Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Great location for visiting central Brittany

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Pros: everything
Location: While the town of Buleon is tiny with no real attractions, the key to this hotel is its central location.
Domaine de la Ferrière was flawless in every respect. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. They went out of their way to make us feel very welcome. We were so pleased that we extended our stay by one day. The hotel is visually stunning yet completely up to date. Breakfasts were excellent in a spacious comfortable room. The restaurant was absolutely top notch. The room met all of our requirements and then some.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Peaceful, welcoming hotel with lovely hosts.

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: All good. Great stay and look forward to a return visit!
Cons: Only real criticism was lack of lift, as stone spiral staircase is a challenge with luggage.
Location: Heart of rural countryside, near small village with bustling local bars and shop and good for exploring the area. Josselin closest town. Coast an hour
Glad we chose this super location. Great contrast to our previous, town-based hotel. Stylish hotel with outdoor pool, lovely wooded grounds and a warm welcome. Great breakfast buffet and cooked breakfast fresh and generous. Restaurant serves good food in a nice setting. Enjoyed the peace and quiet, the terrace and sunshine. Sad to leave and will definitely return.
5 out of 5
by Paul from Bristol

Stay in a mini-Chateau

Posted Apr 10, 2015 on Hotels
Superb mini-chateau in the middle of the French countryside. It's a bit tricky to find, but if you have a car then it has great access for Vannes and Josselin. Without a car, though, it would be a bit inaccessible. The rooms are clean and comfortable. There is a superb restaurant on site, which is a little pricey but excellent quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Berkshire UK

ideal stopping off point just off autoroute

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Nice restaurant, friendly staff, excellent breakfast
Cons: Nothing
Location: We did not explore locally as we were en route to another location. Situated in its own substantial grounds, quiet location overlooking a lake
Welcoming hosts, offered bacon and eggs as well as full continental breakfast, beautiful old building, bedrooms approached via a winding staircase not really suitable for people with walking difficulties, wheelchairs etc but I believe there was a ground floor room, best to check.
5 out of 5
by Stephanie P from Dana Point, CA, USA

Amazing property and setting

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels
Friendly and helpful proprietor. Amazing and beautiful country setting in a gorgeous historic property. The room itself was quite small and simple, but acceptable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from Scotland

Friendly beautiful hotel in wonderful setting

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: Everything, the setting, the hotel itself and the people.
Cons: Nothing we could tell.
Location: Very rural, visit Josselin if you can.
We arrived during a power cut in the locality (not just the hotel) and the owners could not do enough for us. The room was excellent, the welcome fabulous and we were only sorry that we were only there for one night. Will certainly go back if the opportunity arises.
4 out of 5
by Stephen from Dublin

Good but no dinner!

Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels
Place is beautiful, room was lovely although a long trek up winding staircase with suitcases. Staying just Sunday night having arrived in France that morning from ferry to discover the restaurtant is closed on Sundays! managed to get a sandwich nearby in a lovely little pub 'the Fox and Shamrock'. Breakfast in morning was very good. It appears on site as 4 star but is marked as a 3 star outside hotel.
5 out of 5
by Donker from Toronto, canada

Lovely place and convenient to reach

Posted Sep 20, 2013 on Hotels
Had a wonder ful stay. The people were most friendly and helpful and the dinner was superb! Highly recommend this hotel .great value for money!
5 out of 5
by Annette B. from New Hampshire, USA

Absolutely Beautiful!

Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels
I can't say enough good things about our stay here. It was one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed. From the moment we first saw the Chateau we were in awe. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful in any they can. the dinner was unbelievable and the breakfast was one of the best I have ever had. We walked the grounds with the owner and he showed us all of the unusual trees and plants and trees and also introduced us to his horses. I loved this place so much I am trying to talk my daughter into having her wedding here! the rooms were so beautiful, spacious and clean. they even had a bottle of sparkling water and cookies on the night stand when we arrived. the only down side ( not for us though) is that you may have to walk up the spiral stairs in the turret to get to your room. for us it just added to the charm of the place!~
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2012 on Hotels