Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield, UK

Great on a budget

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Great if you are looking for somewhere on a budget and just want somewhere to sleep spending minimal time. The shower room attached to the bedroom was tiny to the point you stuck to the shower curtain when trying to stand under the water. Anything left in the small shower room on the other side of the shower curtain got wet; not great when you want to try and dress after as you are sharing the room. The bunk beds were shakey and extremely creeky whenever the room mate moved only slightly. On the plus side the room is cleaned every day, the breakfast was nice and the area feels safe. It was very cheap per night but I probably wouldn't stay here again if I was to return to Buenos Aires as I have stayed in better hostals.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Poor

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Stayed in a private double. Had what we needed but staff were rude, lock on the door was broken and night staff played music very loudly way into the night which we could hear in our room. No wifi in room- we were on the 1st floor and the staff shrugged their shoulders when we told them it wasn't working nor cld we connect to any other network in the hostel. Feels as if they are living off one very good trip advisor award 3 years ago. Probably good for young solo backpackers who don't need any help.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by Cher, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback, we are going to look in detail your noise complaint, general policy is that after 00:00 hrs music should be off on the reception. We apogolize about the wifi, there was a problem the weekend you stayed over that was fixed the following Monday, sorry for the inconvenience. We hope you can come another time and really enjoy your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Gerat place to stay in the old, bohemian BA

Posted Jan 28, 2017
The hostel is really nice , well equipped and with lovely and very friendly staff. The location is great for those who want to explore BA by foot . The area is safe and very well located and the hostel offers a variety of tours and activities to discover the hidden gems of BA
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by Cher, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Let' s danse with the good Vibes ...

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing stuff .. thank you to all for your professionalism , Amazing welcome and your smile I had an amazing time .. Amazing vibes in this hostel and very easy to meet new and nice people Very nice common areas . And also very good tours to take from the reception A big thank you to ALL the people working there
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Glad to hear you enjoyed all our activities!! Thank you so much for the feedback :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Excellent hostel better than many hotels

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Cons: Maybe they could put a soap dish in the shower and maybe put some fresh fruit on the breakfast buffet.
Location: Great location in historic San Telmo and only a 15 minute walk to Plazz de Mayo in El Centro. Easy access to bars, restaurants, and shopping.
I would highly recommend America Del Sur hostel. I stayed there a week in a single room that was clean, well maintained, and modern. The queen size bed was very comfortable and the heavy window curtains that kept out the sunlight were a nice bonus. The desk staff are all fluent in English, very accomodating, and available to book tours, taxis and transport to other cities. The included breakfast is better than you find at most budget hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by Cher, Hotel Management
Thank you!! We'll take into account your recommendations!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch, New Zealand

Great Hostel - Highly recommended

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Wotif
Cons: Some staff were more knowledgeable than others about the city, activities, etc.
I had a double room all to myself on the street side, but the bar across the road can be noisy in the weekends. Room serviced daily. They picked us up from the hostel for walking tours :) Great reception area to socialize with vending machines with beer, etc. You can buy alcohol from outside and bring it into the hostel. The vibe of the other travelers were great. Close to Independencia subway stop and Avenida 9 de Julio for buses. Small supermarket directly across the road, fruit shop next door. Allowed you to use showers downstairs even if you've checked out.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Cher, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for the feedback!! Glad to hear you enjoyed all of our activities :) Hope you can come back!
4 out of 5
by IN KYUN

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by IN KYUN

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Falling Apart

Posted Feb 28, 2016 on Hotels
ROOM FALLING APART! Ceiling was leaking! They didn't offer to change rooms! It was NOT raining and yellow water was coming from the entrance and bathroom. The ceiling was even falling in the bathroom! There was a HUGE hole!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2016 by Sebastian, Hotel Management
Dear Guest , Thank you so much for your feedback, we appreciate you took the time to qualify us. We’re sorry about the water pipes and leaking problems you had during your stay. We have fixed the issue and now the room looks perfect. Greetings and hope you can come back,
3 out of 5
by Anastasia

CEILING HORROR MADDESS

Posted Feb 28, 2016 on Hotels
The AC didn't work the 1st night and it was HOT AS HECK and there were LEAKS IN THE CEILING!!! We had water coming in the hall way and the bathroom AND it wasn't raining! It was nasty yellow water all over the door entry and the bathroom. The bathroom ceiling even got a hole after the 2nd day! Other than that the place was nice. They should have moved me into a different room and fixed the issues in that room.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2016 by Sebastian, Hotel Management
Dear Guest , Thank you so much for your feedback, we appreciate you took the time to qualify us. We’re sorry about the water pipes and leaking problems you had during your stay. We have fixed the issue and now the room looks perfect. Greetings and hope you can come back,