Featured Image

Reviews of Bunratty Castle Hotel, BW Signature Collection

4 out of 5

Overall score and ratings

4.2

Very Good

Rating 5 - Excellent. 463 out of 994 reviews
5 - Excellent 47%
Rating 4 - Good. 327 out of 994 reviews
4 - Good 33%
Rating 3 - Okay. 132 out of 994 reviews
3 - Okay 13%
Rating 2 - Poor. 52 out of 994 reviews
2 - Poor 5%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 20 out of 994 reviews
1 - Terrible 2%

4.3/5

Cleanliness

4.2/5

Staff & service

4.4/5

Amenities

4.1/5

Property conditions & facilities

1/5 Terrible

Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Christina Hayes - Front Office Manager on Jul 20, 2021
Thank you so much for the high score Joyce :)

1/5 Terrible

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Disliked: Staff & service
Fire spoiled our plans
We are just back from a staycation around Ireland, we first spent 3 days in Co. Mayo, on Wednesday 23rd June we left Mayo and had booked to stay overnight in the Bunratty Castle Hotel, really to break the journey as we were travelling down to Killarney. We arrived at the Hotel at 2.30pm parked our car outside and just checked at reception that it was ok to leave our car there. The Reception staff seemed very friendly and helpful. We went for a walk around Bunratty Castle and Folk Park while we waited for our room to be ready. when we left the folk park to return to the hotel we noticed the fire, apparently there had been a fire at the back of the Kitchen area. There were a few fire engines there putting out the fire and there was a lot of smoke, the fire men got the fire under control very quickly. While this was going on a member of staff from the hotel came out to the cordoned off area and spoke to a number of the hotel guests, she suggested we have a drink or walk around Bunratty while they waited to get confirmation from the Fire Men etc regarding whether the hotel would reopen or not. She said she would return to the cordoned off area to keep us updated. About 2 hours later I noticed that some cars seemed to be moving around inside the cordoned off area, there must have been another entrance opened. I walked inside the cordoned area and discovered that there were some s
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Having stayed many times in the hotel, it was lovely to see that the last year hasn't affected the quality of service the hotel provides. The food is as delicious as ever and the staff are still the friendliest. Big shout out to David and Joey who helped make my mum's birthday weekend even more special.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Christina Hayes - Front Office Manager on Jul 20, 2021
thank you so much for the high score :)

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from Christina Hayes - Front Office Manager on Jul 20, 2021
Thank you so much for the high score Joan :)

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
A little piece of heaven
Amazing place, fantastic staff. Beautiful stay really beautiful. Food was delicious and literally 10 out of 10 for overall experience
Stayed 2 nights in May 2021

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2021
Response from Customer Service Team on Mar 15, 2021
Hi David, Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your response. Kind regards, Reservations

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2020

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice stay in odd times
Very quiet just due to covid restrictions. Staff all very friendly as before.
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2020
Response from Customer Service Team on Dec 9, 2020
Hi Michael, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your nice comments! Kind Regards, Elizabeth.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Wonderful
Very clean hotel and the staff are brilliant. The beds are extremely comfortable and the food in the bar is very tasty and good value.
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2020
Response from Customer Service Team on Dec 9, 2020
Hi Marisa, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your nice comments! Kind Regards, Elizabeth.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
A warm welcome!
What makes this hotel stand out is the staff. They are so friendly. The rooms are large and comfortable. Bunratty Castle nearby is a must visit! The hotel lobby is beautifully decorated at Christmas time. I thoroughly recommend this hotel!
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2020
Response from Customer Service Team on Dec 9, 2020
Hi Marisa, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your nice comments! Kind Regards, Elizabeth.

4/5 Good

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
short stay
Staff were friendly food was good room was an upgrade would stay again
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2020
Response from Customer Service Team on Dec 9, 2020
Hi Gerard, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your nice comments! Kind Regards, Elizabeth.

4/5 Good

Traveled with group
Not a 4*
Stayed here recently for 2 nights. The room was spacious with a comfortable bed. Decor a bit bland. There were two armchairs in the room which were stained.The lobby is a nice place to sit and have a drink. Had dinner one evening in the restaurant which was fine but nothing special. Breakfast was ok. No toast?? The food is cooked to order so is a bit slow coming. The pot of tea was cold by the time the food arrived. The staff are very polite and the hotel is Covid19 compliant. Would I stay here again? Perhaps not.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2020

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Oct 2020

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The food was amazing, both breakfast and dinner, with generous portions. Great location. Everything was clean and in good working order, bed was huge. Decent channels on tv (they had Sony movies). Hallways were exremely warm as all radiators were on which was uncomfortable but understandable. The lady checking us in was going at a rate of 90 which really flustered me. It was unneccessary to ho so fast as there was only one other person checking in and another staff member was dealing with it. We felt she was answering our questions before I finished asking them so we weren't getting the answers we were looking for. Even when picking breakfast and dinner time, she rattled the times off so fast we didn't catch the times. She was still very polite and even called down to leisure centre for us to get a timeslot but just a bit abrupt and rushed. The other staff member was much more relaxed with the other guest. Other than that everything was perfect.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great stay
Food was excellent and the spa was just what the doctor ordered
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2020

2/5 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2020

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Sep 2020

4/5 Good

Liked: Staff & service
Honeymoon
We booked the presidential suite for our honeymoon. While it was big & clean it lacked the extras that would make it a suite. Lack of cups was a bugbear. The staff were accomodating & polite, pool was nice, breakfast was lovely. Slightly disappointed couldn't get breakfast tray delivered to room as a morning treat. Would recommend again but I think a deluxe room would be same as suite
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2020

