Ratings based on 415 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2017
The hotel was great for a nice little getaway from home for a night out. The staff was very nice and friendly. The junior suite was great for the price. My girlfriend an I enjoyed are night there we will definitely go back again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Gem in town

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Loved everything about this hotel! From the kind valet parking attendants; to the front desk staff (Mike), the cozy rooms; the Pan-american brewery food:....everything was excellent. Can't say enough about it. I travel at least once a month to different cities, and normally stay in a Marriott property...but next time I'm in Buffalo, this hotel will get my business!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Gorgeous & Clean But Could Use Some Tweaks

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: Gorgeous, clean, great location, very nice grill resto connected, lovely staff, great coffee shop in the lobby.
Cons: Little touches for comfort -- bedside tables & lamps! Footstools or coffee tables and better lighting in the living room.
Location: Central to downtown, close to wonderful restaurants, fascinating architectural tours nearby.
The hotel is beautiful, stunning old early deco 1920s -- we felt like we should be wearing beaded chiffon gowns! Staff is super nice and helpful (but why were they dressed in sweats?). The room was spotlessly clean and HUGE. We asked for a standard room but had a living room and full kitchen with enormous bathroom. Fabulous! BUT the bed had no reading lamps or bedside tables -- where to put my phone, book, glasses, glass of water? We moved in some lamps from the living room so we could read in bed but that wasn't optimal! Lighting in the living room was harsh or too low, nothing in between. And the leather couch and chairs could use some cushions to soften them. But mostly, the whole place needed more surfaces to put things! A coffee table or more end tables to put things on in the living room. A desk or place to put the laptop. A place to put down STUFF in the bedroom. A table and chairs for the kitchen -- you have a full kitchen (5 burners on the stove!) but then only 2 stools to sit down to eat. You could combine a desk/table, since there's plenty of room. Our friends with a room down the hall had the same issues. Just suggest that management spend a couple of days in the rooms with all the stuff of daily living and see what's needed for a bit more comfort. So CLOSE to fabulous!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Caneadea, NY

Holiday hustle getaway

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: The old time charm of the Breakfast Buffet area.
Cons: Bad Expedia things to do list. They only promoted Niagara Falls area when there is so much to do & see in Buffalo.Theater,Art,Music venues, Eats !
Location: Canalside,Albright-Knox and Burchfield-Penny Art Galleries, Elmwood strip.Stay here for a Sabres Game.Great restaurants So much in Buffalo!
We chose the Lafayette Hotel to get away from the standard motel scene. Arriving in downtown Buffalo on a snowy evening was a nice start. The lobby is okay, very sleek, sterile and clean. We expected more of the old-time look which we saw in the morning at the well presented and decent breakfast buffet. Our Jr. Suite was inviting and pleasantly decorated. It offered 2 levels, an electric fireplace,couch,purple comfy chair. The bedroom & bed was pleasingly inviting. The shower/bath combo was amazing. However the water control was very annoying and took a long time for hot water to arrive.( unacceptable for 2nd floor ) The heat/ ac unit over the bed was squeaky all night. My wife had to sleep with pillow over her head,which I tried doing as well. Overall a decent stay. The room price was fair did not include parking, but just do the $20 valet parking service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richwood, NJ

Suite deal!

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Cons: Bistro table in the room to eat at, working soap lever on the dispenser. some minor dry wall damage, validate parking.
Location: Close to sports and theater districts, canalside is a short walk. Pan- Am grill is incredible.
The room is plenty large. It needs a small bistro table instead of the useless ottoman. The fireplace was fake which was disappointing, but not enough to ruin the experience. Great location, great staff, They do not validate parking, however there are several parking facilities within a minute walk. Loved the shower. I will stay here again any day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Steelers vs. Bills

Posted Dec 13, 2016
In town for a football game. Great option. Room size very impressive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Cons: Pricey!
Nice place, roomy and restaurants in the vacinity..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016
If you like Art Deco and beautiful interiors, this is your place. The decor is fantastic and it's a great location from which to explore downtown Buffalo, which is starting to re-emerge in some very exciting ways. Our room was nicely appointed and the hotel lobby/cafe are great. Also, the front desk worker who checked us in provided some very good suggestions for dinner near the hotel. All-in-all, it was a very good stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Amazing hotel in Buffalo

Posted Nov 26, 2016
We had a 1st class stay with amazing staff. Facility has tons of history yet modern conveniences. Great bar.