Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Marie from Stockholm

Tangon genomsyrar hotellet

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
Vi hade hotellet som bas och gjorde resor till Cordoba och Bariloche. Läget i San Telmo passade oss då vi har en dotter som bor i området. Hotellet är speciellt då rummen inte har några fönster ut mot gatan men är väldigt charmigt då alla rum har väggmålningar med tangomotiv och det är full aktivitet med tango i huset.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loads of Soul

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is in an old mansion and they have retained all the charm of the original building - plus tons of fabulous murals on the walls. If you want new and modern, this isn't for you. But if you want a hotel in the heart of San Telmo, full of charm, with a wonderful staff then by all means stay here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Boutique Hotel

Posted Mar 7, 2016 on Hotels
This is a charming old mansion in the heart of San Telmo. Since the building is over 100 years old, things are a bit worn. But the service is excellent (especially from Christin and Franco) and they have tango lessons every night in one of the ballrooms. Once a week there is a neighborhood milango. You can't get better than that in Buenos Aires. And the hotel is just a few blocks from one of the main metro lines so getting to other parts of the city is pretty easy. I enjoyed this place so much that I extended my stay....three times!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel in the perfect location

Posted Mar 5, 2016 on Hotels
This is a charming old mansion that is now a charming old boutique hotel. If you want new and cookie-cutter, this place isn't for you. But if you want atmosphere and soul, try it. The neighborhood is great - both day and night. It's convenient to the metro system. The staff is friendly and helpful (especially Franco and Cristin). In fact, I liked it so much that I extended my stay - twice!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Authentic and good Location in San Telmo

Posted Mar 3, 2016
Pros: building
Cons: information in reception about restaurants and sightseeing
Location: this is the best part.
beside some difficulties we had with the booking, the reception manager managed to solve the problem. all the staff very kind and helpfull, it would be great if they would have more information about Buenos Aires and reccommendation about restaurants, etc.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Delightful building, roof pool and tango classes..

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: Decor
Cons: Difficult to find the front door. Bigger notice to distinguish it from restaurant with same name nearby.
Location: very easy to walk into centre and can do this via lovely river side walk
Very pleasant, and intiguing decor. Not luxurious but lovely
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

diferente

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: Localizaçao, silencio
Cons: Cafe da manhã, televisão horrível piscina sem condições de uso academia
Location: O ponto forte.Muitos bares, perto do centro.
Uma casa adaptada para hotel. Tamanho do quarto muito bom, colchão bom Tv horrível chiado e imagens do século passado. ar condicionado bom . Banheiro bom com banheira. café da manhã sofrível.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Faded Grandeur

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: The old-world ambience of this old mansion was wonderful. The location is great if you're looking for authenticity. The staff are very nice.
Cons: This Grande Dame deserves some TLC. She could really use a good cleaning, new fixtures and rugs and upgraded A/C and amenities.
Location: The neighborhood of San Telmo is a funky, artist haven (be prepared for grafitti and dog poo). And the Dandi Royal is right in the middle of it all!
I chose this hotel because it looked atmospheric and unique. I wanted to experience the historic San Telmo area, and this faded Grande Dame looked perfect for settling into the feel of old Buenos Aires. It is the home of a wealthy Italian family over 100-years-old and retains many of its original design elements. And the staff are kind and helpful, especially the manager Christian. I loved my room, which had 15' ceilings and a floor-to-ceiling stained glass wall. The foyer and stairwell are grand and the tango-themed murals add to the atmosphere. This is supposed to be a "tango hotel," and it offers both group and individual tango lessons in its adjacent milonga room (neighborhood milongas there every Thursday evening).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bainbridge Island

Unique experience

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Brings you back into time staying in this historic hotel. We had a mixed experienced with the staff, a bit more formal than we prefer but helpful. Location was good - we really enjoyed San Telmo. Took a tango lesson next door which was very fun- they were very patient with us.
2 out of 5
by Eric

Lots of atmosphere but less comfort

Posted Dec 17, 2015 on Hotels
This is barely a 2 star hotel. No English TV, linen service spotty, staff very helpful but hotel has very few amenities. Middling neighbourhood but basically safe. Good restaurants nearby. Air conditioning, if it exists was not on despite hot days and warm evenings.