Ratings based on 237 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sammy from Buffalo , NY

Family visit

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Very Nice!!!!! Perfect location between our daughter's and nephew's homes!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Clean but dated

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Location is great for shopping. Very friendly breakfast lady :)
Cons: Needs updating. Internet service poor.
Location: Shop till you drop!!
Old cottage style furniture and no fridge. Internet poor. But clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to airport

Posted Mar 15, 2014
We just slept here and wasn't able to partake in the breakfast. Our flight was too early. It was inexpensive and easy to stay here. The staff was friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I was charged extra after I already paid for the r

Posted Mar 1, 2014
I was charged extra after I already paid for the room on Expedia. At the time when I checked in, front desk lady asked me for my credit card, I was confused because I already paid for the room, but I gave her my credit card anyway. Then she checked the system and saw that I did actually paid through Expedia. However, I check my credit card history today, and there is a $10 fee paid to Lord Amherst Hotel. Also, they do not offer shuttle bus to the airport which was one of the reason why I picked this hotel out of all the other choices.
3 out of 5
by t from Rochester

Not returning

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: It was right near the bus stop so transportation was easy if you don't have a vehicle
Cons: The cleanliness off the place.
I got to the hotel and they almost sent us on our way because we booked through Expedia and we didn't pay up front, when Expedia said we could reserve it with a card and pay cash when we got there. The room had a smell to it. Some of the staff was rude. The room had looked like it hadn't been fully cleaned. The chairs looked really stained and the showers looked like they hadn't cleaned the shower heads, and it was a bit over priced for how the condition was. I won't be returning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Ok in a pinch, nice staff and warm, rustic lobby.

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Found this place last minute, no real complaints but decided to upgrade to another hotel the next night. Lobby is warm and inviting (fire place), room needs renovation but is standard and has what you need. Convenient to be able to drive right up to your room in the courtyard area and walk right into your suite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ben from VA

Great value, wonderful staff, near everything.

Posted Jan 23, 2014
Pros: rooms, staff, breakfast
Location: don't miss the DeCamillo bakery, about 2 minutes away :)
Nice family run hotel on Main Street. Breakfast in the morning in a nice room with a fireplace. Wonderful staff and nice clean rooms. Absolutely the best value for staying in Buffalo or on the way to Niagara Falls.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brock from Ontario

TV was too small. Otherwise quite satisfied.

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Car parking while away on trip.
Location: Close to Transit and Malls Good
Staff were great. Comfort per $ was quite good. I will be back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: Very good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maggie from Richmond, VA

Old fashioned

Posted Jan 1, 2014
Pros: location cleanliness
Cons: TV
Location: Close to thruway, Rte 290, SUNYaB, and Daimen College
I stayed here while visiting extended family for Christmas. The location is very convenient to get to the northern, southern and eastern suburbs as well as the park-and-ride for taking the train downtown. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the lobby with its fireplace and decorated tree was a nice setting for breakfast and "waiting". The breakfast was limited but fine. The coffee was not the greatest. The room was quite dated, especially the television. However, the internet connection was fine and the room was very clean. Construction has begun on a new building to be completed late this summer and I would hope that plans include updating the present building. I would certainly stay here again.