Ratings based on 355 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peoria, AZ

Great hotel in Recoleta neighborhood.

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Excellente location, great accomodations, awesome staff very helpful. Would definitely book it again, on a subsequent trip to Bs Aires.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel close to everything

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Clean, quiet, good breakfast and great location.
Location: Great location for just wandering around and soaking up Buenos Aires.
This is a small but excellent hotel close to everything if you are a good walker. We walked everywhere and saw much more than if we had taken the subway. The breakfast buffet was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Well located, minimalist hotel in Buenos Aries

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: Location and size of room
Design Suites is well located in Recoleta and within walking distance of central attractions and subway. Rooms are minimalist in design and provide all that is required for a stay. The studio room with kitchenette is useful if you want to do some self catering for any meals, and breakfast is sufficient and with some good variety, although i found the coffee almost undrinkable. Would stay here again and rooms towards the back of the building are quiter than those at the front, so would recommend requesting one of them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Lovely stay

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Lovely visit to the design suites hotel. The staff spoke reasonably good English and I was very pleasantly surprised that the photos accurately reflected the rooms. Great location. One thing that travelers need to be aware of, that is out of design suites control, is that the cross streets didn't reference the street name but by looking at the shop windows you can easily navigate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well situated very pleasant hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: see above!
Cons: availability of rooms for 3 that are not suites
Great location. Close to everything you'd want to see in BA. Good breakfast. Bright, nice art. Helpful staff. Great deal for the cost.
5 out of 5
by Marilyn from Toronto

Great location, friendly staff, great value

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is a great find. We had a large and comfortable suite at a reasonable price. It was clean, nicely decorated. Included in the price was a delicious breakfast, WI-FI and complimentary access to a modern gym on the next street. The hotel is centrally located, close to Santa Fe and Callao avenues (great restaurants and shopping).The staff is very friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by Jim Hanson from Seattle, WA USA

Don't expect much help from the front desk!

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels
Would NOT stay at this hotel again! Front desk staff, with the exception of one person, spoke very poor English and were not helpful. No iron or ironing board in room. Breakfast was OK at best; certainly not great. We had to ask for soap as it was not replenished. We requested ice to make a cocktail in the room and were told to walk one block down the street to the Shell gas station to buy our own as the hotel had none available! (Seriously) The walls were quite scuffed up and the room needed repainting. My friend asked the folks at the front desk to use the gym and was directed to a gym about a block away. When he arrived at the gym, he was told that he could not use the gym. Don't plan to sleep with your windows open as it's a VERY loud neighborhood. And good luck if you need to plug anything in, such as an iPhone, camera battery, etc. The entire suite had two available outlets!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jenny from melbourne

Very nice hotel in a good aera

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Enjoy very much during stay in b.a. Hope to come back for a visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Enrique from San Francisco

Nice location but...

Posted Mar 17, 2014
The hotel is in a nice location, good bedrooms, no noises and good breakfast but we had some problems: - the shower is not properly separated from the bath so you literally flood the bathroom. - I called the front desk asking for an iron, after 20 min of waiting I called again. 15 minutes after that we had to leave the hotel to go to a meeting of course with our clothes rinckle because the iron never arrived. - We got to the hotel one night to find out that the lobby was flooded. - If you look close you will find out that the hotel is a little bit old.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Reception and Check-In Experience

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Cons: Fire the entire staff and hire new people actually trained in hotel management / customer relations.
Upon check-in, I was informed by the staff they could not find my Expedia Reservation. I presented them my iPhone which had the confirmation numbers and the Expedia App showing the reservation and confirmation numbers. They told me it would take a few min to check their back office to find it. Nothing happened after about 20 min, so after standing around for awhile, I asked staff what was going. They seemed disinterested in solving the problem, but said it would be a few min. This process went on and off for nearly 90 min. I asked if they had a room, why not just check me in and take my credit card, but they seemed incapable of thinking for themselves to solve the problem. Very disappointing. The room wasn't great, slab of concrete with furniture that tried to look minimalist. Very cold/cheap feel. Would not stay there again, wish expedia would give me a refund for loosing 90 min of my life.