Ratings based on 427 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Disappointed

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Great location, near downtown Buffalo attractions. Very comfortable bed. Nice books on the bookshelves. Free newspaper. Big (lukewarm) breakfast.
Cons: Don't advertise 1) you have a fireplace when it's a cheap artificial one; 2) that the bedding is hypoallergenic when it is NOT. Lighten up the paint!
Location: Near many restaurants. Near the trolley line which takes you down to Canalside, the arena, or uptown to other attractions.
A friend suggested this place was as good as the Hyatt but with more character. NOT! The bed was comfortable and the junior suite was a good size, but I can not recommend this place, especially for the price. We looked forward to the advertised "fireplace," but were disappointed that it was one of those cheap lighted things with a piece of fabric that simulates flame. The walls were painted battleship gray. The windows looked out on to a gloomy patio and the interior four walls of the building, so the overall effect was quite depressing. The windows did not lock: there were lock mechanisms on the bottom of sash, but not the top, which was disconcerting. In addition, this also allowed the top sash to drop slightly, which meant that there was a constant rushing sound of air escaping which sounded like traffic, although there was no traffic. There was a bad smell in the bathroom that at first we thought was the water, but it turned out to be coming from the sink drain. Finally, although the bed was very comfortable, it was advertised as "hypoallergenic." My wife has asthma, so this was a big selling feature. In fact, although the covers may have been hypoallergenic (maybe), the mattress cover was not, and in fact did not completely cover the mattress, which is where a lot of allergens gather. In addition, two giant brown upholstered pillows were laid against the sleeping pillows. Besides being allergen traps, they were filled with feathers. VERY ALLERGENIC and ugly as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic Hotel with modern touches

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: The historic value and the in room safe.
Cons: An extra treadmill would be nice. CLEAN the equipment and leave disinfecting wipes and signage asking to clean after use.
I stayed 1 night for business, I would plan to use this Hotel when I come into town for a show as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2017
The hotel was great for a nice little getaway from home for a night out. The staff was very nice and friendly. The junior suite was great for the price. My girlfriend an I enjoyed are night there we will definitely go back again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Gem in town

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Loved everything about this hotel! From the kind valet parking attendants; to the front desk staff (Mike), the cozy rooms; the Pan-american brewery food:....everything was excellent. Can't say enough about it. I travel at least once a month to different cities, and normally stay in a Marriott property...but next time I'm in Buffalo, this hotel will get my business!
5 out of 5
by Jennifer

Lovely jr.sweet

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
Nice room comfortable bed
5 out of 5
by Michael

Historic building

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
The Lafayette building is a refurbished turn-of-the-century building (last century, not 2001). You can read about it on Wikipedia. It has the air of faded glory. One of the windows in my first room was a bit drafty, which wasn't great for winter in Buffalo. I mentioned this to the front desk and they moved me in a more comfortable room. After that, my stay was very pleasant. There's a hipster coffee spot in the lobby, open in the mornings. They make excellent coffee. I didn't try out the hotel restaurant, but there are several good options within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Gorgeous & Clean But Could Use Some Tweaks

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: Gorgeous, clean, great location, very nice grill resto connected, lovely staff, great coffee shop in the lobby.
Cons: Little touches for comfort -- bedside tables & lamps! Footstools or coffee tables and better lighting in the living room.
Location: Central to downtown, close to wonderful restaurants, fascinating architectural tours nearby.
The hotel is beautiful, stunning old early deco 1920s -- we felt like we should be wearing beaded chiffon gowns! Staff is super nice and helpful (but why were they dressed in sweats?). The room was spotlessly clean and HUGE. We asked for a standard room but had a living room and full kitchen with enormous bathroom. Fabulous! BUT the bed had no reading lamps or bedside tables -- where to put my phone, book, glasses, glass of water? We moved in some lamps from the living room so we could read in bed but that wasn't optimal! Lighting in the living room was harsh or too low, nothing in between. And the leather couch and chairs could use some cushions to soften them. But mostly, the whole place needed more surfaces to put things! A coffee table or more end tables to put things on in the living room. A desk or place to put the laptop. A place to put down STUFF in the bedroom. A table and chairs for the kitchen -- you have a full kitchen (5 burners on the stove!) but then only 2 stools to sit down to eat. You could combine a desk/table, since there's plenty of room. Our friends with a room down the hall had the same issues. Just suggest that management spend a couple of days in the rooms with all the stuff of daily living and see what's needed for a bit more comfort. So CLOSE to fabulous!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Caneadea, NY

Holiday hustle getaway

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: The old time charm of the Breakfast Buffet area.
Cons: Bad Expedia things to do list. They only promoted Niagara Falls area when there is so much to do & see in Buffalo.Theater,Art,Music venues, Eats !
Location: Canalside,Albright-Knox and Burchfield-Penny Art Galleries, Elmwood strip.Stay here for a Sabres Game.Great restaurants So much in Buffalo!
We chose the Lafayette Hotel to get away from the standard motel scene. Arriving in downtown Buffalo on a snowy evening was a nice start. The lobby is okay, very sleek, sterile and clean. We expected more of the old-time look which we saw in the morning at the well presented and decent breakfast buffet. Our Jr. Suite was inviting and pleasantly decorated. It offered 2 levels, an electric fireplace,couch,purple comfy chair. The bedroom & bed was pleasingly inviting. The shower/bath combo was amazing. However the water control was very annoying and took a long time for hot water to arrive.( unacceptable for 2nd floor ) The heat/ ac unit over the bed was squeaky all night. My wife had to sleep with pillow over her head,which I tried doing as well. Overall a decent stay. The room price was fair did not include parking, but just do the $20 valet parking service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels