Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
43% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Just needs a little more work

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Owners friendly and available.
Cons: Update bathroom, lighting, flooring.
Location: Convenience store 2 blocks away, full service bar and restaurants 4 blocks away, both an easy walk. McDonald's and Subway nearby.
If you like a sterile chain hotel room, this is not your place. The room and furnishings are not brand new. However, this is a family run business and the owners are easygoing. You will like this place if you don't like the regimented atmosphere in a corporate hotel. My dog was happy and welcome, with easy access to my car at the front door for dog journeys. The difference between 4 and 5 stars for me are a few details that can be easily fixed: replace carpet with vinyl/wood floors, replace battered bathroom fixtures, redo dingy lighting and light switches. I would stay here again but just a $100/room investment with the kind of things you can get cheap from Home Depot (sinks, toilet seats, light fixtures/switches, floor tiles) will make this motel very nice indeed. Good bar, Wallbangers, just a short walk away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Salida stay

Posted Aug 2, 2016
We got a great night sleep. It was not fancy but had all the amenities we needed.
5 out of 5
by Leandra from Denver

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
Great motel for the price... dated but super clean!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ogden, ut

Unwelcoming

Posted Oct 23, 2015
The clerk, owner?, was indifferent and cold. She was more interested in sharing rules than being hospitable. The bed was comfortable but we could hear entire conversations in the adjacent rooms. It was not worth the $95/ night.
4 out of 5
by edgar

Posted Aug 30, 2015 on Hotels
On old style motel, it was a decent place to stay for a night. Easy biking distance to downtown stores and restaurants. Didn't try the hot tub.
5 out of 5
by Cecilia from Riverside CA

Awesome stay and staff!

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
This was a great hotel! We were in Salida for a festival and showed up after closing to the hotel and the owners were still so nice and helpful! Thank you so much for a great night and beautiful city!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Went to breakfast and they were already. Leaning the room at 9AM Che k out Tim was 11AM!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: nothing
Old, not very well kept. Cheap motel feel at far too high prices. Odd characters as well, but it calmed down after two police cars showed up at 11 pm.
1 out of 5
by Howard

never again

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Hotels
Pleasant encounter with staff. Everything down hill from there. Unusable, run down hot tub in the middle of a small, congested parking lot. Window unit in the bathroom for ac that didn't cool the bedroom. Electrical outlet overloaded with tv, fridge, microwave, coffee pot all on the only outlet in the bedroom. Dingy feel to room. No deadbolt or chain on door. Highly overpriced.
5 out of 5
by Laura from Lakewood, Co

A little something different in Salida

Posted Jul 21, 2015 on Hotels
This is a good motel, and good people run it. I spent an evening visiting with them on the deck in the middle of the court yard. It's not the most modern motel, but I prefer the non-chain places to stay, because they're more interesting. My room had a comfortable bed, hardwood floors, a nice shower with a tall shower head (I'm 5'11" and didn't have to duck). It even had a closet that was big enough to store my bicycle. I read the other reviews, and they seemed to be nit-picky. If you want a homogenized experience that's just like every other hotel, pick any of the big chains. If you like something different and unique, this is a great place to stay. I even had a few pleasant conversations with my motel neighbors. I will definitely stay there again.