4/5 Good

Stayed 1 night in Sep 2020

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Super comfortable Bed!!
Great large bedroom with super comfortable bed just across the road of the castle. The covid measures were very good in this hotel. Even with temperature checks. Super welcoming & friendly staff! Quick service! Food could have been of higher standards. Great flexibility of getting a last minute walk-in massage. Very much appreciated this stay. Great location as stop over during a road trip combined with a visit to the Bunratty castle. Hope to stay here again soon!
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2020

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Corona visit
The service was excellent but travelling during corona virus makes it difficult. The staff coped really well with social distancing rules and we’re very pleasant.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2020

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Recommended
Very pleasant stay and would definitely recommend. The food was fantastic. The hotel seems to be very covid compliant and i couldn't fault any of the measures taken.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2020

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great stay
Staff excellent, very careful and attentive
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2020

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2020

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great time in a nice area
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2020

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Disliked: Staff & service
I felt that all rooms were booked out so then they couldn’t cope with that amount in the restaurant On booking in we were told the restaurant was full so they rang adjoining restaurants all full.We then asked about the pool also booked out.Then were told breakfast allocated time was either 0830 or 1200. Even though you had to be out your room by 1130.We then asked about a drink and were told we could sit in the lobby if you can find a chair and someone would serve us.No staff members wore masks or face shields
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Anne
Loved every minute. Hotel was very comfortable and clean . Lovely staff, very helpful
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2020

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Dissapointing
No cleaning service. Pool not fully open despite them clarifying it would be prior to trip. Broken equipment in room advised to staff and not addressed. I did not travel to a supposed 4 star hotel to have no beds made or opportunity to have a bin emptied for 4 days. Not 4 star standard in a dated hotel.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2020
Response from Customer Service on Aug 3, 2020
Good Afternoon, I am disappointed and saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at The Bunratty Castle Hotel. At present The Bunratty Castle Hotel follows the national standards for operating safely as outlined in accordance with the Irish Hotel Federation. To limit personal contact, Our housekeeping staff will only enter the room if requested. This is outlined in the hotel welcome letter. Our swimming pool is fully functional with the exception of the jacuzzi & steam room. The safety and satisfaction of our staff is paramount which is why we have specific measures in place to reduce the spread of COVID-19. Kind Regards, The Customer Service Team

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Very relaxing
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Fabulous hotel
Wonderful stay in hotel felt very safe with all the measures put in place, staff excellent from reception to bar to waiting staff - fab hotel highly recommend
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2020

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Very close to bunratty
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2020

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2020

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
This hotel was absolutely perfect! The staff was so nice and even let us check in early since we had just made it there from the US. Will absolutely recommend and stay again if we make it back to Ireland!
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with group
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
The hotel called 1 hour before checking to say they were cancelling the reservation
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020
Response from Management Team at The Bunratty Castle Hotel on Mar 16, 2020
Shame on you! I am extremely disappointed to see that you have rated the hotel 2 out of ten considering the circumstances of this fluid, unprecedented situation that is COVID-19 pandemic. The decision to close the doors of The Bunratty Castle Hotel came as the severity of COVID-19 increased with a rapid spread across the nation of Ireland. Our very limited team made every effort to contact all guests to inform them of the hotels closure. Our guests well-being is at the utmost importance here at The Bunratty Castle Hotel, So perhaps you should reserve slandering a business who put their guests health before financial gain. Sincerely, The Bunratty Castle Hotel

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
This property is perfectly located in Bunratty, only a two to five minute walk from everything. The staff is welcoming and accommodating. Being just there they are even taking extra precautions to use antibacterial products to wipe down knobs and other items people touch every few hours. The carpet seems new and the furniture is in good condition. The spa was a real treat, pool is large enough for laps with hot tub, steam room, and sauna. The workout room has a little more than the essentials which is nice. The bar is great. They will cook to order eggs for you in the morning as part of our complementary breakfast. Would only stay there if going to Bunratty.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Beautiful scenery Lovely pubs/ pub grub ———————————
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2020

4/5 Good

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Wonderful location. Clean hotel. Staff went above and beyond to fix an issue when the bathtub water would not turn on. We were promptly moved to another room. Breakfast was great with a large selection.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Very comfortable stay
Very comfortable bedrooms, excellent breakfast and gerat facilities both in the hotel and nearby.
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2020

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Lovely Hotel
Lovely hotel in peaceful location close to the iconic Bunratty Castle. Reception area is beautifully furnished and ideal for some reading and watching the comings and goings. Bar is small but adequate and bar food is of good standard and reasonably priced. Staff are really good - professional, warm and efficient in all areas of the hotel. Spa is to a very high standard with well equipped gym if that's to your liking. I found my room to be very clean and spacious and bed really comfortable. No hesitation in recommending this hotel - could not fault anything
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2020

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness
Nothing is unique about the bunratty. It is definitely not a castle, more like a Howard Johnson's from the 1970s, clean, efficient, and uninspiring. The buffet breakfast was awful. The worst we ate in Ireland.
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Good stay in Bunratty
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2020

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Pre Christmas holiday stay.
I decided to surprise my family with overnight stay & banquet treat before our Christmas holidays. Was perfect from arrival to check out.
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2019