Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location on the sea

Posted Aug 3, 2016
This hotel had a lot of unique character and the most delicious fresh seafood for dinner.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from COUNTY ANTRIM

A wonderful water's edge location.

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: The location. The owners and staff were wonderful. We didn't eat there, but what we saw looked delicious.
Cons: Décor is all a bit tired. Beds are sagged and the (our) shower sounds as if it's on its last legs...
Location: It is an isolated location - that is the attraction. For driving, follow the 'Wild Atlantic Way' signs - you'll not be disappointed.
Stunning country side (especially if you drive the 'scenic' route to get to Bunbeg - take the N56 via Dunfanaghy!) Really blown away by the hotel's location - water's edge literally. Our room overlooked the slipways. Lovely people who own the hotel. Premises however are a bit on tired side, but of course the price reflects this - good (€) value. It terms of the area, we were blown away by the beaches and walks. However, the uphill walk from Bunbeg House to the village is not for the faint-hearted. The nearest evening entertainment/restaurant is SeanOg's a ten min. drive away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2016
We were upgradeed to the Tara Suite - exceptinal views and stay - recomended.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely location on the quay.

Posted May 16, 2016
This is a no-frills, family run hotel. It was very comfortable, clean, and quiet. I would recommend it to everyone without reservation.
3 out of 5
by MICHAEL from Holywood

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
A very brief stay, hotel in a lovely spot with a picturesque harbour, owners very helpful and looked after us very well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Donegal - Wild Atlantic Way

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Brilliant Stay. Plenty of sandy beaches to explore and miles of grounds to cover. Coastal route along the "Wild Atlantic Way" is a must see - North and South.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Very Nice B&B, amazing panorama

Posted Oct 22, 2015
Pros: Panorama, B&B style, comfortable beds, breakfast
Location: Errigal Mount Castle Hiking
Very Big house, Big room, Space, Nice location near Errigal Mount, Nice pubs near. Country B&B, we loved out stay there and the owner was so Nice and gente with us.
4 out of 5
by Anne from Lucan co dublin

BREAK AWAY FROM THE KIDS

Posted Oct 9, 2015 on Hotels
A beautiful hide away spot. Great views and so peaceful for a working port ,pity the bar is only open during summer season but plenty of taxis around only a few mins wait.Good food served in the pubs and great music on in most of them .The beds are very comfortable and good size , the breakfast was good standard home from home.
4 out of 5
by Michael from Suffolk

A good value holiday.

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
An enjoyable stay with Andy and Jean at Bunbeg. Lovely surroundings. Good food and nice large rooms. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
by Seema M from Loughborough

Beautiful spot for a lovely stay

Posted Aug 14, 2015 on Hotels
The harbour location is absolutely beautiful. I chose this hotel initially in order to get the early ferry to Tory Island, but in the event it was not going on the day I wanted because of the tides, so I caught it from Magheroarty. (The ferry company will give a lift to any Bunbeg passengers who need or want transport to Magheroarty). In the end I was happy with the shorter crossing because it was a bit rough! Wifi was fine, strong and reliable, so any problem previously reported must have been fixed. The hotel layout is complex and there are lots of stairs (45 from the harbour to my room!) but this is because of the nature of the site and the age of the building. There were plenty of hand rails on the stairs but some flights were steep with narrow treads, so it is as well to take it fairly slowly and carefully. The younger members of the family help with the luggage so that is not an issue. The family who own and run the hotel are delightful. The food in the Bistro is excellent too. I thoroughly recommend the hotel as an experience not to be missed if you are visiting the area. Everything that mattered was perfect.