and gross. You can hear everything from room near you. Not worth your money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buena Park, CA

Nice

Posted Nov 11, 2017
This hotel is very nice, The bed is very comfortable. The maid service is very goodThe entire staff is very helpful and courteous. I love staying at Howard Johnson.🙂🙂🙂
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Richie, Hotel Management
Dear:Gloriana, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Howard Johnson Buena Park. We are so happy to hear your stay went well and it is also very kind of you to detail your stay so others reading our reviews can really get a feel for our hotel. . We thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon. Kind Regards, Richard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Castro Valley, CA

No hot water during the day.Shower am & evening.

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: What I liked about Howard Johnson Buena Park, was the free breakfast, close to Disneyland and Knotts, safe environment, ample parking, low price.
Cons: Improvement: I would add bananas for breakfast and turn on the hot water during the day. But if that increases the price, then I could do without .
Location: Nearby is Claim Jumper restaurant. We split a full rack of ribs dinner that came with a salad bar and sides for an unbelievable low price of about $21
Howard Johnson Buena Park parking had good height clearance for our pickup truck RV camper. The make-your-own waffles were delicious. There was milk, orange juice, Raisin Bran cereal, but no fresh fruit for the free breakfast. The microwave and refrigerator worked. The room was clean. There were no bed bugs. The area felt safe. We did not use the in-room safe, iron, or hair dryer. The free internet worked fine from our room. There were no hidden fees like the "resort fee" some hotels are starting to charge. There is no hot water during the day, so you need to shower in the morning or evening. We stayed for 2 days. On both days, I called the front desk about the hot water. The maintenance guy showed up immediately. He confirmed that the hot water was cold and went to the boiler room to fix. On both days, the front desk and maintenance guy tried really hard to fix, but couldn't fix the hot water. Despite the lack of hot water, we love this motel and will return with our kids.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Richie, Hotel Management
Dear Frugal, Thank you for your AMAZING review. We are really proud to hear that we were able to accommodate your travel needs and service was as you expected. on the other hand my sincere apologize for the hot water issue, Thank you for choosing The Buena Park Howard Johnson for your travel destination and we are looking forward to welcome you and your family back soon! Sincerely, Richard