Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2016
It was ok for a short stay. The town was nice set in the rocky mountains. we were there for just one night so not mutch to tell.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

We LOVED our stay; thank you!

Posted Aug 23, 2016
We were pleasantly surprised with the Hotel and loved the rooms and pool! We would definitely stay here again when we come back to Salida.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TX

Convenient, but with issue

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Convenience - on main highway.
Cons: They need to fix the drainage issue properly. Draino or Liquid Plumber isn't going to cut it.
Location: Was on main highway. Checked out historic downtown area including neat shop called "Corvus". Had a really good breakfast at "50 Burger".
The motel was conveniently located, right on the main highway and not too far from the cute downtown area. The room was decent, but we had an issue with the shower. They recently had it re-tiled & according to guy at front desk dropped grout in drain. I had to stand in 3 inches of water (and soap scum) because my husband showered first. The front desk guy said they had poured draino in it, but it obviously needs to be "roto-rootered" out - draino or liquid plumber isn't going to cut through grout! He tried to make a joke about it, saying at least I got to soak my feet while showering, which I didn't really appreciate it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Mike, Owner, Hotel Management
Joanne, Sorry you were so disturbed by your issue with the shower. I am the owner of the hotel, and "The front desk guy" you mentioned. The bathrooms were completely remodeled with all new Tile and completed just prior to July. The contractor apparently didn't cover a few of the drains and unfortunately it wasn't immediately discovered. It happened once before in another room. In that case the guest called the office. It took about 2 minutes to clear the drain. If you had simply picked up the phone and told us the problem we would have cleared the drain before you showered. Inconvenient for sure, but better than purposely standing in 3 inches of water. Sorry you didn't appreciate my joke, I apologized 3 times and then simply tried to lighten the tension. Based on your review, I guess it didn't work :) Have a nice day, Mike
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Nicely Renovated Value Hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Clean, close to town, easy to get in and out, comfortable, updated, safe, and quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2016 by Mike, Owner, Hotel Management
Nick, Thanx for taking some time to write a short review and for your high rating. I am glad you found your room to be clean, safe and quiet. Thanx again, Have a great day, Mike
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ct

good, up-to-date room

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: it is what it is
Location: lots of outdoor activities
"Mini-suite" was a large room with two queen beds and a sofa bed. No full kitchen. Very nice room. Previous experience with two bedroom suite at same hotel was OK. This mini suite was a much nicer room, but the two-bedroom suite was a true suite with a full kitchen
Comment from Hotel Management
by Mike, Owner, Hotel Management
X, Thanx for the high rating and glad you thought it was a "Very nice room". I think you have a little confusion over our room types and names. It confuses me sometimes :). Our Mini Suite is Not advertised with a full kitchen. Only our Deluxe Queen "Cottage" has a full kitchen. Our standard 2 Queen room is just that, ( 2 queen beds). Our 2 queen Mini Suite is the standard PLUS a sitting area with sofa & Chair. The Full kitchen you mention is in the Deluxe Queen Cottage only. The other two room types have mini fridge and M/W. I hope that clears up any confusion. Come back by and try the Cottage. Have a great day, Mike
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
This was a good choice for our family. The beds were very comfortable and the staff was friendly. You can tell the owner has spent time making this more than the average hotel by creating shaded, relaxing sitting areas throughout the property and a nice balcony to enjoy your coffee while watching the sunrise. The pool doesn't open until 10 am which is the same as checkout so that was slightly inconvenient. But the hot tub was nice and hot!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by Mike, Owner, Hotel Management
Anonymous, Thanx for the High rating and compliments on our rooms and outdoor sitting areas. As for the pool opening time, I am sorry if it was inconvenient. We like to clean our pool and hot tub every day as opposed to once each week like most hotel properties. We can't clean it until we finish with breakfast at 0930. We will always open it a little early if asked, but then we can warn folks it may not be clean. I prefer clean and a little inconvenience over convenient but dirty. Stay with us again, and I'll be happy to open it early for you. Mike
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Clean rooms, good stay.

Posted Jul 30, 2016
This is an older hotel, and you will notice that from the outside. The rooms are clean, look recently remodeled, and are bigger than usual hotel rooms. The outside is clean and the pool looks nice. I would recommend it, just be aware you are not getting a chain hotel here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by Mike, Owner, Hotel Management
Amy, Thanx for taking the time to write a review of our little "independent" motel. the Salida Inn. It seems you liked everything about our motel and your stay with us except the fact that we are not a "chain" and thanx for recommending us. I hope we didn't get the 3/5 because we are not a chain! thanx again, Mike
5 out of 5
by michael from Golden, Colo.

Vintage Trials Ride getaway

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
We are smokers and were provided a cup to smoke out on the deck. Great continental breakfast. Great hot tub after my vintage motorcycle trials ride.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Mike, Hotel Management
Michael, Thanx for your High 5 Rating or our little motel, the Salida Inn & monarch suites. I am glad you liked our continental breakfast and hot tub. The cup for cigarette butts actually save on wear and tear on my back, thanx for using it. Thanx again, Mike
4 out of 5
by kevin

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
by Mike, Hotel Management
Kevin Thanx for your High rating. If you decide to stay with us again, I will try to earn a 5 star from you. Thanx again, Mike
5 out of 5
by Mary from Centennial

Great Comfort, Great Light Breakfast, Great Prices

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
We loved this place! Mike was so helpful in getting us just the right room for my disability (not an accessible room, but certainly adequate for my needs). The beds were comfy but firm and covered in top quality linens. The wood furniture, real art work and plush towels were also a plus! I was most fond of the breakfast, and I am a picky eater!! There was fresh cut fruit, hard boiled eggs, a selection of yogurts, waffles, oatmeal,full size muffins and a variety of bread products and cereals. I drank different teas, but there were also cold drinks and hot chocolates. My husband really liked the good coffee! The hot tub was well kept and clean. Our room was quiet and real clean. The only drawback was a humming pipe that Mike was working at getting fixed. The best hotel for the best price! Walking distance to Hot Springs Pool! We would definitely stay here again!!
Comment from Hotel Management
by Mike, Hotel Management
Hi mary, Thanx for the High 5 rating of our little Motel, the Salida Inn & Monarch Suites. Much appreciated by all of the staff here at the motel. I am glad you enjoyed our rooms. Sorry about the noisy pipes, but thanx for bringing it to my attention. I check all of my rooms everyday, but when I enter the rooms, the heat is always off, so I never notice the humm. As soon as you checked out, I went and took a listen. Turned our to be a really simple fix. Thanx again, Mike