Ratings based on 191 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Listing over 6 week in advance.

Posted Jun 13, 2017
When I arrived the Management would not honor rate 92. for 3 nights made with Expedia. They said I must pay 149. for the entire 3 nights whether I stayed or not. He said computer was down after the staff had given me the room according to requested room I was to have from Expedia booking. Walked away saying I could not understand. I did stay but contacted Credit Card used when I got home. So they did not honor your Booking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2017 by Mike, Owner, Hotel Management
Huey, You didn't understand then and still don't. You looked at a site that rotates photos of different rooms but displays the price of our lowest priced rooms. You saw a photo of our Deluxe Queen Cottage which was $149.00, but the rates being displayed were for our Single Queen which was $99.00. The page you printed off and presented to me as the confirmation page was the advertising page that showed a photo of our Deluxe Queen followed by 3 prices which were for a single queen room. Expedia $99.00, Hotels.com $99.00 and Travelocity $99.00. You then called Expedia and told them you wanted to book "the room in the photo" which was the Cottage. They booked it and sent you a confirmation that showed the price at $149.00. When you arrived and I showed you that the page you presented as a confirmation was the Advertising page, I suggested you check your email for the real confirmation page. You refused to check convinced that you were right. I told you to call expedia and confirm with them what you reserved and what the rates were. When you asked to cancel, I advised you of the 48 hour cancellation policy also in the confirmation you refused to look at. Sorry you were confused. Mike
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2017
was in town for a wedding, everything I needed was close and convenient...The town was very friendly and trying to please...the town very clean and pleasing, the hotel and my room, was exceptional in all areas of concern...I hope to return someday.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Mike, Owner, Hotel Management
Anonymous, Thanx for your High Rating of our little motel. Have a great Day, Mike
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Nice and Quiet

Posted May 29, 2017
We stayed for 2 nights over Memorial Weekend. The man at the front desk was very friendly and check in was fast. The sign said "No Vacancy", but you couldn't prove it by me: it was SO quiet. Highly recommend a room on the back side away from the road. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We used the hot tub on the second day: it was perfect after driving and hiking all day. I would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by Mike, Owner, Hotel Management
K Thanks soo much for your High 5 rating of our little motel, the Salida Inn and for taking the time to wrote a short review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again sometime, Have a great day, Mike
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 10, 2017
Friendly staff, easy to get to location, independent outfit.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Mike, Owner, Hotel Management
Anonymous, Thanx for your High 5 Rating and short review of your stay with us
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel stay

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Very nice room. Breakfast included fresh fruit which is unusual.
Cons: Better sound proofing.
Hotel was nicely updated and staff was friendly. Road was very loud and poor sound proofing in room. It was as if our window was open even though all was tightly closed. Could hear neighbors and doors slamming very clearly. It would probably be fine if you were in one of the accommodations behind the main building that faces the highway.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Mike, Owner, Hotel Management
Anonymous, Thanx for the compliments on our room and breakfast. Sorry the room was a little noisy for you. Most of our guests report little if any road noise since we installed all new windows. The guest in your room for 4 days prior to you had a 2 month old infant with them and never mentioned any problem with noise. Even though you gave an anonymous review, it was easy to figure out what room you were in since you were the only Expedia reservation that day. What is interesting is there was only one room next to yours and between that room and yours is a masonry fireplace. The other side is an outside concrete stair case so my guess is that the people and kids on the one side must have been really loud. I sure wish you had called the office and let us know it was bothersome to you. We would have called the room and asked them to quiet everyone down. A really simple solution had we been advised. May I suggest that any problem you face no matter where you stay, you let someone in management know so we can fix the problem before it becomes annoying.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montrose

Quiet and clean.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Clean and quiet.
Cons: The outside isn't very impressive, but the room itself was! Maybe work on the outdoor aspect.
The room seemed like it had just been renovated from stem to stern. Everything was fresh and clean and new. Easy parking and pleasant staff. No smell of smoking best of all our room had 2 windows so you could get a flow of air. Will go back there for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by mIKE, Hotel Management
Pam,' Thanx for the High rating and for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. If you get a chance, I would love to know what you think needs remodeling on the outside. In the last 2 years, we have spent well over $100,000 on the outside including the new custom railings, new stack stone work, new hardy plank siding, new sunburst façade, new walkway carpet, new windows, new stucco on the columns. Lots of guests comment that the outside needs work but no body explains what they mean. I wish some body would tell me what they mean.' Thanx again Mike
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Cute hotel, old school charm. Mattress was average, great pillows.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Mike, Hotel Management
Anonymous, Thanx for the high rating. Glad you liked our pillows. Sorry you thought the mattress was just average? Without exaggeration, 99% of other reviewers love our pillow top mattresses. Thanx again Mike
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas

good experience

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: rooms
Very nice clean remodeled rooms. Very nice staff. Comfortable beds and good bkfst
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by Mike, Owner, Hotel Management
Michelle, Thanx for your High 5 rating of our little motel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Have a great day and come back and see us again some time. Thanx again, Mike
4 out of 5
by Cynthia

Beautiful setting-okay room

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
The bed was very comfortable and the room nicely decorated. The noise from the road in front of the hotel was noticeable and even though the room was smoke- free , it smelled of smoke. The hot tub was really hot but enjoyable. Breakfast was okay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Mike, Hotel Management
Cynthia, Thanx for your High Rating in spite of the smoke smell and road noise. I wish you would have said something to me while you were here. I would have been happy to change your room based on availability, of course, and I did have other rooms available. If you smell smoke in one of our Non Smoking rooms, with no smoking signs all over the place, please don't keep in a secret. Tell us, so we can track down who before you smoked in out rooms. As for road noise, most guests don't notice it. Sorry you did. Have a great day and if you return to us, let me know when something is bothersome and I will do anything I can to make it right. Thanx again, and have a great day. Mike
5 out of 5
by Rosilda

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Mike, Hotel Management
Roslida Thanx for your High 5 Rating of our little motel, the Salida Inn. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back again soon. Mike