Ratings based on 1,674 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Don't stay here, it's so dirty and gross. You can hear everything from room near you. Not worth your money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buena Park, CA

Nice

Posted Nov 11, 2017
This hotel is very nice, The bed is very comfortable. The maid service is very goodThe entire staff is very helpful and courteous. I love staying at Howard Johnson.🙂🙂🙂
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Richie, Hotel Management
Dear:Gloriana, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Howard Johnson Buena Park. We are so happy to hear your stay went well and it is also very kind of you to detail your stay so others reading our reviews can really get a feel for our hotel. . We thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon. Kind Regards, Richard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Castro Valley, CA

No hot water during the day.Shower am & evening.

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: What I liked about Howard Johnson Buena Park, was the free breakfast, close to Disneyland and Knotts, safe environment, ample parking, low price.
Cons: Improvement: I would add bananas for breakfast and turn on the hot water during the day. But if that increases the price, then I could do without .
Location: Nearby is Claim Jumper restaurant. We split a full rack of ribs dinner that came with a salad bar and sides for an unbelievable low price of about $21
Howard Johnson Buena Park parking had good height clearance for our pickup truck RV camper. The make-your-own waffles were delicious. There was milk, orange juice, Raisin Bran cereal, but no fresh fruit for the free breakfast. The microwave and refrigerator worked. The room was clean. There were no bed bugs. The area felt safe. We did not use the in-room safe, iron, or hair dryer. The free internet worked fine from our room. There were no hidden fees like the "resort fee" some hotels are starting to charge. There is no hot water during the day, so you need to shower in the morning or evening. We stayed for 2 days. On both days, I called the front desk about the hot water. The maintenance guy showed up immediately. He confirmed that the hot water was cold and went to the boiler room to fix. On both days, the front desk and maintenance guy tried really hard to fix, but couldn't fix the hot water. Despite the lack of hot water, we love this motel and will return with our kids.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Richie, Hotel Management
Dear Frugal, Thank you for your AMAZING review. We are really proud to hear that we were able to accommodate your travel needs and service was as you expected. on the other hand my sincere apologize for the hot water issue, Thank you for choosing The Buena Park Howard Johnson for your travel destination and we are looking forward to welcome you and your family back soon! Sincerely, Richard
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glendale Az

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Check in was fast and room was good.Breakfast was minimal but goid
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Richard, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Howard Johnson Buena Park, CA. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon. Kind Regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las Vegas,Nevada

Close to knotts berry farm

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Nice quiet hotel. Definitely needs an upgrade. Tub and sink outdated and needed better cleaning. Breakfast was good for the price, could use adding some type of protein.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wa. state

great staff

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: location, location, location!
Cons: some renovations and more variety in breakfast choices
Location: Our class reunion was held at a restaurant near by. Knott's Berry Farm and other attractions,
we were in the middle of refinancing our house and the staff was very helpful in receiving faxes and returning the papers to the bank. Also whoever was at the desk was always friendly and very kind.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Richard, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Howard Johnson Buena Park We are so happy to hear your stay went well and it is also very kind of you to detail your stay so others reading our reviews can really get a feel for our hotel. We are definitely trying new things with out breakfast and we do hope to have it down soon. We thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon. Kind Regards,
3 out of 5
by Rogelio

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you! It was great to hear you had a good stay and we hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
by michelle

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are thrilled to see the star rating given, We appreciate your valuable feedback and look forward to sharing your star rating with our team. We hope you will join us again in the near future. Regards, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Again

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
The lobby is closed at night, so you have to go to a check in window that is cramped in behind a soda machine and smells like the spot everyone takes their smoke breaks. The entire complex smells like a smoke wherever you walk. At least the room didn't. The beds were hard and creaked whenever you moved. The walls are scuffed and worn, stains on the ceilings, the curtains don't close all the way, so I used a hair tie to secure them to block out the horrible view of dirt and a wall, with a bright light right outside our window. You could hear the plumbing from baths, showers, sinks, and toilets from every other room around when they would turn theirs on. I didn't even go an look at the breakfast, because I was afraid if my room was so unkempt, of what the conditions of the food being prepped in would be.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Please accept our apologies for the unpleasant experience you had with us. I will let our housekeeping and maintenance department know about the issues you mentioned to perfect those areas.Our breakfast is not a hot nor they cook any items, it always passes inspection in cleanliness and the breakfast staff uses gloves to handle all items, We hope you will give us another opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Richard
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hemet ca

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Very dirty bathroom, the drain was clogged but location was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Rich, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay. My sincere apologies for the condition of the bathroom. next time don't hesitate to let the front desk staff know about any issues to execute the situation or upgrade your room. We have a big goal: to provide great guest service and keep everything sparkly and clean, while we’re at it. I’m so sorry we fell short of your expectations. The next time you’re back in town, let me know! I would love the chance to personally make sure your next stay is an all-out success. We really do want to win you over. Sincerely; Richard