Ratings based on 938 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Tim Klodnick from Broadview Heights, OHIO

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels
We were disappointed that the Sonoma was closed. More disappointed that managemnet did not have an alternate choice for us. He just laughed at us. We have been staying at the Lord Amherst the last 5 years because of the Snoma and the ability to have a few drinks and smoke a cigar. Then we find out that someone and his wife that we recommended the Lord Amherst to gets his room room for $60 out the door and we paid $79. The peole working there are nice but management sucks. I guesss we can stay at one of the motels closer to the basketball areana.
4 out of 5
by Carmen from NC

Adequate

Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels
Room was clean. Staff was decent. Breakfast is true continental - no hot items other than waffle maker. Fitness room equipment was not up to par. Hotel was in great location, but not sure I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to airport

Posted Mar 15, 2014
We just slept here and wasn't able to partake in the breakfast. Our flight was too early. It was inexpensive and easy to stay here. The staff was friendly.
4 out of 5
by Adams from Ohio

Great for the price

Posted Mar 3, 2014 on Hotels
Was in town for a funeral. This was a nice hotel and was clean but dated. The staff was real friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I was charged extra after I already paid for the r

Posted Mar 1, 2014
I was charged extra after I already paid for the room on Expedia. At the time when I checked in, front desk lady asked me for my credit card, I was confused because I already paid for the room, but I gave her my credit card anyway. Then she checked the system and saw that I did actually paid through Expedia. However, I check my credit card history today, and there is a $10 fee paid to Lord Amherst Hotel. Also, they do not offer shuttle bus to the airport which was one of the reason why I picked this hotel out of all the other choices.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stayed twice in 2 months and would again

Posted Feb 25, 2014 on Hotels
Clean and cozy place. Nothing too fancy but people are friendly and they have great breakfast. Was quiet and safe so I liked it.
4 out of 5
by John and Danice from Greater Toronto Area (Canada)

Older decor, CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE!

Posted Feb 19, 2014 on Hotels
Enjoyed our time at this older facility. It was very clean and well cared for... The Common Area where breakfast was held was very nice and warm and cozy in front of the Fireplace.
3 out of 5
by t from Rochester

Not returning

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: It was right near the bus stop so transportation was easy if you don't have a vehicle
Cons: The cleanliness off the place.
I got to the hotel and they almost sent us on our way because we booked through Expedia and we didn't pay up front, when Expedia said we could reserve it with a card and pay cash when we got there. The room had a smell to it. Some of the staff was rude. The room had looked like it hadn't been fully cleaned. The chairs looked really stained and the showers looked like they hadn't cleaned the shower heads, and it was a bit over priced for how the condition was. I won't be returning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Ok in a pinch, nice staff and warm, rustic lobby.

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Found this place last minute, no real complaints but decided to upgrade to another hotel the next night. Lobby is warm and inviting (fire place), room needs renovation but is standard and has what you need. Convenient to be able to drive right up to your room in the courtyard area and walk right into your suite.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 6, 2014 on Hotels