Ratings based on 1,653 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glendale Az

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Check in was fast and room was good.Breakfast was minimal but goid
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Richard, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Howard Johnson Buena Park, CA. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon. Kind Regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las Vegas,Nevada

Close to knotts berry farm

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Nice quiet hotel. Definitely needs an upgrade. Tub and sink outdated and needed better cleaning. Breakfast was good for the price, could use adding some type of protein.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wa. state

great staff

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: location, location, location!
Cons: some renovations and more variety in breakfast choices
Location: Our class reunion was held at a restaurant near by. Knott's Berry Farm and other attractions,
we were in the middle of refinancing our house and the staff was very helpful in receiving faxes and returning the papers to the bank. Also whoever was at the desk was always friendly and very kind.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Richard, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Howard Johnson Buena Park We are so happy to hear your stay went well and it is also very kind of you to detail your stay so others reading our reviews can really get a feel for our hotel. We are definitely trying new things with out breakfast and we do hope to have it down soon. We thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon. Kind Regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hemet ca

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Very dirty bathroom, the drain was clogged but location was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Rich, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay. My sincere apologies for the condition of the bathroom. next time don't hesitate to let the front desk staff know about any issues to execute the situation or upgrade your room. We have a big goal: to provide great guest service and keep everything sparkly and clean, while we’re at it. I’m so sorry we fell short of your expectations. The next time you’re back in town, let me know! I would love the chance to personally make sure your next stay is an all-out success. We really do want to win you over. Sincerely; Richard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location excellent staff

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Check in and was easy , staff looked in to special request and did their best to accommodate. Location was easy to find.
5 out of 5
by Ivonne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SFO

stay for 8 days

Posted Jul 16, 2017
I like the breakfast time 6AM -9AM. Hot coffee, hot and cold water 6-9 AM is a plus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Rich. F, Hotel Management
We are thrilled to hear you were impressed with your accommodations. We appreciate your valuable feedback and look forward to sharing your review with our team. We hope you will join us again in the near future. Regards, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by unknown from unknown

Business Travel

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
Good Price for the area, but Get Breakfast somewhere else. 5 police cars out front when I arrived with two in handcuffs sitting on curb while police searched the van. Hotel management not happy about police action out in front of hotel. Rooms was clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ok for the stop---stayed before

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: for age ok
Cons: nothing
Location: simple
boys locked the safe with toys inside----staff on the spot to open
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by GMrichie, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Buena Park Howard Johnson. We are so happy to hear your stay went well, We thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon. Kind Regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from buena park

Needs Improvement

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Cons: To remove carpet stains
Location: Ok
Carpet stains .....not planning to go back down......I fill needs sterlize the room
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by GMrichie, Hotel Management
Please accept our apologies for the unpleasant experience in the room. I will let our housekeeping and maintenance department know about the issues you mentioned to perfect those areas. We hope you will give us another opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Richard