Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, USA

Very nice hotel and the very good food

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: I like the hotel very much! Excellent location with nice English countryside sightseeing.
Cons: I think the hotel already improved with new furniture and so far everything is prefect.
Location: Good location to the town center and short distance to shopping.
We had one day stay at the hotel, excellent service and the Chinese food is very good. I will recommend
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: the big room
Cons: where do I start....
Location: the small town nearby and the lovely Cotwwold Hotel up the road has fantastic food
There was only 1 member of staff which was the same man on reception, bar, breakfast waiter. We were given a dinner menu of chinese food on arrival which had around 8 items on, so we declined dinner. The room was big and looked clean but smelt musky and condensation on the windows, I thought the bed covers felt slightly damp suppose expected after the member of staff pointed out the building is over 200 yrs old. Breakfast was appaling, we ordered a full english that came on a plate slightly bigger than a side plate so not much on it, the sausage was very cheap as hardly any pork taste but the most upsetting part was the fried egg smelt horrendous, of amonia it was that off!! I moved it off my plate as I couldnt stand the smell. I could still smell it in the restaurant after we went back to our room, packed and went back downstairs. It was awful. My partner left his egg also. TBH i feel like if this was a chain hotel I would ask for my money back, but not sure I can, but would like to look into it. Never again
4 out of 5
by peter from Royston

Nearly a top hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel just missed the Mark to be rated highly. Great location, good parking, lovely breakfast, good wifi. Against that the room had no full length mirror, the curtain wouldn't pull far enough to shut out the light, a few repairs were poorly done. Nothing to spoil our trip but expensive at £120 a night.
3 out of 5
by Susan

Weekend away

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
A weekend catching up with friends. The hotel was clean and staff friendly. However there was no mention that they only served a limited menu of Chinese food. At breakfast they seemed a little too eager to move you on and the coffee had not seen a coffee bean. The hotel room was well presented and clean. The hotel was ideal for the location I needed as it was a short and pleasant walk into Burford.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
Helping at Cornbury Park Country Fair so good location. Room on road side of building so rather noisy. Unable to open the window because of traffic noise so room temperature uncomfortable and was unable to get a good nights sleep. If staying ask for room away from traffic side of building.
5 out of 5
by Leonie from London

Excellent service and rooms

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent stay all round! My friend and I had a twin room. Friendly staff, great cooked breakfast, bar & restaurant onsite, very clean & comfy beds, short walk into Burford (15 mins), parking onsite. Thank you we had a great stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Good Location

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: Great Location. Plenty of on site parking.
Location: Great base to tour around the Cotswolds.
A little disappointed with the bar, little choice. Wasn't made aware that the only evening meal in the restaurant was Chinese.
3 out of 5
by Brian from London

Short business trip

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
Breakfast not until 8.00am and limited options compared to other local hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but on a busy main road

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Would suggest that they start breakfast a little earlier 7-10am
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Picturesque hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2016
I really enjoyed my stay at Burford Lodge. The room was clean and comfortable and the hotel manager was friendly. I loved the Chinese food they make and would definitely visit again.