Ratings based on 2,408 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Nice Hotel in a Great Location

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: This hotel had a good restaurant and lounge area. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Location was great.
Cons: Bathroom door in our guest room was damaged and probably needs to be replaced.
Location: Close to the Key Bank Center (hockey), baseball park, casino and several good restaurants.
Easy check-in with on-site parking. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff gave us directions to local restaurant as well as a ride to the Key Bank Center to attend the Penguins vs Sabres hockey game.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel close to Arena

Posted Mar 22, 2017
I went there for the NCAA tournament and had a great time. The service was great, especially our bartender Justin. We were surprised how good the food was as we read bad reviews. The Buffalo chicken pizza was very good! The rooms look dated, but are perfectly fine. Queen beds instead of doubles would really help though! Will definitely stay there again next time in Buffalo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario

Ok hotel with great staff

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Front desk staff
Cons: Little dusty.
Location: Can walk to key bank Not a lot of coffee shops or corner stores near by.
It's kinda hard to get to but once there you can walk to the key bank centre. Not a lot of coffee shops or corner stores around. The place is ok. Could use some updates or a really good cleaning. Staff are always happy to help. They make staying there worth while.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Acceptable; needs serious upgrade and deep clean

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Overall, I am not a picky person, but I really hate to see a business that is hurting itself because of lack of attention to big and small details. The staff at this hotel were professional and welcoming. Overall, the hotel needs to be upgraded and seriously deep cleaned (as well as some general, superficial cleaning). Thick layer of dust on the lampshades (also, material on both the lampshades was torn), remote control covered in grime, and wall outlets/outlet boxes were also grimy. Wallpaper pulling away from parts of the wall, curtains not fully hung on the curtain fixtures. Heater had a hard time heating the room (when I walked in it was freezing), and I had to turn the heater up to 75 degrees to even get it mildly warm in the room. The entire night, the freezing air from outside seeped in through the windows/outside wall (i.e., please put additional insulation in the room and save the hotel a lot of money in utility bills and prevent a huge waste of energy). Even the elevators could stand to be renovated-- while they function just fine, they also look like they haven't been updated since the 70's (strips of mirrors alternated with strips of wood painted black-- the wood needs painting, and the mirrors are tarnished). My colleague stayed in another room, was not able to alter the temperature in her room (the thermostat was unresponsive) and remote control did not work. Overall, not a terrible place to stay, but does not come close to its potential.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Painted Post, NY

Best March Madness Hotel in town!

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Friendly staff and amazing service throughout! Best March Madness Hotel in the town!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from upstate NY

Nice hotel near major sports venues

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Good location. Very nice and very large pool which the grand kids loved.
Cons: Needs lots of updating. carpeting is worn through out the building. Much painting needs to be done. Outlets in rooms are limited and no USB chargers
Location: Baseball stadium and hockey arena within 10 mins walking time. Near a light rail servicing area attractions at no charge.
Checked in to two rooms for one night. In town to attend a Sabers game. Front desk personnel were very pleasant and helpful - made us feel welcome.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Not the best

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Location: The city is great, and ranked in top 5 of best food city by National Geographic. So there is no short supply of things to do, especially for foodies.
First, they have a grand entrance, but no one greats you and no one asks to take your bags or gets you a trolley for bags. I travel for work so much that i'm on the road more than home, and would say out of the 50 hotels I've stayed in over the past 6 months, this was by far the most disappointing. Just does not make you feel welcomed, nor inspire you to ever want to stay there again, or recommend to someone else to stay there. They also seemed to be frequently understaffed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Poor condition means an 'Adam's'Mark down!

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Staff are mostly great with the odd rare exception. The swimming pool is a reasonable size, but no lifeguard if you have kids.
Cons: Everything, especially decor and furnishings. Having paid for breakfast, asking guests to pay for an extra cup of coffee is petty.
Location: By downtown, and a bit of a walk to centre, which is mainly business and shuts down at 5ish. Free trams along Main St to Canal Side. Knox Art Gallery!
The hotel is geared for weddings and conferences and it is in dire need of refurbishment. Standard double beds were (UK size) 3/4 doubles, so 4'. Business centre was not maintained with no toner in the printer and no one around to change it. If you want to take a cup of coffee to your room after breakfast they want to charge you an extra $2.50 for it, plus tax and tip no doubt. Booked the Mark because the Hyatt was full and would not stay here again. Be careful of taxis outside. Most are fine but one tried to rip us off by not putting meter on and saying it was broken; then tried to take the long way round!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Old and poorly maintained

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Horrible experience. Dirty bathrooms. Uncomfortable old mattresses. Extremely Noisy Heating/AC system and unfriendly stuff. Bathroom door is rotted out. Unbelievable!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel sucked and was overpriced.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
My experience is Expedia failed to do their due delligence