Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Joliet, IL

Had a alright time...

Posted Aug 29, 2016
It's a ok place IF you don't have kids the pool isn't kid friendly. My 3 kids had a hard time swimming. It starts at 4ft til 8ft no stairs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

older

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Had hot water problems. Older has been repainted at some point, but pretty sloppy. Had a faint smell, like a house that had been closed up for long time. Staff very good, inside just looks old and poorly remodeled at some point.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saint Paul Minnesota

Old Fashion Horror Film

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: The Hotel staff was amazing, and kind.
Cons: The entire hotel needs to be updated, remodeled, and deep cleaned.
Location: -
We only were in town for a one night stay and looked through photos of this place, and it seemed to be pretty decent for a quick one night stay for a bedroom with two queen beds. It was not. It was run down, out dated, and dirty. Our sheets weren't clean, the bathroom was covered in hair and dirt, our door was wide open when we approached the door, and the mattresses were not ideal. The staff however was lovely to work with very kind, and attentive. The hotel itself was a let down and I will never stay in a Baymont Inn again. I will stick with what I know from now on. I just wish the would tear the thing down or remodel the whole place to have a better environment for not only the guests but the work staff. Wasn't the best experience I've had to say the least.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016
The fifth floor smelled like old cigarette smoke and pool chlorine. Bathroom shower had mildew in the grout lines. We were awoken around 2am due to small arms fire nearby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Convenient Location

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Grandkids liked the pool and exercise room. The breakfast area was large and well stocked. Rooms were more than expected.
Cons: The hard boiled eggs in the breakfast bar were rubbery, and the elevator was slow to respond.
Location: Convient to Nauvoo and Carthage
We enjoyed this hotel. Unexpectedly found several friends staying there also.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tennessee

Needed many improvements

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: Staff was friendly and courteous, and somewhat frustrated when they could not help us.
Cons: Sanitation and prep for customers..... Keys, food for breakfast, etc.
Location: Nauvoo, Carthage IL and Morman trail info very interesting and rewarding. Very close to IL AND MO borders.
Some difficulty at checkin as we were unable to get two keys and I needed to go grocery shopping. Parking lot prepping for paving and people parked helter skelter. Historic hotel converted to Wyndham property but pool, exercise room, halls, elevator not maintained well..... Trash everywhere and poor sanitation. Workers smoking outside talking loudly to wee hours while on smoke break.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

outside looks poor... Pool dirty

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Had to switch rooms 3 time due to mechanical isues... The final room we was in the toilet screamed every time we flushed it
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

fun stop on our way

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: Pool and friendliness of the staff
Cons: updating the carpet might help
Location: We were on our way to Nauvoo and it was close. The river walk was amazing my teenagers thought it was wonderful.
The staff couldn't have been any more helpful, the pool was a welcomed refreshing, the room was comfortable, and the breakfast was tops. the community is small but pleaseant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Filthy!

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Pros: The lobby was OK.
Cons: Almost everything could be improved.
Location: The location was fine.
The room was drab at best, but mostly creepy and scary. The carpet was sticky, there was filth of many kinds on the walls and ceiling, and probably everywhere else. I tried not to look too close. The shower handle came off in my hand so it took a little work to make the shower run properly. Overall, just awful. I barely slept.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not horrible, but definitely not great...

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was OK. The room was clean enough, but not spotless by any means. My son crawled all over the floor and his knees and feet were filthy after. Really kind of disgusting. Free breakfast, but nothing but carbs - waffles, cereal, toast, bagels, biscuits and gravy, oatmeal... the bananas were almost going bad. Overall the whole experience was just OK. Not bad, but not great. The worst part was when my husband overheard one of the front desk workers on a personal phone call, and she got into a fight with whoever it was and started screaming at the top of her lungs. We're talking vein-popping screaming. He heard her all the way up the stairwell on the fourth floor. Completely unprofessional. He reported her the next day when we checked out. We'll find someplace else to stay next time we're in town.