Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Very disappointed. Upon check in, the front desk personnel assured us that breakfast was included in the main dining room. After breakfast the next morning, we were presented a $50 breakfast check for two people at the Buffett. The server then informed us that breakfast was only included for room service. When I addressed this with the front desk, they replied "there is no room service." After I told the front desk I was unhappy with my stay given the surprise $50 breakfast bill (and the fact that a fire alarm went off at 2 AM the previous evening) the staff made no effort to appease my experience. They simply said, "we're sorry." Not good customer service. This hotel is great for families but is grossly overpriced and laden with rude staff members.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from upstate NY

Wonderful ambiance

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Loved the setting. The bed in our room was a little past its prime. Food in the main dining room was excellent. Staff could have been a littke more attentive, but nothing concrete to complain about. I would love to come for a longer stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Marvelous resort!

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: The view, the activities, the food, everything!
Cons: There we spider webs in our room and it was a little dusty, but otherwise it was gorgeous.
Location: Tennis, water sports, bout tours, golf, hiking, walking, lots of workshops (extra fee,) spa services, lawn games, scavenger hunt. Childcare available.
Endless things to do at this resort. We only had 2 nights, but I would love to go back and have a full week there to do everything. There is something for everyone, no matter what age. Very upscale. Lots of families on holiday, everyone from the staff to the children staying there with parents was pleasant and well behaved…no kids or adults misbehaving or using bad language that we could see. Children of different families all playing well together, very family oriented. I would love to come here with other family members or friends.
5 out of 5
by Jeffrey from New York City

Can't wait to come back!

Posted Jun 4, 2016 on Hotels
This resort is nothing short of phenomenal! We've written as many good reviews as possible. Five generations of inn keepers have mastered the elegant but layed back lake resort. The staff go above and beyond every step of the way. We had a flat tire... They took care of the arrangements, printed out the directions brought them to our room and checked in on us later...Seriously who does that anymore?! If you re trying to decide where to go...This is it. Just one visit and we're fans! We can't wait to return
5 out of 5
by Aaron from Derry, NH

Relaxation & Fun at Lakeside Resort

Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
This is a great resort to stay at when exploring Vermont. It is fairly close enough to a wonderful bike trail, some hiking trails and wineries. It sits right on Lake Champlain and they offer plenty of activities right there at the resort. You can rent kayaks and canoes or take a boating excursion. You can rent bikes. You can also use paddle boats, paddle boards and they have a swimming area and large trampoline rafts for some added water fun. They have a wonderful golf course and you can play multiple lawn games or tennis. You should never be bored here.
4 out of 5
by Barbara from Cambridge, ON Canada

Old world charm, a Champlain treasure.

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
This is obviously a classic vacation destination, and we stayed in an 18th century "Homestead" building. There was no television in our room - not a problem as we had WIFI and our laptop. The stairway up to our room would be treacherous for a senior or anyone with knee troubles. The building is so old that the floor in our room was sloped with about a 4 inch drop from one corner to the next, like walking drunk but we were sober!! Staff are very friendly and highly professional. The restaurant was 5star and the morning buffet excellent. Well worth the price.
2 out of 5
by Jessica from Boston

Positives Don't Outweigh the Negatives :(

Posted Aug 31, 2015 on Hotels
Spent 2 nights at the end of a family trip. Was pleasantly surprised by the spacious cottage though dismayed that the rear cottage door was unlocked/broken upon arrival to the poorly lit cabin. BHC is rustic and historic and I like that (hence the 4 stars on neighborhood). HOWEVER, given the cost and location (Vermont), I expected the food and service to be EXCELLENT. It was not. Breakfast in The Main Dining Room was over $100 for 2 adults, 1 teen, 1 preschooler compared to dinner at The Red Mill for same # people at under $100. The breakfast buffet was mediocre with frozen potatoes, runny eggs while the other offerings weren't memorable. The Red Mill meals were all drenched in creamy sauce. The staff were generally friendly and interesting, good at small talk with seemingly appropriate boundaries. At least that's what I thought...until I received a random Facebook friend request from an employee of BHC after we checked out. I REALLY wanted to like BHC as it was recommended by my parents who honeymooned there. The golf lesson/pro were great, the location/surroundings are gorgeous and the housekeeping staff mailed us a forgotten item. Unfortunately, these positives don't outweigh the negatives of this particular trip and accordingly BHC won't make our list of must-return destinations. :(
4 out of 5
by Carole from Groton

An old-fashioned family vacation

Posted Aug 15, 2015 on Hotels
It was like walking onto the set of "Dirty Dancing" - a step back in time where families vacation together and ride bikes from the beach to the dining area. We loved it and will definitely be back. My only negative would be that they need to upgrade the teen center - that was disappointing.
2 out of 5
by michael from Vancouver

This.is a Boating, golfing club.

Posted May 14, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is really a boating and golfing resort. The season had not yet started..... Rooms are sruced up older cabins, no TV. teething trouble re. let cold water run off, before showering. Area is pleasant.... little boating harbour. Breakfast not included and expensive (club) Nearby restaurant 'The Red Mill', also staff in training. Both long drive out of town of Vergennes.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great choice

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels
We gad a wonderful and comfortable stay.