Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Located in the heart of actionn

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: The friendliness of the staff and their willingness to help and answer all our queries
Cons: I out of 2 elevators functioning during our stay of 1 week.
Location: Next to the famous Florida Street and the Plaza St. Martin, a ten minute walk to the train station and the bus terminal. The location is perfect.
Hotel Dora is an excellent hotel well situated near Plaza St. Martin, next to the famous Florida Street. The hotel staff was friendly, very helpful and always trying to please. The only negative comment I have it that 1 elevator out of 2 was functioning during our stay. We had an incredible price through Expedia and noticed that the regular price was double what we paid. The beds were comfortable, a good size room; I highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
Clean hotel, good location, staff spoke English.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good experience

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
Not a great hotel. The AC was full power all night and it was cold and noisy. We barely had some sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abbots Langley, UK

Good hotel in a central location

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Staff, "superior" rooms, location and breakfast
Cons: Standard rooms need renovating to meet expected standards.
Location: Central location close to Retiro and within walking distance of many of the tourist attractions.
We had two stays of three nights each with a break to visit the Iguazú falls. Our first stay was excellent but we were disappointed with the rooms on our return. Without realising it, we had booked "superior" rooms followed by "standard" rooms. The "superior rooms were fine although the bathrooms were small. The standard rooms were poor with a shabby feel, stained carpets and a lack of power sockets. The bedding in both types of room was excellent and clean. My rating of "Hotel Facilities" would be higher if it were not for the "standard" rooms and the reception and restaurant areas were very good. The staff were very helpful and we enjoyed the breakfasts.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good for sleeping and breakfast

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
Good location but there were homeless people beside the hotel and on the street in front of the entrance.the standard bedrooms have old carpets and pink walls.the superior double bedrooms are small and decent. One of the 2 elevators was out of service,we had to use freight elevator and exit stairways. The service is great and the lobby and breakfast area are nice.breakfast is included and it was delicious.the restaurant for dinner was not good,pasta was tasteless,steak was dry,service was slow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great Value, near everything!

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: Value
Cons: Room temperature was inconsistent
Location: Cant get any better than this location
The Dora Hotel is in a great location and is in the heart of the city. While not particularly fancy, it's very clean and tidy and a great value for the price paid. The staff was friendly and fantastic with helping to plan excursions and giving information on the city. Kudos to Santiago for going the extra mile with excellent service!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels
The hot water system had broken down and they could give us no indication as to when it might be restored.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Medellin, Colombia

GOOD LOCATION

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: location, old fashioned restaurant style.
Cons: twice check for sheets ........ WE FIND SOME STAINS and of course..... PLAN B FOR HOT WATER PROBLEMS
Location: Near to Plaza San Martin, El Retiro metro & train central station, Calle Florida, Av. 9 de julio, El Obelisco, Teatro Colon, Calle Corrientes , ETC
It s a nice hotel , good location in Microcentro ( Buenos Aires downtown), near to Plaza san Martin, El Retiro metro & train central station, Calle Florida, Av. 9 de julio, El Obelisco, Teatro Colon, Calle Corrientes , ETC. Famous because writer Jorge Luis Borges preferred place to go . BUT, as son we arrive, Concierge tell us : Sorry , "NO HOT WATER in the rooms WC. we have a problem"
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rick from Milwaukee

Spring Break in Buenos Aries

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: The art--paintings and sculpture was exquisite.
Cons: The rooms are somewhat dated, the carpeting could be replaced and more comfortable chairs (in the room). than that I was satisfied. wonder
Location: Near outstanding shopping (Florida Av Pedetrian Mall), PResidential Palace, COlonia Opera House, Evita Museum, Train and Ferry Stations.
I would characterize this hotel as shabby chic. It was a bit tired; although, there was much renovation going on in the lobby--too much, actually, quite noisy. The breakfast was more than ample, nothing fancy but more than adequate. The front desk hotel staff were so very helpful to me, giving me directions, making local calls, assisting w/several issues throughout the week. I am very grateful to them; they were most kind and gracious. I also appreciated their outstanding English skills, quite in contrast to my fledgling Spanish. My room, while quaint and somewhat average, was cozy and comfortable; it was quiet in the evenings which I really appreciated.
1 out of 5
by Bill from New Orleans

Dump

Posted Mar 13, 2014 on Hotels
Would not recommend it. The staff first said that I had not paid, when it was paid in full when it was booked. Then, they tried to charge me an additional fee which was their going rate for the night, I refused. The next day, the managers said that Hotels.com was not authorized to sell their rooms and wanted me to pay the full rate, then 25 minutes later wanted me to pay an additional $15 USD. What a joke. The place needs major refurbishing and cleaning.